We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
94
59
27
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
59
27
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful town boutique hotel couldn't do enough a great place to stay espresso machine bread croissants recommend this hotel cold cuts excellent hotel room was clean small city city centre business trip parking cheese hall
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Fantastic little hotel in the centre of town, 2 min walk to the square. Rooms well appointed, comfy beds and great staff. An italian chap booked us in ( I can't remember his name ) but he was fantastic- couldn't do enough to help us and make us welcome.
Definitely a great place to stay.
Only glitch ( and a tip for other travellers). Breakfast was great, but no decent coffee or hot food. We arrived in the breakfast room and there were no staff at all. We even went looking for some. We helped ourselves to what was there and my wife remembered there was a menu in our room. I went and got it, and there was a selection of hot food but no way of ordering it, nor coffee. So we made do. The people on the next table went and queued up at the front desk with the guests booking out, to ask about hot food. This prompted a girl to appear and ask if we wanted hot food or coffee. It was too late for us as we had nearly finished.
If you're staying here, take your emu down with you and get coffee and hot food from the front desk when you arrive then you won't go without, like we did.
Would have given 5 stars if there was breakfast staff to get coffee, juice and hot food. They just need to sort this and it will be a great find.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nachooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scholl1878, Owner at Hotel Scholl, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for your generous review. I am terribly sorry about your adventure with our breakfast. As you might imagine, your experience is far from how we intend for it to work. If we are lucky enough to have your repeat business I will personally make sure that nothing like this happens again. We would, indeed, like to earn an extra star. Christian Scholl, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

The only remark I have is that the breakfast, meaning the taste of the cold cut and bread wasn't as I expected. Maybe in this region this is the way they do it. The orange juice was fresh pressed and very good, You shouldn't be in hurry to enjoy this juice, because production takes some time.
All the rest was very good.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stephen_sheehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scholl1878, Owner at Hotel Scholl, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review. We’d be disappointed if the tastes of our charcuterie and bread are anything like what one experiences in hotel buffets. All of our meats are directly imported from Italy, where we have sought out the very best makers. We buy Porchetta from Treviso. This delicacy is cured with Juniper berries and minimal use of conservatives. Our cooked ham comes from the area around Parma and Piacenza. We serve only the “heart” of the ham, which is considered to be the tastiest and most delicate part. Our sopressa comes from Lovison in Spilimbergo Friuli; a family concern that has been making some of the best salami in northern Italy for 104 years. As far as bread is concerned, ours is traditionally made by an old-fashioned baker who uses a wood-fired oven. Our farmers breads, rolls, laugen (pretzels and pretzel rolls), and other specialties are delivered fresh at around 7am every morning. Our patisserie breads are prepared in house and are as fresh and flaky as can be. Likewise, we squeeze every single glass of juice to order (orange, apple, grapefruit, carrot, and others depending upon the season). It would be easier to squeeze juices a liter at a time. The compromise for instant service is lower quality. Our choice is to serve food that we would want to eat and drink ourselves. We realize that this takes a bit longer. Hotels don’t serve the kind of breakfast that we do because the raw materials are extremely expensive. Fresh and organic foods taste differently, and that may seem out of place if one gets used to what is generically served. I would bet the hotel on the quality of the food that we serve our guests every morning. Once again, thank you for the positive review. I hope you will find the chance to visit us again sometime soon. We would be happy to welcome you. Christian Scholl, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel. When we arrived at the hotel, there was a mix up with our booking, without asking we were upgraded to the loft rooms, which was much appreciated. The rooms were decorated to a very high standard, it was obvious a lot of thought had gone into the interior design through the hotel. The rooms were a nice size and the bathroom was well appointed, with an excellent shower. For breakfast, we could choose from anything on the menu, an excellent idea, the food was fresh and tasty. The bircher muesli was outstanding, 10/10. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. The location is excellent in a beautiful town. We would return without hesitation.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scholl1878, Owner at Hotel Scholl, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

With apologies for the mixup with your booking, We are all very happy that you had a good time. These houses have been in my family for nearly 140 years, and we are proud our endless battle to keep them up to date :-). Of course, there is always more to do and we hope you have an even better stay should we earn your return visit. Our breakfast is a passion project. I am glad you like the Bircher Muesli. We make ours with steel cut oats, dried apricots and cranberries, chopped pecans, shredded pears, and shredded apples. We serve it drizzled with local honey and garnished with pecans and fresh figs. Once again, thank you, and I hope you will return again soon. Christian Scholl, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Beautiful hotel! I was really enthusiastic with this hotel. It's staying in the center of city, up the castle. Rooms are modern, clean, breakfasts perfect! We stayed here for two weeks for business trip, and if I could, I'd go back immediately.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Kateřina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scholl1878, Owner at Hotel Scholl, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Thank you for the great review. It is our good luck that my great grandfather chose the location more than 139 years ago. The only way to keep up with beautiful old buildings is to invest time, passion, and money. We know that there are options with less character around, and maybe it is even convenient to stay in a box? Therefore, it is even more of a pleasure to host guests who want to experience our charming home town the same way that we live here. Thank you as well for the beautiful comments about our breakfast. We are all passionate about serving the best possible products we can find. We have just introduced new à-minute menu options that will make breakfast here even better. We, also, just added two new Heimbs premium coffees to the wonderful Kaffee Hagen that we’ve been serving for 60 years. I’ve been wanting a La Marzocco coffee machine for years, and it’s now just about ready. All this to say, the next time we are honored by your visit we hope that everything will be better than ever. Christian Scholl, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

When any of our employee have to travel to Germany, this it THE PLACE that they want to be at. They love the location, the History, and the Charm. The price is pretty great for our travel budget as well. Christian is a pleasure to work with. I highly recommend them.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Guy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scholl1878, Owner at Hotel Scholl, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Quite obviously, I don’t have to tell you how good it feels to read such a kind review. We are very grateful for our wonderful guests and the opportunity to put our best foot forward. I know we don’t always get it 100% right, but we all believe there is a reason they call it the hospitality business. We are all glad that you enjoy being here and hope that you will visit again soon. Christian Scholl, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews