We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Doormouse Cottage is a hidden gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dormouse Cottage

Dormouse Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dormouse Cottage
al fresco on the sun filled  patio cosy lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Dormouse Cottage
al fresco on the sun filled  patio
cosy lounge
velvet sofas
huge inglenook and woodburner
kitchen/diner
cooks kitchen
working Cornish Range
Jackdaw bedroom (king) - with four poster
ensuite to Jackdaw
Wrens bedroom (twin)
cabin beds in Wrens
family bathroom
family bathroom
Owls bedroom (King) - with brass bed
Slipper bath ensuite to Owls
upstairs hallway
upstairs hallway
detail - lounge
beaches nearby
Padstow harbour
kitchen/dinning room
on the patio
looking through the front gate
view from the village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St Merryn, Padstow, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gillies70
Stroud, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Doormouse Cottage is a hidden gem”
Reviewed 4 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A hidden gem. The weather was atrocious so it was particularly nice to come back to such a warm and welcoming environment. The recent refurbishment is stunning – so many lovely features. Well equipped with lots of lovely extra touches. In spite of the weather we visited Padstow, Watergate Bay and Constantine Bay and had some amazing windswept walks with the dog. So many restaurants to visit. Great to have a list of restaurants that allowed dogs for example the Cornish Inn in St Merryn. Our teenage daughters liked having excellent WiFi, speakers they could link to Spotify and Sky TV etc. Can't recommend the cottage highly enough. The 3rd bedroom is very small so consider who will be sleeping there.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie7050
Sunshine Coast, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning accomodation in a lovely country setting, 10 minutes from Padstowe”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My sister, brother-in-law and myself stayed at Doormouse Cottage for an unforgettable week, in extreme comfort with a beautifully equiped cottage down to every last detail, situated in a tiny village surrounded by farmland. Everyhere is an easy drive to all of the wonderful beaches and many a charming village to be found.

We will certainly return as soon as we can for another perfect week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet with cosy/luxurious bedding & towels, comfy sofas every need covered
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavPam201...
Phillip Island, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You are going to LOVE this gorgeous cottage.”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Get ready for a wonderful time while staying at Dormouse Cottage, this historical stone cottage is located in picture book Penrose. 5 star luxury, private, peaceful with a stunning garden & bird life. Comfortable beds with quality linens used throughout, the bathroom and bathtub are perfect for a personal pamper. We chose to cook our own meals after purchasing local fresh produce, the kitchen is also a super modern fully fitted Chefs kitchen with utensils for every need. Wifi connection is fast & you have the choice of 4 TV to watch, each offering Sky channels.
The owner of the property has done and outstanding job of creating a very comfortable & modern interior design layout without losing any of the old world charm of this spacious cottage.
We shall definitely be rebooking Dormouse Cottage.
Pam & Gavin Lewis
Phillip Island
Australia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Accommodation - I'm Booking Up Again Straight Away”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The accommodation is very comfortable and luxurious. There are nice thoughtful touches like provision of quality soaps & shampoos that you'd find in a top quality hotel, but it is so homely and cosy , the best of both worlds!
We were blessed with good weather, but even if we hadn't, there was so much to do in Cornwall and the cottage had the full array of entertainment facilities (Sky HD, films, music, books, magazines).
The cottage is in a peaceful secluded village but it's a very short drive to beautiful beaches, sights and walks and also very close to Padstow which has an array of lovely shops, bars & restaurants.
Lots of very useful information in a comprehensive booklet for guests, with recommendations of restaurants, beaches etc, so we were able to make the best of our time.
Other parts of Cornwall (both North & South) are very accessible, with so many fantastic beaches and attractions, we had a fantastic time and have booked up straight away, without hesitation.
We felt very lucky to have stumbled across such a gem - It greatly exceeded expectations and we will be recommending it to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high quality of the accommodation which was very luxurious and had everything you needed
Liked least: That we had to go home at the end of the holiday!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2015
Thank you for your recent review. We are so glad you enjoyed Dormouse Cottage and very glad to hear you will be returning for another visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$911
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing