We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

The Ivy House Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in St Merryn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We were on holiday staying in St Merryn and we ate here twice in the week we stayed, our view is this is definitely the best restaurant in or around St Merryn. All the food is fresh and mostly homemade, the surroundings are nice, good ambiance, and it's a family run business. The service was very relaxed, you were allowed to get the food at the pace you wanted, as others have said it's not the largest menu but we found the options were more than sufficient to meet our needs. We would thou toughly recommend this restaurant and would happily return should we be back in the area

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank FreddieJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2018

A limited menu but all homemade and very tasty we had the pate and I had the pan fried sea bass my husband had the pan fried duck with Crewe brûlée to finish..gorgeous

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

We had a 2 night stay here and were so pleased we did. The décor was beautiful, so tasteful and the bed was really comfortable. Annabel has such great taste.
Both Annabel and Peter, made us so welcome, together with the added bonus of Annabel playing the piano.
The food was wonderful and we ate there both nights of our stay. The hake with balsamic dressing melted in the mouth, and the lemon sole was the best I've ever tasted.
For dessert the Eve's pudding with custard was delicious.
Their daughter Lauren was an excellent waitress too.
We would definitely recommend the Ivy House as both an excellent B&B and restaurant, and look forward to staying there again one day.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ruthkemp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

Called at lunchtime and was pleased they still had a table for dinner - a lot of places in this area get booked up quickly.
We had a really enjoyable evening.There's something redolent of the 1970s about this place - plain white walls hung with Parisian posters and little Moroccan touches in the decor. The same might be said of the food - simple and unfussy, well-prepared and served with care by the cheerful, friendly owners.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Grappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Atmosphere was terrific
The owner was charming and totally appropriate
The food was good without being spectacular. The pink duck was a little too underdone to me but this is about the hardest thing for a restaurant to get right for every punter.
Wine list was not to my taste as the light reds of Pinot noir and Sangiovese were not available.
But as a package it all worked and we would happily go back.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ivy House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Ivy House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing