We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
PekkaT_010
Switzerland

Old, but good price

Review of Hotel Hirvi
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Nov 2014
If you want to stay in Äänekoski I believe there are not that many choices. This hotel is old, but room was clean and staff very friendly. The breakfast was also good and the price was low even though there was quite big rock / blues / jazz festival in the town.
Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
    4.6 km from Hotel Hirvi
    A drone photograph of Kartano Kievari by Suojoki river
    Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Lol.travel
    • Vio.com
    6.3 km from Hotel Hirvi
    Free Wifi
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Scandic Hotels
      €130
    • Booking.com
    38.0 km from Hotel Hirvi
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    39.6 km from Hotel Hirvi
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    39.9 km from Hotel Hirvi
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    40.3 km from Hotel Hirvi
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    39.7 km from Hotel Hirvi
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    40.1 km from Hotel Hirvi
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    39.9 km from Hotel Hirvi
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    41.2 km from Hotel Hirvi
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Aanekoski
    Reviews (22)
    Filter reviews
    22 results
    Traveller rating
    0
    7
    11
    4
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    0
    7
    11
    4
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    3 - 8 of 22 reviews
    Reviewed 4 July 2014

    Arriving at the hotel you are greeted by friendly staff, who were helpful when asked about the area and places to eat. The room is modest but functional, and most importantly clean. The only real issue I had with it was the fact that with the window open it was quite noisy from traffic, and with the window closed it was unbearably hot. It rained the evening I arrived so was not super-summery outside, but the thermometer in the room was showing 28 Celsius.
    I cannot comment on the breakfast provided as unfortunately I had to leave early the next day.

    Date of stay: May 2014
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank andysocial79
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 26 May 2014

    Good small hotel in Äänekoski, had stayed here for a week during a business travel during December 2010. Good staff, breakfast buffet spread was kind of very minimal with less options. It was freezing cold outside about -30 degrees but the hotel kept us warm with their courteous staff and good heating units.

    The have a small and nice bar, good food and yes they have a swimming pool steam and sauna ;) at that extreme temperature.

    Date of stay: June 2013
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank SaneeshKumar
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 September 2013

    Hirvi is an old hotel and feels like it. Everything in this place is worn out, yet clean. Rooms and corridors are screaming for a paint-job, but they are kept clean, nevertheless. Service is friendly and everything functions. If you are looking for a cheap, decent place to sleep overnight, this is a good choice. Half the price compared to any Jyväskylä hotel.

    Date of stay: August 2013
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank LPekkala
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 August 2013

    Very good value of money ! My room was very simple and little bit tired and worn but bed linens and Towels were clean. Room was quite warm : there were not any air conditioning.

    Breakfast was very basic but good enough. I was only customer at breakfast. Hotel was very quiet anyway.

    Hotel Hirvi has old tradition from 1930 but you can't feel it in hotel. The hotel is worn and tired but for business travel it is great choice. There is everything you need . But I wont choose this hotel for my holiday .

    Date of stay: August 2013
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Erik L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 15 March 2013

    When your going to Äänekoski, there is not much to choose from. Hotel Hirvi is 95 years old establishment. The current style is something from 80's so it's not up-to-date anymore. The hotel itself is clean, buffet breakfast was decent and service was good. There is pool also but I did not have time to check it out. The biggest negative part is that reception closes at 3pm /15:00 and after that you get keys from the bar below which opens after 8pm/20:00 or the keys are in envelope taped to back door! This same back door is used for entry to hotel when reception is not open...

    Room tip: Backyard facing and lowest floor is the optimal room. City facing rooms are above bar.
    Date of stay: March 2013
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank SirRahikkala
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews