We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, magnificent hosts, but it's a B&B, not an hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Maison d'Hotes - La Corne d'Or
Ranked #1 of 18 Arras B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Rodney (who is as Australian as a meat pie with a French sauce) and his partner, Phillipe bought this heritage listed magnificent house several years ago and have restored it to its former glory. The problem with heritage listed houses is that there are limitations as to what you can do, so the place has some quirks (including a shower over bath that is nearly three feet high to climb over!) Rodney kindly offered a stool should I need it, but I envisioned crashing off the stool, only to be found dead on the floor when they wondered why I had not appeared for breakfast! All that said, I took the Regina Suite, which gave me extra room and every night was a lovely relaxing review of my WW1 Battlefields Tour.
Rodney et Phillipe were wonderful hosts; I felt I was staying with friends (especially as I had to find a laundromat and do a load of laundry after sunny and sweaty Battlefields' tours. I couldn't dry my stuff as they are "no dryer" clothes, so angel Rodney whisked out a clothes hoist and moved it around the courtyard as the sun moved. For that, Rodney, I am eternally grateful.
Breakfast is a typical French affair, commencing at 7.30 - 9 am, with fresh pastries, freshly squeezed juice and, for Aussies, Vegemite (bless them). To be polite, it is a good idea to let Rodney know if or whether you will be coming to breakfast as cher Phillipe heads to la marché ridiculously early every morning to make sure that he has sufficient pastries, fruits and that the guests' needs are met. Home made jams, muesli avec yoghurt ou lait. Whatever you choose will sustain you till almost dinner. Rodney et Phillipe live behind La Corne D'or, but I felt uncomfortable disturbing them during the day - it's a B&B, after all. All that said, I was comfortable, my hosts were unbelievably hospitable and the suites were very comfortable.

Room Tip: If you can, choose a suite - they have more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAMMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippeArras, Gérant at La Maison d'Hotes - La Corne d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Bonjour Mary-Anne,

I (Rodney) have been described in many ways, but yours is very original.

Your comments were much appreciated.

Regards,

Rodney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2017

Our hosts Rodney and Philipe were so welcoming, friendly and helpful regarding places to visit and dine. Their establishment is extremely well presented, spotlessly clean, comfortable beds and plentiful linen. No detail is left wanting - a stool is even provided for those of us 'height challenged' to access the wonderful deep inviting bath tub. A gourmet breakfast is provided, a work of art in itself, commencing with freshly squeezed orange juice. Hard to leave and return home.

Room Tip: Stairs - so if on the wrong side of 'young' request La Suite Regina.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippeArras, Gérant at La Maison d'Hotes - La Corne d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Bonjour Laureen & Keitha,

We enjoyed having you with us; you are both great fun!

Thank you.

Warm Regards,

Philippe & Rodney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Ok the title is a bit over the top but Rodney and Phillipe are wonderful hosts and La Corne d'Or itself is a beautiful property tastefully decorated with well appointed comfortable rooms. Also a great breakfast! That's all I am saying! Find out for yourself!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank craigmS2825ZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippeArras, Gérant at La Maison d'Hotes - La Corne d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Dear unknown!

Yes your title is a bit much but there is a grain of truth - we unexpectedly received an award from TripAdvisor this year as n° 6 best B&B in France, based on visitor comments.

Do visit us another time.

Regards,

Philippe & Rodney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

This property was recommended to us and we weren't disappointed.

In fact it's fair to say our two night stay was one of the highlights of our European holiday. Who could not be impressed when staying in a house built circa 1746!

If only we'd have known we would've stayed longer as the town of Arras is truly beautiful and has many interesting things to see and do.

Gentlemen, thank you for letting us share your magnificent home and making us so welcome!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PacificNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippeArras, Gérant at La Maison d'Hotes - La Corne d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear "Pacific travellers",

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay at la Corne d'Or & the City of Arras.

Regards,

Philippe & Rodney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Stayed for one night before a battlefield visit. Rodney and Phillipe are excellent and helpful hosts . Location perfect for restaurants and town walks ( the town centre squares are beautiful on a warm evening) . First floor room ( Anges ) spacious and comfortable with large shower room. Quiet , thanks to double glazing.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippeArras, Gérant at La Maison d'Hotes - La Corne d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear Andrew,

Even though your stay was brief, very pleased that you enjoyed the experience, not only at la Corne d'Or but also the numerous attractions in & around Arras.

Regards

Philippe & Rodney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arras hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Les Trois Luppars
0.3 km away
Ibis Arras Centre Les Places
0.7 km away
Hotel Mercure Arras Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Najeti Hotel de L'univers
0.6 km away
Au Coeur D'eden
Au Coeur D'eden
#3 of 18 in Arras
116 reviews
4.2 km away
Plumes & Coton
Plumes & Coton
#1 of 1 in Ecurie
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison d'Hotes - La Corne d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Hotes - La Corne d'Or

Address: 1 Place Guy Mollet, 62000, Arras, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Arras
Price Range: €154 - €166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of the historic city of Arras, experience the charm of an original 18th century home with all of the conveniences of the 21st Century. Tastefully renovated, "La Maison d'Hotes - La Corne d'Or" features 5 rooms and 2 guest lounges. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom, TV and CD player. Art exhibits adorn our guest home and add to your cultural experience! Read the reviews for first-hand accounts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your La Maison d'Hotes - La Corne d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison d`Hotes - La Corne d`Or Hotel Arras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing