We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great position worthy of moe than 2 stars”
Review of Le Rabelais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Rabelais
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Le Lavandou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

We booked some time back just for one night and opted for a deluxe room, on the first floor it looked over the port. Being double glazed noise was no issue and the almost silent air con unit kept us cool over night. There was also a mini/bar style fridge. The room was nicely decorated and could have accommodated three, the shower very nice and recently refitted. Friendly service, a nice looking breakfast option and relatively easy parking on the street nearby made this a really nice stay and a hotel we would recommend and use again.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank TodgeProvence_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

Westayed a couple of days inthis nice hotel, with small,but comfortable rooms. The location, right in front of the harbour and beach in le lavandou is great. There are numerous restauants and bars around the hotel for a nice meal or drink. We did not have breakfast in the hotel, but had this on one of the terrasses of the bars close by.mthe terras of the hotel looks good. Having a small fridge in the room was great, as is the airco in the room. Very friendly staff as well.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Herre_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed in this very nice hotel for one night. The interior looked as if there had been recent renovations, which gave it a modern feel without losing any of the 'charm' of a French hotel. Very helpful and friendly staff. Our room was very nice, clean and comfortable with a balcony view over the marina. A good start to our holiday, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

A very comfortable and charming hotel, recently refreshed . Ambience is serene. Ideally situated on the harbour and facing the sea. We loved the 1st floor suites with their private terrace . The owner is very kind, discreet and helpful. Good spot

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroleindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This hotel was OK. The actual room was fine, as was the modern bathroom. It's an older hotel, but they've done a decent job modernizing the decor. We had a view of the marina, which was nice, but not nearly as nice as it looks on the web site. There's a busy street, a parking lot, and other un-scenic stuff between you and the water. Plus the window is small and you pretty much have to stand in front of it to enjoy the view. And as others have mentioned, the area is quite noisy.

I am not usually a person who complains about service, but this is one of the worst service experiences I've had in France. We called before we arrived and were told that there was parking "inside." When we arrived, the hotel entrance was extremely difficult to locate; there is no signage and we ended up on a dead-end street that we then had to back down. There is no loading/unloading area for the hotel, so my husband circled while I ran in to try to figure out what to do with the car. The woman at the front desk was quite nasty, and told me that my husband had called earlier and she had explained there was no parking at the hotel, parking was inside. Her English was extremely poor, and clearly she was confused about what "inside" means--OK fine, but that's not my fault, and I think our confusion was understandable. The whole experience was extremely unwelcoming and frustrating after a long drive. It took forever to understand what to do with the car; we finally figured out that you have to use a paid parking lot a few blocks away. Over the course of our stay, I heard many guests have this same conversation with the front desk staff in various languages. A clear description of the parking situation on the Web site or in the check-in email would make things a lot easier all around. And since everyone seems to be confused about it, why give off such a nasty exasperated attitude?

The rest of our stay was uneventful, but the front desk lady continued to be condescending. Definitely skip the hotel breakfast--it's 9 euros each for stale supermarket pastries and one cup of coffee each. The hotel is conveniently located in the center of town, but if you are looking for a charming Med coast experience I do NOT recommend staying in Le Lavandou. It is very busy and touristy--it reminded me of Myrtle Beach SC. None of which is the hotel's fault, but just a word to the wise if you are deciding on locations.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillowT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Lavandou hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Baptistin
Hotel Baptistin
#19 of 38 in Le Lavandou
163 reviews
0.9 km away
L'Orangeraie
L'Orangeraie
#15 of 38 in Le Lavandou
108 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel La Petite Boheme
Hotel La Petite Boheme
#16 of 38 in Le Lavandou
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Espadon
Hotel Espadon
#13 of 38 in Le Lavandou
124 reviews
0.1 km away
Auberge de la Calanque
Auberge de la Calanque
#8 of 38 in Le Lavandou
140 reviews
0.3 km away
L'Oustaou
L'Oustaou
#31 of 38 in Le Lavandou
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Rabelais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Rabelais

Address: 2 rue Rabelais, 83980, Le Lavandou, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Le Lavandou
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Le Lavandou
Price Range: €78 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Rabelais 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Rabelais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Rabelais Lavandou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing