We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Condo is Perfect but Common Areas Not Regularly...”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool/Ocean
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool/Ocean
View from our balcony Dining Room/Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Pool/Ocean
View from our balcony
Dining Room/Living Room
Cove and On the Bay
Kitchen
Private Pool
Living Area
Beach and cove
Master Bedroom
Pool from our balcony
Master Bath
Beach and cove
Second Bedroom
On the Bay
Second Bathroom
Dining area
Over the cove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Old Man Bay, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
cynthiaab...
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Condo is Perfect but Common Areas Not Regularly Cleaned and Security is Sketchy”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for the last two weeks of December 2015. The condo was 100% as advertised. Everything that you would need is included. Ernie was easy to deal with and the condo was bright, clean and airy with nice furniture and appliances. It was well stocked with towels, blankets, beach chairs, etc. The wi-fi and air conditioning worked great and the condo I believe has the best location out of all of them. You have a super view of both the pool and beach. The facility BBQ is a charcoal type so you will have to pick-up charcoal at the local store is you want to BBQ. The condo is about 1 hour from Seven Mile Beach, 30 minutes from Bodden Town, 10 minutes from Rum Point and 10 minutes from the East end. The East end has at least 5 good restaurants and there is one located 5 minutes on the way to Rum Point that serves breakfast through dinner and two others at Rum Point so you don't have to drive to Seven Mile Beach for fine dining. There is a nice Fosters at Bodden Town where you can stock up on just about everything you would need. You can walk along the beach just hop the wall. The nicest part of the beach is to the right if you are facing the ocean. You will find lots of conch shells and coral to pick through and it is quiet.

The issues encountered were with the building management. The lack of cleaning of the pool and beach which other guests have commented on and the security. The pool was cleaned once a week when there are plenty of guests there are I believe a total of 15 condos so with everyone using the pool on a daily basis it is a bit gross the water is recirculated. As well the beach is not cleaned at all as far as we could tell as the same garbage was there for two weeks.

The lack of on-site management is a bit concerning there is no one there to speak to for any issues that might arise. We did report the pool ladder being broken after a few days as the ladder was unsafe with jagged plastic pieces left attached. They did come to remove the broken pieces but did not repair the ladder.

As well on the third to last day of our stay nine locals came and took over the pool. Seven of them were young children screaming and running around two were adults who were just ignoring the entire situation. If we were at a resort you would expect this type of behaviour and could report it to security but which when you are staying at a condo with no security it is not the most pleasant nor relaxing. I would think these issues are with the condo association management and it should be addressed by the condo owners with them. We did inform Ernie but for the amount of money spent for a hassle free vacation rental over a two week period it was a bit disappointing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Condo was as advertised
Liked least: Lack of pool and beach cleaning and security
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dougink48
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Excellent location & facilities”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Lovely condo with perfect location. Away from the crowded 7 mile beach strip, but with beach, pool, views and everything we like. Condo was well appointed and very comfortable.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelDa...
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Very quiet and beautiful alternative”
Reviewed 22 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

I was a bit apprehensive about staying on Old Man Bay on the North Shore as I thought it might be too "remote" for my two children (ages 22 and 25) but the fact is, you are only 25 minutes from the hustle of Georgetown....and you get the quiet peaceful time at the condo...the best of both worlds. Our unit was perfect...TV, laundry, dishwasher, internet access, and right on the beach. The condo development was almost empty when we were there...I didn't see anyone else for 3-4 days. We had the pool to ourselves everyday. Our hosts had left lots of useful information about local restaurants and attractions and we visited many of them....the Turtle Farm...Stingray City....the Botanical Gardens. Rum Point is only a few minutes away and we loved our lunch at Kaibo. We also loved Tukka which is also pretty close. And if you don't want to drive at all, you can always wander down the street to Over the Edge (very friendly but stay away from the turtle stew!) We didn't make it to Kurt's Corner which is even closer. All in all, I would strongly recommend this vacation spot and this unit. Great time had by all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the privacy
Liked least: there was a LOT of garbage washed up on the beach...we cleaned up 3 bags worth...but I gather that is an issue everywhere
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TK0318
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Perfect!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed with 3 kids ages 9,11,13. 5 of us total. Plenty of room for all of us. The condo and surroundings are just as pictured in the photos. There is so much to see all around the island and staying here and renting a car allowed us to truly experience every part of Grand Cayman. It is so peaceful and quiet at Old Man bay. We really liked eating at Kurts Korner-just a 5 minute walk. Very friendly service and take out available too, which we did on our last night. We also enjoyed Tukka which is just a 10 minute drive. Get there at 5pm and the kids can feed the birds and fish. The kids are already asking to go back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location...kids liked the wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fishybusi...
Tampa
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Northside - Quaintside”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

- Beautiful Views right from the balcony.
- Large bedrooms and bathrooms very spacious living areas too, new T.V.
- Super clean and comfortable, new construction.
- Everything you need, from towels, chairs, ice maker and all kitchen items...
- Beach has great swimming access, snorkel right from the beach or go beyond the cut when the tide is high, saw cuddle fish out there!
- Come back after a long day of exploring and cool off in the pool, well maintained.
- Quiet, great side of the island to get away from all the people and cruise ships.
- Rent a car is a must, but was an easy drive to get anywhere from the condo.
- Had a problem with the code for key on arrival but it was taken care of immediately.
- Met great local neighbors walking their dogs every night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;