We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
17
11
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
11
6
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We loved this hotel. We chose a large room with a large balcony facing the lake. The hotel is located a short walk from the busy center of Meersburg, making it very quiet and peaceful. Though the room itself was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom was tiny...kind of like that on a cruise ship. The chef prepared an excellent fish dinner...perhaps the best meal of the entire trip, and the breakfast was bountiful. I heartily recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest balcony room available.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I booked the last room , and it honestly stated " facing the side with sone lake view" Even being a double room, it was very tiny, but had little table and tiny balcony. Our balcony was the firt row from a ground level, and there was a back door from their restaurant right below and another little guest house across from the room. I was afraid the night will be noisy, based on the location. However around 11 everything became quiet, no cars driving on promenade, no people talking. I knew that hotel has no a/c, so we were prepared emotionally, it was hot we kept balcony open, so called double bed 2 beds next to each other and it more narrow than our standard twin, bathroom neat and clean also tiny. The best perts are location, right across from the lakeside. Location, you have a nice 10-20 minutes walk to Meersburg center.Town is beautiful but lots of tourists bars, etc. So I think it's good when hotel is a bit off tge beaten touristy pass. The biggest gem was a restaurant we had dinner at the hotel restaurant, all staff and especially the owner, were very friendly and helpful restaurant's food tge highest standard The lady owner speaks perfect English and went over the menu recommended local wine, we enjoyed everything. We found pricing for the room and dinner reasonable. If we will ever go back, I will try to book a bigger fancier room and visit at the cooler season

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor bigger room
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busyok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Unfortunately our stay at this hotel fell far short of our expectations in terms of value for money. At the price we paid (150 Euros per night) we expected more. Our room was small and out-dated; carpeted desk leg, lime green paint on wood-work, carpeted balcony, old furniture. Basic amenities were missing from the room including ironing facilities, tea-making facilities and safe. The walls were so thin that we could hear everything discussed in the corridor and adjacent room. We were woken at 8am by hotel staff hoovering. The breakfast was poor and not replenished regularly enough. On a positive note the staff were friendly, the location was great, parking available, nice views and the hotel was clean. Sadly this did not make up for the quality which certainly do not justify a four star rating in my opinion. Very disappointing. I would not recommend this hotel; certainly not younger couples or families.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcole197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This charming hotel is definitely not 'Off" in the English sense of the word! It is nicely located away from the tourist throng in Meersburg and close to a handy little harbour for people who come by boat from Switzerland across the Lake of Constance (Bodensee). It has everything you want from a Hotel except one - a room available for when we want to come back next July! Breakfast on the balcony watching the boats go by is total relaxation. Escape the stress of modern life here. The food is good, the rooms are good, the location is good, the staff are good, so Hotel Off, how about building an extension?

Room Tip: A room on the front is worth a bit exta
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1000000Rosscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Stayed here only one night with the wife, kids, and Grandma (in a separate room). GPS got us right to the door, but you have to be lucky to find parking. Dragging the bags to our room was going to be a chore, until the staff showed me the elevator and how to go through their garage to the street (didn’t offer to help with the bags though…). Our room was small, but nice. Bathrooms are tiny, but large enough to get the job done. Only a little TV in each room, but that’s ok, we didn’t come to watch TV. Beds were one of the most comfortable on our trip, but the wife hated the feather pillows. We only had a view of the vineyards out the back window though. Grandma’s room on the other hand, while being even smaller had a little balcony and a wonderful view of Bodensee. I had an inkling that the restaurant was good, judging by the number of locals that dined there (which explained the parking difficulties). The dining area is nice and very open, with half of it al fresco overlooking the lake. The food was excellent; though late in the season their spargle (Germany’s famous white asparagus) was delicious, and you couldn’t ask for fresher or tastier fish. Grandma sampled some of the local wine and pronounced it more than adequate; I stuck with a local helles bier…mmm! Breakfast was the same German buffet style as all the others, but the brochen was still warm, and I had a chance to sample some local cheeses. Let’s face it, Bondensee is a tourist area, so there’s really no such thing as unspoiled charm out there (are you kidding me? A zeppelin flying by every day?). However, even with the crowds we thought Meersburg one of the high-points of our vacation. Sure, walking up the hill toward the schloss is a workout, but the view from up there was worth it. If we ever find ourselves going to Bodensee again, we’ll definitely use See Hotel Off again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Psycher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews