We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
18
15
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
15
6
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here one night as part of our self-guided tour through the Alps.
Bathroom a little small, room window takes in all the cigarette smoke and noise from the street below, and there were some noisy kids, but we slept fine after all our hiking.
Restaurant service was very good and we enjoyed the food here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckyturtleErie_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This lovely gasthaus is well situated in a tiny village deep in the Southern Bavarian Alps, next stop south is Austria. I stayed her regularly in the late 80's and early 90's.

The dining room is typical, breakfast is hearty but still continental--boiled eggs, assorted broetchen, jams, cold cuts, butter, mueseli, juice, strong coffee. Lunch and dinner are also tasty and exhibit the dishes of the region. Marning's Menu Master is a great help when one doesn't know much of local cuisine. The staff dress in dirndl and leiderhosen, especially in summer. Friday and Saturdays featured local musicians playing the folk tunes favored by the clientele. You've never really known Bavaria until you've appreciated singing along to a zither and other musical instruments. Guests chime in as they choose, it's all utterly enchanting. Most Germans speak a bit of many languages, so you will be able to communicate here just as at any European locale.

Some rooms have sinks and showers in the room, others need to access facilities in the hall. Do ask about which facilities you specifically need within your space. We found this to be of special value when compared to the neighboring Bad Toelz just to the north, because Toelz is a spa town with a larger tourist and customer base. Lenggries is a more provincial town with a sleepier yet charming vibe.

There's a lovely church opposite the main entrance; it has a charming graveyard, and the bells in the tower chime on the quarter hour, so be prepared to hear them throughout the day and night. I adore shopping at the shops just near that feature the typical Bavarian clothing. Sale racks are outside to entice you to their bargains. Visit a local metzgerei for picnic supplies and a backerei for those wonderful rolls. This town is on the Isar, so lots of charming spots are available for a rest and a snack al fresco.

Room Tip: A room not on the front might be more quiet due to the church bells chiming all night. The view won't be so desirable if you can't sleep! You may think the feather comforters are too heavy for summer sleep, just hang out one leg and you'll soon be snoozing comfortably in the cool of the night air. If you need a lift, enquire, they're not ubiquitous in gasthaus amenities.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Euro-lust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Quite a spacious room for the price
Clean
Friendly
In the very village centre

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apelsinnka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear guests, thank you very much for your commentary. We are glad of your positive words about your stay in our bavarian house and would like to welcome you again. Familiy Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed here in late December for 3 nights. We came from a B&B in Munich which was miles ahead of this so called 3 star hotel. The owner wasn't really bothered about customer service. Rooms were very plain. Breakfast was poor. There was meant to be spa therapist on site so we tried to book her through reception- owner said he would enquire but he never got back to us. restaurant food was nice but pricey. we did meet a friendly waiter there called Gunther who was the only gem in the whole place. Pity as we would love to recommend this place to fellow skiers.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buttonsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear guest, thank you very much for your commentary. We would like to apologize for your stay you could not enjoy. We are very sorry that the lady from the spa didn't have time for you, but she works on her own and we have no influence on her terms. We are very engaged in satisfying our guests and like to tell Günther about his great service. Thank you for your stay. Family Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

We stayed in Altwirt for 1 week over New Year and had a wonderful time. The atmosphere is very family-like we felt right at home, children felt welcome. The rooms were cosy, perfectly heated, bathrooms spotless, all very comfortable. A nice welcome basket with fruit and home baked cookies was expecting us as we arrived. The restaurants serve delicious food, at reasonable prices (children menus around 5 euros). Ski slopes very close were easily attained with the "ski bus", and everyone very friendly with us. I'd recommend this hotel if you like a nice, authentic, friendly atmosphere and comfortable (non-pretentious) lodging.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ParisFTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews