We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
7
3
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
3
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconverted schoolthe ownerromanjoannacasaaugusthousepropertyvillacouplechildrenlucca
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018

We stayed at Casa Joanna for 2 nights as we were attending a friends wedding at a neighbouring villa in Vorno. Roman was very helpful meeting us as we got a little lost and showing us to the house. We were a group of 3 couples and also staying in the villa were 3 other wedding guests. The rooms were fab, the showers in particular were hot and very powerful. Only tiny issue for us was the wifi was not working, Sarah the owner explained theye were in the process of switiching provider. We were also offered to stay an extra night when we heard about french air strikes, luckily our flight was still scheduled. We enjoyed our stay so much we are going to hopefully go bank next year with our children and a 4th couple. Thank you so much Roman and Sarah for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Stayed in the Casa Joanna in August during some uncharacteristically hot weather.
The property is a restful old converted school with shared occupancy. As on this occasion we took all the available rooms I cannot judge how the sharing would work.

the villa is comfortable with all the amenities you would expect at this price. The staff were helpful and efficient and nothing was a problem for them.

The villa itself is an old building that has been properly restored, it is eclectically furnished and decorated and oozes comfort.

Special kudos to Roman who despite facing some technical prolems was constantly busy to fix it until he succeeded and proceeded to be nice about it as well.

Would definitely reccommend this villa for a family stay to explore Tuscany or even just to get away to quiet spot to relax.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tulli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanHBL, Manager at Holiday Home Casa Joanna Tuscany, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear Tulli,

Thank you for your review. I look forward to meeting you again soon.

Roman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Romantic Tuscan village of Vorno. Marvellous Lucca 10 minutes away. Forte Di Marmi, Florence, Cinque terra. Nearby restaurants are brilliant and reasonable. Roman the manager is very knowledgeable helpful. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanHBL, Manager at Holiday Home Casa Joanna Tuscany, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Thank you David. That is very nice of you. See you soon.

Roman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Just returned from a very restful week at Casa Joanna. We stayed in one half of this converted school house and it suited us perfectly. All three bedrooms had ensuite facilities. The house was very clean with a well equipped kitchen. It's situation is beautiful. Roman, the manager, was incredibly helpful and had immense local knowledge. Lucca is very easy to get to and well worth a visit. The journey from Pisa airport was also easy. Hope to return!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Pigsinwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanHBL, Manager at Holiday Home Casa Joanna Tuscany, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review. I hope to have you back in 5e near future.

Roman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015

We stayed here as part of a group of three families- six adults and six children aged 10 to 13. We have holidayed together numerous times and of all our 'holiday houses' this was probably our favourite.

Casa Joanna is set in a beautiful garden complete with cypress trees, eucalyptus trees, mulberry trees, vines, etc, in the grounds of a very large villa. It is in two parts, and we rented both parts for a week in August. The rooms are large, especially the enormous sitting room/kitchen/dining area at the 'pool' end of the house. We loved cooking together and then eating out on the terrace overlooking the pool.

The bedrooms are all ensuite and of a good size, with high ceilings, and the larger rooms which look out onto the beautiful garden enjoy gorgeous views of the densely wooden hills against which the village of Vorno nestles. The beds are very comfortable and the scent from the geraniums in the window boxes wafted into the bedrooms.

The village is at the end of a road which then ends up branching off into tracks into the hills and the woods, so there is no through traffic as such, and there are many tracks and paths for walking, mountain biking or running. We used the butcher's shop every morning to get our bread and any essential groceries, and the locals were very friendly.

Roman who manages the property for the owners could not have been more helpful, and was a major factor in making the holiday so successful - see my friend's review regarding the fig picking adventure. Another example of his helpfulness was that we asked how to turn the pool light on, and as if by magic the next evening there was a timer attached which switched it on every night for us between sunset and 1 am!

There were quite a few mosqitoes in the evenings, though some of us seemed to get bitten more than others - take your insect repellent!

Overall we were extremely happy with the house, with the setting of the village of Vorno and its proximity to Lucca, and the beautiful unspoilt hills and mountains of this part of northern Tuscany, and would happily holiday at Casa Joanna again.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Abigail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomanHBL, Manager at Holiday Home Casa Joanna Tuscany, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2015

Dear Abigail,

The fact that you took time to write this review reveals to me that you really had a great time here at Casa Joanna. I am so happy for you. Thank you and your family for choosing us for your summer holiday.

I look forward to seeing you here in Tuscany again soon.

Kind regards,

Roman Janiga
House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews