We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence l'Oxalys
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Pashmina(Val Thorens)
US$337
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Altapura(Val Thorens)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel 3 Vallees(Val Thorens)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Koh-I Nor(Val Thorens)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Val Chaviere Hotel(Val Thorens)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel FitzRoy(Val Thorens)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Village Montana(Val Thorens)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
72
73
13
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
73
13
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjean sulpicepool and jacuzzifamily ski tripnext morningski lockersevery morningmichelin starthe wi fiapartment was cleangreat apartmentliving areathe hotel stafftwin roomboot roomdays skiingeasy accessski school
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Slopeside accommodation, at the bottom of the Plein Sud run. We shared a 4 bed apartment, split over 3 floors, between 2 couples, to ensure we had plenty of room.
The apartment was fine, you are out all day so doesn’t need to be luxurious. UK tv channels a nice touch, kitchen clean, ok WiFi with enough access for all of us. Hotel fixed a problem we reported with one toilet quickly. Air intake into the bathrooms clearly came from a “smokers corner”, consequently bathrooms smelt smoky and not very fresh. Decent restaurant and spa, good boot room. Skihire from the shop in the lobby not recommended, staff friendly enough but very laissez faire and kit was not new, and not matched to our size/weight/ability. It was convenient but I’ll go elsewhere next time.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank samliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Residence Oxalys and its wonderful staff are up there with the best. The Reception were amongst the most welcoming of any residence we have ever stayed in. They were all so helpful, so friendly, spoke wonderful English and totally cared that we were having a wonderful holiday. The apartments are large and beautifully set out; the downstairs lounge and sun terrace are perfect places to relax and the views from the sun terrace are inspiring. We all loved using the spa after a day on the slopes. It was never busy and just so relaxing. The ease of access onto the slopes was so easy so kids could go off to ski school, grown ups could take their time and we could all easily meet in the boot room to go to the apartment for lunch and then straight back on the slopes again.We all loved the Oxalys and would go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: Floor 1, apartment 4 morning sunshine and beautiful views of the mountains and the amazing firework display at the end of the week.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resp O, Responsable de résidence at Residence l'Oxalys, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear "Carolyn H"

A huge thank you for your positive comment which is a real encouragement for all our teams.

we sincerly hope that we will have the pleasure to share more moments with you during another stay.

Best regards,

Stéphanie BAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

If you have come to ski this place is just amazing great for families just a few steps to piste. Ski back to door. Amazing apartments where you can do your own thing which i like. The spa was amazing real bonus. The Italian restraunt was first class. All said as a family which loves to ski and be independent this place is hard to beat. Staff were all amazing. I would not hesitate to recommend. Thank you Oxalys for a great week

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeMontagnettes, other at Residence l'Oxalys, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Dear "Barry R",

It was a real pleasure to share this special moments with you in our residence L'OXALYS.

To know that your stay was a success is our main reward. We are so delighted that you enjoyed our new restaurant !!

We hope that we will have the pleasure to host you soon.

Best regards,

Stéphanie BAL, responsable de résidence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

Great location (ski in / ski out) and very friendly stuff.
There is a restaurant on premises which is pretty good.

We got sauna in the apartment (3 bedrooms apartment) which is pretty cool.

The fireplace is a nice touch!

The only downside is the WiFi. It is so slow and frequently disconnecting that it is virtually non-existing.

I’ve called the reception about this and first they said it might be the weather (which was bad that day) but once I mentioned that it is since our arrival they said it is a known issue since November. Well... there are reviews here dating back to 2015 complaining on the same issue.

It is a shame that this issue is not addressed for so long, otherwise it would be perfect...

One more suggestion:

The guests are expected to buy their own food (or go out). It would be great to get some basic stuff like salt, pepper, sugar. Those are very chip and would be great service to the guests which surely forget to buy it.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank ---ArchAngelRGB---
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeMontagnettes, Responsable de Résidence at Residence l'Oxalys, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear "ArcAngelRGB",

What a pleasure to read your review !

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay in our residence. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the accomodation, our staff and our new restaurant.

As far as the wifi is concerned, it's available in every apartment for free. It's true that it can be very slow due to too many connections in the resort, especially when the weather is bad. Val thorens is a high elevation resort and we cannot guarantee a WiFi as good as in town but we do our best.

I take note of your ideas to improve our guests' stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our mountains,

Best regards,

Stéphanie BAL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Apparently helpful staff. We arrived at 8am following a transport delay,with the promise that our keycard would be in an envelope in a locked box. The box was open. Not a problem as our envelope was there but no key card. A call to a night manager at a nearby related residence was attended to promptly and we were given keycards.
Our apartment is more three star than the promoted four star. It is comfortable but not luxurious.

The promised wi fi is quite inadequate. It is episodic and one needs to log on every time one wishes to use it. It is quite unreliable and does not enable genuine internet access and coverage, eg to google news, to publications and newspaper subscriptions in place. we have utilised the wi fi offered at other nearby restaurant and bars with success.
The linen eg towels and bathrobes are very worn and are certainly not four star. They are what I imagine one might find in a two star motel in outback Australia.
The location is very good, an easy stroll to supermarkets, bars, restaurants and good access to the slopes.
The ski room is quite dated, wet floors and smelly toilets, simply unpleasant. One needs to be very quickly in and out of there.
Otherwise a pleasant stay. Simply a pity that the above concerns lead to a downgrade of the property.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ferretfairgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WebMontagnettes, Responsable de résidence at Residence l'Oxalys, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear "Ferretfairgo",

As you're still in our establishment, it is a shame you don't come and see us.

The sense of service is for us a priority and we would be delighted to try to solve your problems.

The OXALYS residence is a 4 stars residence which respects all the criteria and not a 4-star hotel …

See you later, Sir

BAL Stéphanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews