We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
67
11
13
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
11
13
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pools perched lounge cliffs mediterranean sea terrace
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2018

The hotel is perfect and overlooks the Mediterranean. The hotel is in walking distance to the town and the beaches. The staff was friendly, helpful and very professional. A perfect and romantic hotel, we would definitely recommend!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank suzannewQ2654XR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

In short, this is a luxurious and beautifully located hotel, that comes with a high price tag and isn’t quite running as it should. This is no reflection on the staff, all of whom are polite and enthusiastic, but perhaps management not quite being on the ball (although, it is early days). The room we had was great - very spacious, great balcony with a sea view, and excellent bed. The bath would have been great had the plug fitted...

The food was very good for dinner. The breakfast was ordinary, and someone needs to realise having an outside buffet with so many insects around is not a good idea. The pools are good, and the sea is accessible via a gate.

Lovely hotel, and very fine staff, but a little too expensive for what it is.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DBUK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Cassis, which sits on a perfect bay just East of Marseille is a fairly subdued resort by Mediterranean standards, and all the better for it. This hotel had been its lodging of choice for well-heeled families. Perched atop low set of cliffs, the views are magnificent and the buildings well suited to the site. Recently closed and heavily renovated, it opened up again this summer with a glitzier approach and a decor marked by a successful mix of art nouveau and art deco styles. It offers two infinity pools and direct access to the sea from one of the lower cliffs. The gardens are lovely.

Why then this qualified rating? It seems the hotel reopened too quickly after the renovations without giving its new service team the time to assess both the property's many attractions but also its limitations. And pricing was exceptionally ambitious, indeed ludicrously so. On arrival, we were offered a room for 500 euros (US $ 600) which turned out to have a view - of the hotel car park. When we complained the price was reduced, but the good impression the hotel might have hoped to make with us was blown.

Service was hit and miss. A few experience professionals plied their trade along-side a cohort of agreeable and attractive young people who did not yet seem to know fully what was expected of them in a 5-star property. The restaurant produced an interesting, delicious breakfast but otherwise was unremarkable (although, unlike the rooms, reasonably priced). The rooms have been over-designed electronically ( seeming plague in the world of new or renovated hotels), with early malfunctions aplenty, sometimes crippling ones. The controls are often a mystery.

With any luck, the kinks will be ironed out and the room with the stunning view of cars parked right up against it will be retired. The location is wonderful, the setting splendid, the sea inviting, and the potential excellent. I'd give it at least one more year, probably two. before contemplating a return. By then the prices may have settled into more realistic ranges. And the staff will have more of a sense of what the hotel's natural clientele (hardly Cap d'Antibes) is looking for.

Room tip: Make sure you get a room with a sea view. The others are not worth considering.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien G, Responsable F&B at Hotel Les Roches Blanches, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Dear Frequenttraveller076,
I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay with us.
The hotel re-opened this year in June with a new offer and a new team. It is true that in any openings, adjustments need to be made. Thus, is it an excellent practice to learn from complaints and develop a better understanding of our guests expectations.
We discussed the matters you have described and measures have already been taken, Rooms on car park have been removed from sales for instance.
As you say the location of the Hotel is absolutely stunning and the view is breath-taking. So we sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back next year. We will demonstrate our commitment on improving our guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

Location is beautiful !
Decor : Art Deco revisited with some very modern design . (Very decor Magasine )
Service : very nice people who try their best .ftom the front desk to the concierge !
Room ?Well I never seen so bad if you consider the price 510 € with tiny twin beds a bath room closet dimension
( At least the shower was nice )a nicer room is around 800 € !for Cassis ????
We are not in St Tropez or Monte-Carlo !!
5 stars hotel outside yes inside not really .
Restaurant lounge bar was nice
Main restaurant : to me there is nothing worst than fancy food which is bad !!And it was very bad .
So wait that s the new chef join .
Of course it’s a new hotel 3 months 0ld but , at least and as a minimum they could balance with some commercial strategy and not just give excuses and do nothing on the spot .

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank lesboucherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Directeur général at Hotel Les Roches Blanches, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear customer

As you have mentioned we have a new chef and we will be very happy to receive you again in order to discover our new offer.
Concerning the room accommodation our beds can be either way set as twin beds 90cm each or one large bed 180 cm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

We walked up to the Hotel from our apartment for a drink one evening. We spotted the Hotel when out on a boat trip.
The outside terrace wasn’t available but we were happy to sit in the cool Bar.
Charming staff. Enjoying ourselves, we ordered a second round - same again. One item was incorrect but we accepted it. Water had been ordered and did eventually arrive with an apology.

We went for a tour of the Hotel after drinks. Beautiful pool areas and outdoor restaurant.

After this tour, we decided to have lunch in the outdoor dining area the next day. We booked a table for two at 12 noon and looked forward to the day.

We arrived early, so had coffee in the Bar. We mentioned to a member of staff that we were going to have lunch. They said only the Lounge area was open for lunch, so (confused) we ordered a light lunch from the Menu. Then we saw people arriving for lunch outside.
To cut a long story short, the restaurant was open but something had got lost in the translation. They did have our booking but we’d now ordered.

So, our Lounge lunch - Our crudités (€20 for 2 people) arrived along with a very soggy tiny Club sandwich €14 - toasted only on one side.
We started eating our crudités and dips, which were fine but messy, especially when peeling the 2 boiled eggs. Later on, the next table’s crudités arrived with small side plates (useful) and a basket of bread. Mystery solved. Our Evian didn’t arrive either until we reminded them.

The finale - the Bill €. - one item was missing and one item was incorrect and cost more. Another conversation - bill was adjusted. Phew. We were exhausted.

During both of these two encounters, there were no more than 8 guests maximum in the Bar.

I’ve only written the review at all, to alert the Management to some major problems in their systems. We totally understand that mistakes can occur with language issues and we accept that but most of our issues were just sloppy mistakes.

We told some locals about our visit and the consensus seemed to be, they haven’t got it right yet. Shame. The Hotel is beautiful with lots of potential and many good Staff.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 896susanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra L, Directeur général at Hotel Les Roches Blanches, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Susan,

We thank you a lot for sharing your experience as it is very valuable for us
The Roches Blanches opened only 3 months ago so of course you always have to go through some adapting time before you get it all right. All my colleagues that you may have exchanged with in Cassis whom are only in the right and positive mind with the Roches Blanches can only agree on the time needed to reach perfection.
No doubt that we will reach the expected service and that everyone will be so happy about it !

Our new restaurant manager arrived 5 days ago and you can already appreciate the huge improvement … we will be very pleased to share these new moment with you in our restaurant "Les Belles Canailles"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews