We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
110
144
103
81
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
144
103
81
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view spa pool overlooking the water bathroom wall pebble beach large balcony small road breakfast was included port town toilet paper amazing views south of france first floor hotel room three nights sun loungers terrace
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2018

Only good things here the lovely view and the single croissant allowed for breakfast; also closeness to the minute, pebbled and incredibly overcrowded "beach". Despite booking a quiet room (a so-called "suite") it was pokey; really noisy from neighbours; above the road and with many annoying features. All the furniture appeared to come from IKEA (including too many pots of plastic grass) and overall lacked storage space. A huge plastic bath tub filled up a great deal of the room (despite having an adequate shower stall) but nowhere to put our suitcases; nowhere to put toiletries; nowhere to store clothes except a very pokey wardrobe taking nothing longer than a skirt. The sofa was really low and uncomfortable and sofa table much too low. Stupid details included cheap plastic chairs on the tiny balcony, whose thin legs got caught all the time between the floorboards out there. The dribbles from the air con onto the balcony, plus the hot air output from it were both unpleasant and ugly. The umbrella was too small and hard to manoeuvre to get shade. Lacking any extractor fan and with a rather smelly loo, we had to keep running the aircon when within. We were there for 4 nights and only on one day was our room made up in the morning - other days after 3 or 4pm - unacceptable! Staff were offhand or downright rude. Breakfast on the terrace is spoiled by inadequate shade, wasps and the endless delivery lorries emitting fumes on the road right below. So called fruit salad (just apple and melon - no good mediterranean fruit at all) always tasted "off"; only eggs to boil yourself were on offer and the protein offer dwindled from ham/salami/cheese to just little pieces of cheese as days went by. Coffee from the serve-yourself-machine was was horrible. Fruit juice was packet - all substandard. Our sole lunchtime dish there was a really poor "Caesar" salad, smothered in slimy dressing @18€ a plate. All very disappointing. Advice: try to find somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Lovely views from front rooms but all are over the road.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cerinthe000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

We stayed at Hotel de la Plage mahogany in late July for 4 nights.

We booked a “Calanque” sea view room. We requested the top floor and received just that! (Room 30)

LOCATION: Brilliant location away from the noise of the city centre yet only a 10min walk away. Also directly opposite the beach (crowded in summer, but fine not too crowded in the actual ocean)

ROOM: The room was fresh & nicely decorated. It was small but didn’t bother us. Only issue was there was no fridge. We enjoyed the balcony, it even had an umbrella which was handy.

SERVICE: The service was fine, the staff could speak a bit of English. The housekeeping on the other hand was not good. Our toilet paper, tissues and soap were not replaced during our stay. The floor wasn’t cleaned either. They were inconsistent with replacing our towels, we had no hand towel for 2 days then the next day they have us 2? They also left cleaning products in our bathroom.

SPA: we had 2 massages during our stay which were good. It gave us access to the pool, not sure why you have to pay for access to the pool.

Overall, I definitely believe it’s the best hotel in Cassis, nothing will beat that view! Also think it could be a 4 star hotel if housekeeping was improved and if the spa pool could be accessed as a hotel pool, or we did notice there was sun beds on the roof of the hotel, not sure who is allowed access? But it would make for a great roof top pool

Room Tip: Request a room on the top level (Level 3)
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NatalieDW89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

Me and my friend were staying for 5 nights a few weeks ago and were super disappointed. I didn't want to believe the negative reviews I read, but unfortunately our experience at the mahogany was very poor. the interior design and the view are great, but thats it.
the "private beach" is in fact just the public beach but with the possibility of renting expesive chairs (in advance, since theres only like 4 of them), also you HAVE TO consume lunch. def. not the "private beach" I imagined.

the biggest scam I felt was the pool situation. we read online that it costs 20 euros per day to use the pool (!). when we decided to splurge and do a pool day, the lady at the check in informed us, that there in fact was NO POOL – only a "refreshing bath". by refreshing bath they meant a kiddie-pool-sized foot bath kind of bassin. needless to say, we were super disappointed and angry. the irony: they hang pictures of the non-existent and cleverly photographed "pool", which they seem to be very proud of, on all the hotel walls, so it felt like a slap in the face.

the breakfast service was chaotic and often there was no bread left or you had to find your own cutlery and plates / cups etc which was very annoying.

the staff we met – with one exception – were actually really nice and helpful. but all in all I felt betrayed for my money.

2/5 points for the nice staff and the nice interior. the rest was trash.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Vanja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed three nights and loved the view and little balcony. Our room was on the first floor, basic and clean and it will looks modern. It's an easy walk into Cassis town but note that some of it is over a sectioned off footpath on the road, and there is a fair amount of traffic.

The room is small, I never found a fridge. The bed is much too firm for my liking and our 'double bed' kept gapping due to rollers under the two single beds. Breakfast was basic and service friendly if rudimentary.

All in all we had a nice time in Cassis and the location is great. We like trying new places which is what we are likely to do next time.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 469mikad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed on the second floor with a sea view. The rooms are small, clean and simply decorated in white. The view from the balcony is stunning. As one of only a couple of hotels adjacent to the smaller of the two cassis beaches, you are paying for the location rather than the quality of the hotel.
The attached restaurant has an attractive terrace and a small selection of dishes at dinner which are well cooked and presented. There is another restaurant across the road which serves lunch and is good quality.
Having excused the hotel in preference to its location, I do have to say that they could try harder to look after guests during the day. Breakfast was adequate without being special and had a tendency to run out of foods without apology. Room cleaning was tardy. One day all beaches were closed due to pollution scare after heavy rain, and guests were left sweltering in the heat - they could have opened the spa pool to guests on that day for a quick free dip instead of charging €20 pp. nothing so terrible but a lack of focus on guests.
So if you are wanting to lounge in a luxurious room and take a dip in a quiet pool this probably isn’t for you - but if your room is for sleeping between days on the beach and swimming in the sheltered corner of the bay it’s perfect.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank BobbyOllox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews