We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveller rating
142
105
62
29
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
142
105
62
29
30
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 368 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2016

What a great place to spend some days in winter and relax in the wonderful spa! The room was impeccable, the breakfast buffet full of choices, and the spa just magnificent. Despite the fact that the hotel was fully booked, there was sufficient quietness around the pool (from which one has a wonderful view across the bay) and the saunas - which also have windows with a view on the Baltic Sea.
The staff was very friendly, be it at the breakfast, the bar, or in the adjacent beauty place where we enjoyed some great massages.

Room tip: rooms on either side have better views than those advertised as "frontal sea view".
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jos689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

All stateoftheart-needs of a ****star hotel, right ON the beach fullfilled: opening just in May 2014; attentive, friendly service; facing - the - sea - rooms: quiet, balcony, 280sq rooms, minibar, big safetybox, excellent bathroom, toiletteries, rainshower. The Best: the annexed indoor garage with automatic doors, daily, German newspapers.
If you want an unspoiled, genuine German tradition: there is so much to discover: good and very bad; excellent: Lübeck, the HANSE with its newly opened HANSE Museum (all in English / Russian), the rich merchant-maisons, gothic churches, Holsten-Tor ...

Room tip: Full sea-facing, northeast, 3rd. floor
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JoergSchm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAYSIDEScharbeutz130, Manager at Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Dear Jörg,
Thank you very much for you great feedback. We are more than glad to read that your stay at BAYSIDE Hotel was very nice. We agree that Lübeck itself is a great place that wants to be discovered.

We would be very happy to welcome you soon at BAYSIDE Hotel, here in Scharbeutz.

Warm regards

Your BAYSIDE Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at Bayside with 2 under 2's and it was an excellent experience. The location is amazing in the middle of the renovated promenade right on the beach. The views from our room were fantastic. The hotel and the staff are extremely child friendly and this is really noteworthy. Service and staff is friendly, reliable and enthusiastic. Breakfast is really good - high quality fresh ingredients. Roof restaurant was also very good and room service of a similarly high standard. There is a kids room which is well stocked with toys. If I could rate 4.5 stars I would. It is not 5 stars due to a number of really small points which add up. Firstly drilling without letting us know. We had a sick child who needed to sleep at midday in the room and everything she dropped off another hole would be drilled. No problem for a hotel to do repairs but please let people know. Secondly, the spa has a catalogue on the Internet which is out of date. We had planned a whole programme of treatments but we found that when we arrived many of them were no longer available or replaced with lesser treatments at higher prices. This is a pretty basic error as many guests visiting a spa want to know what is available before turning up. In the end we simply did not have much of a spa programme. Small points and we will certainly return.

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ZurichBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014

We stayed in June on a half board basis for a week and had a room with ocean view. Half board was pricy but worth it, the food was exceptionally delicious and high quality and standard.the hotel has a beach acces and a spa which offers beautiful sea view from saunas and the indoor pool area. The roof restaurant and bar was not part of the half board but great for after hours because the elevator led straight back to your room. Our room was clean, spacious and modern. We had a spacious and beautiful lanai with ocean view and wonderfully comfy recliners. The bathroom was small but had everything you needed. The service, however, leaves room for improvement. While he restaurant staff was friendly and always great, the rest of the hotel staff seemed not so great and not yet ready for their tasks. Our room was cleaned every day but after 4 days our sheets still weren't changed so we had to call and they said they would do it the following day. Only then the sheets were still the same and we had to call again and tell them to come back for an immediate change. Same thing with soaps and toiletries. We had to call almost every day to make sure we had just enough to last us until the next day. That, to me, is a no no for a 4 star hotel, especially with that kind of price list. The hotel is pretty expensive so they should make sure they get their staff up to speed and adjust the service to their prices. We walked to a super,armed for about 10 minutes and had everything we needed here, as the hotel does not have any shops inside. There's also a drug store in that complex. I recommend you go at a time of year where you know it's warm so you can enjoy the beach. If not, the spa offers plenty of comfort. Other than that there's not much to do in the area. You'd have to have a car so you can tour cities in the area like Lübeck. Would we come back, definitely!

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Hotel just opened April 2014. Team needs to play a bit better together. Service not at top yet, but will get better. Very friendly staff at the reception, willing to help out. The Roof bar is lovely and has stunning views over the Baltic Sea. Great for sun downers before heading out in town. My recommendation: Offer some nibbles (e.g. snacks, nuts) for the hungry crowd and I'm sure you will have some big fans. Surprised that they didn't have that. Also, please turn the music down at night, it's not a club and people want to have conversations whilst enjoying their drinks. We've also tested the spa which is nice. We've had the ca. 12-15 meter swimming pool all for ourselves and enjoyed the views (floor to ceiling windows). The sauna and outdoor sun bathing areas are amazing too. Breakfast is until 11.00am and I can recommend the omelette with proper German bread. Great choice of different foods. The hotel rooms are very spacious and the shower has some proper oomph, which is always nice. Try to take one of the rooms facing the street as you'll have some nice sun all afternoon/evening. Overall great value for money and I can recommend it. They get booked out quite quickly, especially during German bank holidays.

Room tip: Even though ocean view sounds tempting, try to get the rooms facing the street as the sun will be on this side all afternoon/evening.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CKPleiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews