We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service”
Review of Le Comptoir

Le Comptoir
Ranked #63 of 194 Restaurants in Arras
Price range: US$17 - US$27
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Your traditional restaurant, Le Comptoir Arras specializes in the cooking of quality meat by the fireplace. We welcome you every day of the week including Sunday in a conveniently located in the city center of Arras near the Grand Place. Our chef offers a selection of exceptional beef from a local breeder.
Reviewed 4 November 2018

Had dinner in Le Comptoir this evening. Food was fine, not outstanding but no complaints. However, the service was appalling. We had a sharing platter for a starter but were given no plates. The wine was brought to us, there was no offer to try it first - perhaps because the waitress didn’t bring wine glasses; we had to ask for those! We had used our knives and forks for the starter and when our mains came we weren’t given anymore cutlery and had to ask for that. The waitress brought them and gave them to us like a temperamental teenager. We had no complaints about the food and the wine was very good, so too was the gin fizz and beer. Shame about the unprofessional service. Wouldn’t return.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Food
Thank Excursion23357029532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

We stopped here on our way back to the tunnel. It looks like a lovely restaurant and whilst the service was friendly it was incredibly slow. We gave up waiting for our children to get the ice cream that was part of the ‘menu enfant’ and just went inside to pay. My chicken ballotine was just a chicken breast stuffed with cheese ( not sure what happened to the mushrooms) and was supposed to be served with seasonal vegetables but cane with a limp salad ( as did everything else) my husbands beef onglet was very good though.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Nicola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

We enjoy our meal - the Wok of chicken and also beef was excellent. Service efficient and charming. Location great.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank KateFusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch on a Saturday (market day). The service was very slow due to lack of staff. They were running around but the delays were quite long. No tables had been cleared inside so the people there were surrounded by tables on which were dirty plates and glasses.
The food was average and not worth the wait.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank michaelwG247PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Most restaurants and cafes in Arras are closed on Mondays so we were very glad to find this one, especially as it was a cold day. The staff were patient with our limited French but we were able to order a great set lunch which cost just under 15 euros each. We were give a little salmon amuse bouche which was lovely, then my husband had a perfectly cooked onglet steak served with fries that were much thicker cut than the usual string thin frites. I had a superb modern interpretation of Navarre of Lamb, not the traditional stew that I expected but so tasty and beautifully presented. Followed by cafe gourmands (3 mini desserts with excellent coffee) and 25cl of wine each included in the price. I defy anyone to find such good food at this price in the UK. The meat is locally sourced and of super quality too.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank DW59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Comptoir also viewed

 
Arras, Pas-de-Calais
Saint-Laurent-Blangy, Arras
 
 

Been to Le Comptoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing