We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Steigenberger Inselhotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Viva Sky(Konstanz)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,882)
Filter reviews
1,882 results
Traveller rating
989
658
172
41
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
989
658
172
41
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake viewlake constancesmall islanddominican monasteryinteresting historyold townprivate beachfive star hotelbreakfast staffswimming areahistorical hotelterrace restaurantexcellent staythe hotel staffevery eveningsuperb hotellakeside room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 1,882 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2017

No wish left; Everything was excellent as I wrote before. The location near the lake and the old city, the historical setting, the terrace, the meals, the room and above all the kindness of the hotel team. We hope to return next year on our trip to Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank T9172YTfranka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We have just returned from spending two weeks at this unique hotel. It is a beautiful building with an interesting history. Built as a monastery, it has also served as a cotton wool factory, a part of the university and finally a special hotel. The large peaceful cloisters are especially attractive.
The staff are extremely hard working and efficient and seem anxious for guests to enjoy their time at the hotel. The hotel manager takes time to meet all the guests and take them on a full tour of the hotel telling the story of the building but also allowing access to the kitchens.
The breakfast buffet is exceptionally good and dinner is always a beautifully presented four course meal with a choice of main course. We sometimes found the starters especially, to be a little over processed for our taste and we would have liked a few more simple vegetables.The staff were always happy to substitute a salad for the starter or ice cream for the dessert to fulfil the wishes of the guests. Wine was reasonably priced and coffee included on our half board package.
Dinner was served on the terrace when the weather allowed. This was a great treat and will remain a special memory of this holiday.
The hotel is perfectly positioned for access to the boats, important for any holiday here, the railway station and the old town.
We certainly hope to return one day. Konstanz is a perfect holiday resort and with this hotel it is a very desirable package.

Room Tip: Lake view is best but rather expensive.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HillwalkerN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Having 'done' most of the Italian Lakes - though I'm sure we'll go back again to that part of Europe - we decided to visit the Bodensee. We certainly weren't disappointed with our decision: particularly with the choice of hotel.
Very welcoming and universally helpful, the staff at the Inselhotel immediately gave a good 'feel' to the holiday from the very start
The room was a good size and with a large balcony with sun-loungers overlooking the well-tended gardens. The rooms overlooking the lake come at a fairly hefty premium and, as far as we could see, do not have large balconies. And anyway, though this is obviously a personal thing, We reckon you can always go out to see the lake without having to see it from your window! There was a side-view of the lake from the balcony. Some others in their reviews may feel the rooms' decorations are slightly old-fashioned, but we felt the decor was perfectly in keeping with the hotel's age and history and would not have benefited particularly from boutiqueifying(!).
That the ground floor were the old cloisters (now thankfully glassed-in against the weather) was quite eye-opening, and a guided tour of the historical bits by the manager one evening was completely fascinating.
The breakfasts were monumental - still trying to lose some of those surplus pounds - and can be taken on the terrace overlooking the lake (but only after 9.00 a.m. which was a little unfortunate as we tended to get up quite early).
The dinners (we went half-board) were of a very high standard, but, and this may only be an issue for Inghams' customers, occasionally turned out a little unbalanced(?) as it is only the main course for which there is a choice with set starter/soup/dessert. It may also be an 'English thing', but on a couple of evenings the desserts were felt to be rather too, shall we say, 'experimental' by several guests. But, to balance that comment, it must be said that on the majority of evenings they were excellent.
There was an extensive wine-list, but personally, and generally from looking around the tables, carafes of the more local wines were very good value. Also, and in our maybe limited hotel experiences somewhat unusual, bottled water was a very expensive alternative to the (free) carafe of local tap-water. An option shared, it would seem, by most of the diners.
Konstanz is a fascinating city, with only a few tourists (English anyway) and consequently (and thankfully) very few shops aimed at tourists. Lots of interesting old buildings in the old-town and newer and larger shops over the bridge in the new-town. Also some good walks (and cycle rides) along the banks of the lake.
There are plenty of other lakeside towns to visit on the lake using the efficient ships that ply their trade from the harbour - get a Seebaren pass when you're there...it'll save pounds - and if you get stuck, most of the towns have a railway service. DB services generally cheaper than the Swiss rail system: Both meet up in Konstanz station (about 200m over the border in Germany). The boats (some anyway) go up the Rhine as far as Schaffhausen where the Rhine Falls can be visited: really quite impressive. Or stop on the way at Stein am Rhein, a beautiful old (Swiss) town.
We spent ten days there, and there are still plenty of things we didn't get round to doing...and the Inselhotel was a terrific base for an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retired7206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Would thoroughly recommend a stay in this gorgeous spot. Travel up a funicular to find yourself miles away from it all in the clean fresh mountain air. Great food and service too - the risotto and roasted shrimp dish was excellent

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PipH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We had a wonderful stay at the Steigenberger. The grounds are lovely. There is a wonderful beach area where you can relax and take a swim in the lake. The hotel itself is beautiful, has lots of amenities, and has an ideal location in Konstanz. The food (and especially the breakfast) was excellent. Everyone on staff was lovely, and the concierge was especially helpful with ideas and information about things to do. We rented bikes at the hotel and took some great rides. Can't say enough about this hotel and how wonderful it was.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews