We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveller rating
178
142
27
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
142
27
3
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 357 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night on our way back from Italy. The hotel is a refreshing change from the normal chains and is well decorated throughout. The room we chose had a balcony and sea view.
The room was comfortable for 2 adults and 2 dogs. The staff couldn’t have been more welcoming of us and the dogs.
We booked on site parking which is safe and right next to the hotel.
The rooms and lobby were spotlessly clean as was the breakfast room. I highly recommend the hotel. It felt much better than a 2 star hotel.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015

My boyfriend and I made a horrible mistake to pick Hotel California among all other hotels in La Lavandou. It was a Friday evening when we checked in, and everything looked nice and normal. The receptionist was very sweet and quite concerned about our comfort. She gave us a nice room with a balcony, asked us if we had any laptops and how many before she handed us a wifi password. She recommended three restaurants, including the one she was to work that particular evening. We left our luggage in the room and set out immediately for dinner. Because the other two restaurants were shut as it was off season, we went to the one she worked at. After a short walk following the dinner we returned to the hotel. Next morning, while we were packing we realized that both my laptop and my boyfriend’s were gone! The laptops were in a suitcase, while the cables were in a backpack, so whoever did this definitely went through everything to find all the accessories, and did this comfortably enough to leave everything exactly and precisely as we left. In shock, we went downstairs and started to tell the staff about what happened. The receptionist (that we hadn’t seen the previous night but we later found out that she was the owner’s mother) didn’t speak any English, but eventually she managed to call the owner for us. We told her about the incident, but her first and only reaction was to question our memory despite the fact that we repeatedly told her that we packed our stuff in the previous hotel in Cassis, we precisely remember we packed the laptops, therefore we were 100% sure that what happened did happen in her hotel, and quite possibly by staff as our room was on the 3rd floor and there was absolutely no sign that shows that the door was forced. Then we realized that there was a camera in the reception area. We told her that maybe that could help. The answer was “the camera is fake”! Bear in mind that on the side façade of this hotel there is a huge advertisement that says that the hotel is under surveillance for 24 hours!!!
We strongly advice against going to this hotel, because it has some thieving staff and an indifferent owner. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank yasemindidem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

This family of mother and daughter will make it difficult for you to say goodbye. Its is a place that will rekindle the child in you. If looking for fancy, this is not the place. Ecclectic best decribes the atmosphere. Beautiful walls of bright color and hand painted murals brings your mind to a place of less stress and more play.

Thank scott333
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 August 2015

The location is good (although it is high up on a hill with a steep climb, so definitely not for everyone). I can't say anything else positive about the place.

Only a few rooms have A/C. If you reserve one with A/C as I did, prepare to get one with a tabletop fan instead.

Rooms are small and the building is run down, with mold and the smell of smoking everywhere.

With that in mind, I'm pretty sure any positive rewies here must have been written by the hotel owners themselves.

Be prepared for the moment when the staff decide that they don't speak english.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eliott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time in this nice and cosy hotel. Mother and daughter run the place in a very friendly way. We had a room at the back with a nice terrace with sunshine in the afternoon. The Town is literally 1 minute away as is the beach. For a two star hotel, you get a lot. Free wifi, good location, squeeky clean, nice entourage, good beds. The rooms are small but hey, what else do you do in them but sleep and, oh well... ;-) We'll be back!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Edith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews