We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't actually comment on the room because I wasn't given the opportunity.”
Review of Hotel Saint-Michel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Saint-Michel
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I booked a room online in March. I knew that it was to be a simple barebones room, and I have no problem with that. After searching for the hotel for 45 minutes, I called for directions and was told to go to the Terrace Poulard reception. I should have done this sooner, but they should have explained this in the confirmation email. Upon arrival, I was told that I did not actually have a room. WHAT!?! They had already taken my money for the reservation. I have wanted to visit Mont Saint Michel since I was 10, when I first began to learn French. Because of this I purposely booked an affordable room ON THE MONT. To be told that I was moved to a Hotel on the mainland was devastating. Once arriving at the place they booked me into, I was told that there wasn't actually a reservation for me. Again, WHAT!?! Finally finding someone to properly translate because it has been a while since I used my French. They called the hotel, and my reservation is someone else's name. So clearly they swapped me with someone else. A large tour group was checking in right before me, so it was probably them. To say I am disappointed is an understatement. The place they booked me into is barebones with a view of a parking lot. If I was looking out at the tops of the buildings on the Mont this would be fine, but on the mainland and a parking lot. NO WAY.

Room Tip: Book somewhere where they will actually give you the room you reserved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank terralily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

We have stayed in every kind of accommodation you can think of, and I was pretty sure I knew what I was getting when I booked this hotel, so I was extremely pleased with this place. Sounds like some people have booked another hotel and been disappointed because when they got their this was what they received...well, if that is the case, review Terrasses Poulard poorly, not Hotel Saint Michel.

This is a bit more like a rental than a hotel, as you check in at a different hotel, which it clearly states on the reservation, then get a key and walk up the path and down a corridor to an unmarked door that you enter and find the rooms. Ours was on the second level, and we had a view of the water as well as a view of the Mont.

You come and stay here for the experience, not because of the fab rooms. We paid double what we could have paid on the mainland, but it was worth every penny for meandering through the paths and not encountering a soul, and walking around the mont in the sand till the moon came out and waking to tour the abbey with just a light crowd starting to creep up the hill and be able to leave when the paths were clogged.

The only thing confusing was the parking before the causeway. We didn't expect to pay for parking, aren't sure if we were supposed to, but whatever - it was nice to leave the car behind and get a ride to the entrance on the shuttle.

If you're wondering what kind of accomodations you will encounter here, they are basic, some low springy beds, but we were not uncomfortable. Everything was clean, we even had a bathroom in the room, which I was not expecting, and it even had plenty of shampoo and soap, which I was also not expecting. Not sure why, but I was expecting more of a hostel type experience The shower is tiny, but not unlike other european showers we've encountered. There was some mold in the window, but what do you expect when you put a shower next to a wood framed window from the 18th century? You don't touch the mold...so, no worries. There is a small TV that our children enjoyed watching French cartoons on in the morning, 3 big windows that opened to let in the air, and a small table that provided us a space for our grocery bag filled with snacks and breakfast items. It was not dirty, the towels were small, but did the job, the toilet flushed and the bathroom had no off smells. It slept us all for about half the price of the others on the Mont.

I recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shalisat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed here one night in Aug 2011 during our tour around France. This is a must-see attraction and this place has an ideal location inside Mont St Michel!
At only 65 euros a night during high season (we stayed one night which is enough), it is cheaper than some of the places out of town or across the causeway!

The benefit:
1) you get to stay once all the crowds and tourists leave (totally worth it, it's a different world overnight!)
2) you get to have the closest parking spots (when you drive in, tell the workers that you have a reservation and they will direct you to the parking reserved for those staying the night)
3) by staying overnight, and leaving the next morning, you go against traffic.... we arrived in the late afternoon with minimal traffic and left the next morning. The next morning, as we drove out, the cars were bumper to bumper for miles!! (literally to the next town)

Just keep in mind the stay will be simple and nothing special, the whole point is to stay inside the walls!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontSaintMichel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Saint-Michel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment. We appreciate franchise. We hope to welcome you another time in our hotel.
Warm Regards.
Saint Michel Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Arrived at 6 PM for a two- day stay with my family. Paid months in advance for two rooms at Terrasses Poulard. We were told that there was an “issue”; they had given our two rooms to a group of Japanese. We were offered a room back on the mainland (which I could have done myself for half price) or a room at Le Saint Michel on the rock. It was pouring rain and we had carried our luggage a long distance from the parking lot so I chose the Le Saint Michel. After we lugged our stuff down steps and up the steep main street with all the people (keep in mind it is pouring rain), we arrived at Le Saint Michel with posted rates on the front door that started at 65 euro/night. The room was a barren place with a bed that had stains on the bedspread. The small bathroom had a commode, sink and small square shower. Towels and sheets were piled up outside the door for the maid service. Crud had accumulated around the baseboard that is separating from the floor and walls. Because of the rain, we slept there and I went to the office the next morning to ask for my money back. I was told that no money would be refunded but that we could have a better room for that night, more humping up multiple stairs. Knowing that they had cheated me, they offered dinner, without drinks, at the restaurant. The dinner was so-so but we were treated kindly by the wait staff. The free dinner did not make up for the bad experience and I was embarrassed that my family had to endure this. Classic bait and switch.

Room Tip: Stay in Vitre or Fougeres and make it a day or half-day trip from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alibooba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Surtout A ne pas acheter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
3  Thank Sandrine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontSaintMichel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Saint-Michel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mont-Saint-Michel hotels
2.3 km away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
608 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Croix Blanche
Hotel Croix Blanche
#8 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
151 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Restaurant La Mere Poulard
Hotel Restaurant La Mere Poulard
#14 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Les Terrasses Poulard
Les Terrasses Poulard
#12 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
63 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,393 reviews
0 km away
Auberge Saint Pierre
Auberge Saint Pierre
#5 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Michel

Address: 18 Grande rue, 50170 Mont-Saint-Michel, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Mont-Saint-Michel
Price Range: €106 - €380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue au Saint-MichelLe Saint-Michel est un hôtel de charme situé au pied de l'abbaye avec vue sur les remparts du XIVe siècle et sur la baie du Mont Saint-Michel.Ses chambres tout confort sont équipées de salles de bain privatives, de téléviseurs écran plat et de téléphones directs.Son restaurant panoramique vous offrira une vue magnifique sur la baie du Mont Saint-Michel et vous proposera ses délicieuses spécialités de fruits de mer, de grillades et d'agneau de pays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing