We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights, two visits.”

Le Petit Rat Porteur
Ranked #21 of 194 Restaurants in Arras
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 9 November 2018

We 'phoned ahead for a reservation for dinner and ate in the basement.
The two waiters were very attentive and great service with some banter thrown in and very pleasant ambience.
The food was well cooked, really tasty, large portions - lovely waterzooy and gorgeous scallops.
We enjoyed so much we just booked for the following night, and will return at next visit.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

I have had many excellent meals here over more than 10 years. Always large, tasty and beautifully cooked. Tonight no sign of the of the usual owners and food was mediocre at best. Two specials feuilitee of snails OK but very rich and bavette of veal over cooked and more like leather than veal! So disappointing. Hope it was a one off or chef’s night off but reluctant to do again. Noticed there was not one local in when it used to be buzzing with regulars.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank EssexSalmonfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Arrived without reservation on Friday night but were made welcome. Presented with a menu covering a range of dishes. I had pate and my wife had scollops (which had to be returned and better cooked ones emerged). My main was the rib-eye with veg and rice, my wife had salmon and chips - good portions and tasty. To finish we shared a tiramisu. Palatable wine and and aperitifs also. Nice place and will return.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Dafydd56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Three of us went there in the evening, encouraged by the good reviews. The welcome was good, English spoken (tho not important to us) and the place was great inside, especially downstairs. Sadly the food was stodgy, poorly presented, too much cheese and not enough taste. One starter was some grilled cheese on a plate of tasteless cabbage, €7. Nothing contributed by the chef throughout the meal. Always a worrying sign when the menu is laminated plastic. Then unfortunately one of us felt unwell and had to leave - nothing to do with the food - but no sympathy from the waiter who only said ‘ca msrche’. No one asked the or later, when we left, if he was OK. To be clear we never suggested in any way that it was their food, or asked for any reduction. I think we are quite generous in giving 2/5. We cannot recommend this place and will certainly not be back again. Not very busy either. Maybe they have got careless with too many tourists, or the chef had an off day but suspect it’s just sub-standard.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Quantock66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

This place was recommended to us as having local dishes and we had a really nice meal. Good location just off the main square, reasonable prices and friendly staff.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Kelpie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Petit Rat Porteur also viewed

Arras, Pas-de-Calais
Arras, Pas-de-Calais
 
Arras, Pas-de-Calais
 
Arras, Pas-de-Calais
Arras, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Le Petit Rat Porteur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing