We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
101
16
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
16
2
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

Absolutely the worst dinner ever
Meals came out haphazardly- dinner served for some with appetizers for others
No chef on premise -kitchen help prepared meal
No manager present
Food served cold
Restaurant very tired and in need of serious help
Servers uneducated on proper service
Should be ashamed to be in business

After being at cheval blanc all day that is the place to stay and eat not here

This place should close their doors - it has no business being in in st Barth

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank rocko38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Located on the far end the beautiful Bay of Flamands, this boutique hotel is simply divine with an attentive, friendly and capable staff. The hotel manager makes it a point to connect with every guest, which is a great touch.

The rooms are open and airy with uninterrupted views on the bay. Our suite had a private pool and sunning area which was an added plus.

The only negatives are a) you may have a climb to get to your room - ours was at the top of the property which is a 5 story climb - there are no elevators and b) no food is served on the beach.

Still, the service and setting are worth it. FYI, the hotel is being taken over by Cheval Blanc, the hotel next door - formerly The Île de France Hotel. That means one thing - room rates are going even higher!

Still, in my view, this is the best quiet beach on the island.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mtjllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

We just returned from our twenty plus time on this magical island and our second time at Taiwana. A great spot on the beach with a wonderful vibe directed by maestro Alex and his team. He and they are the best. Thank you all.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank EdLowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

This place is gorgeous. It has it's own beach and pool and is a good place for families. Quiet. It's not too "fancy" which I did appreciate, especially after seeing other properties on the island. It's just enough and not too much decor, letting one enjoy the space and the outdoors more purely somehow.

The place next door, for example, (Cheval Blanc) is over-the-top with it's ombré cushions everywhere and young girls in pink maid uniforms. We went for drinks one night and the service was far less than at our hotel, but they do have nice snacks. St. Barth's can just be too homogenous in it's level of fancification. This hotel is modern and minimalistic and very clean of extraneous ornamentation whilst being very clean, well-kept and organized.

The service and the breakfast are excellent. I got help with whatever we needed from the seasoned, professional and talented staff.

My criticisms do not warrant a subtracted star. The biggest was out of the hotel's hands--there were a couple other guests who were socially maladjusted. Exceptionally rude with a misplaced sense of self-importance. Due to the tremendous affluence on the island, you may be likely to see a few extra-special cases of overly entitled bores anyplace around.

My concerns were with some renovations being made--there were areas on the stairs to our room with poor lighting and no handrails. I'd expect some things were removed and new things hadn't been installed yet. Lastly: there are few rooms with suitable access for people with mobility impairment. This is something I mention because it's something you'd want to know *before* you book your room, unless you plan to rent a car for the length of your stay.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bond s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

The island is one of the best places on Earth.

And this Hotel Taiwana is a perfect combination... I've traveled a lot and this is one of the few places I'll remember and recommend for ever...

It's not cheap but it's worth it... Very clean, safe, fancy, elegant but warm, cozy and beautiful... good food, drinks and beaches for and epic chill... we had an memorable week here and the best is that this 22 room hotel is ON the BEACH...

Marine from the hotel helped us out a lot in organizing the best tours and dinners... Merci :)

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sergio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews