We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
145
165
28
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
165
28
10
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2016

Well located near to the lake, and with secure parking which is very nice if travelling on a bike. The hotel dose is a very good breakfast buffet, but no evening meal service, and the bar closes at 9pm although there are several excellent restaurants nearby.
My room was entirely pine paneled which you may or may not like, not all rooms are like this. It was very clean and comfortable with a shared balcony.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights. The hotel is overall nice and spacious and has a private parking (anyway it is safe). The staff is helpful but it seems there is only one person only at the front desk. The room was cleaned, but there was no bath available (less practical when you have small kids). The great plus was the breakfast, and more specifically the bread. You cannot find daily, fresh and good baguette everywhere (even in 5 stars hotel).

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank SengChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Hotel des Bains, Gerardmer. An attractive imposing hotel on the Main Street. Ski hotel really. Very Alpine style with lots of wooden paneling.
Secure parking, big minus is no lift. We had to carry heavy cases to our room up 4 flights of stairs with no one to assist. Bar closes at 9pm. Can get beer and beverages from about 5pm maybe earlier. Nice balcony at front just above street level to have afternoon tea. Breakfast room and bar both open onto this balcony.
Very clean, but stairs and landings smell of smoke, not sure if woodsmoke or cigarettes but quite stong at times. Most rooms have balconies, we were in room 221 on the second floor and although the room was small it was adequate for a few days and had a very nice bathroom and a comfortable bed. If I was skiing I might have wanted a larger room for all the stuff. Didn't notice a ski store or boot room. We had we had a nice view of the mountains even though we were at the back, although the near view was unattractive. Breakfast expensive at 9€. We went to bar Trappistes in rue Francois Mitterrand, for morning coffee just along the road but the bar opposite it was also open for coffee at 9am. Very few places were. Gerardmer is a very sleepy town, not much opens before 10 am and they close all afternoon and only open for a short time in the evening.
Some people had bought pastries and were eating them in the Bar Trappistes but we didn't, not sure if usual practice among locals. You can have the option of evening meal at the Auberge Alsacienne for a reasonable price if you are happy with the 3 course menu du jour, the food there is lovely - traditional Alsacienne. Semi basement stube type restaurant, ski decor. We loved it and went several times.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cakerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We stayed here on the second last night of our 2 week motorbike tour of europe. We are 2 mature couples. Bike kept securely in the locked car park...on arrival the receptionist was lovely but explained everything in french. We speak basic french and understood that the code number was for the car park only. However, we left this number in our room as we were not aware that they lock the main entrance doors! We went out for a meal ( hotel has no restaurant and bar shuts at 9.00pm?!) And got back at 10.30...and were locked out. Took 20 mins to get in. The code number is for a gate into the car park. Then a rear door into the hotel. We had to telephone a number to get it. It apperaed that there were no staff at all in the hotel!!!!!!that is why we have given a 3 star mark. Generally we had a big room with balcony, nice bathroom and comfy bed.everything was clean. Hotel has quirky old feel to it . The staff returned in the morning to put out the breakfast which was varied and plentiful. So , you have been warned...carry the code number when you leave the hotel!!!!

Stayed: June 2015
1  Thank KeefyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015

Based on ratings on booking & tripadvisor we booked a room at Hotel Des Bains. We were not disappointed. The building is quite old, but has undergone the necessary renovations and modernisations. It has an authentic, historic feel to it, with nice details such as paneled walls and ceilings. We had booked a comfort room, because we had read that the normal rooms were rather small. This was a good choice: The comfort room was a nice size, but it was still not very big. It was comfortable (and spic-and-span all days), though, and big enough for the two of us and our hiking gear. The room conveniently had shutters that kept out the light and some of the traffic noise of the street. The staff did not speak English very well, but were very friendly and helpful. They quickly remembered our hot drinks preferences and room number. The continental breakfast was really good; there were numerous choices of bread and pastries, jams, yogurt, cheeses, meat and fresh fruit. A downside of the hotel is that the bar closes at 21.00 (are you serious, 9pm!?). Also, I had asked for a room away from the street (reviews said it was a bit noisy), but we were given a room at that side of the hotel. I do not think there is an elevator in the hotel, but for us that was no problem. All in all, we were very happy with the hotel, its situation within the town centre, and the staff. We can warmly recommend it.

Room Tip: A room at the back is likely somewhat quieter. There is no elevator.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Neechan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews