We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and restaurant, clean and friendly - ask for a room away from the road”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mende
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel and restaurant, clean and friendly - ask for a room away from the road”
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We stayed here for four nights to take advantage of the Gorges du Tarn area. Hotel has been re-fitted to a high standard, is very clean and the owner and his team were very firendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food and service was excellent. You can eat more cheaply in town (but we didn't find anywehre as good as the Hotel de France) but would recommend the 'Le Mazel' as an alternative. The restaurant on the corner near the tourist office is good for a pizza (think it's called La Provencal)? If you're a fan of Corsican beer 'pietra' - make your way to the 'bar du commerce'!

Our room was large and decorated to a high standard. It was next to the road and could be noisy as the road outside was used by lots of trucks making their way through the town - so ask for a room away from the road.

Lots of walks and canoeing can be accessed from St Emilie - parking in the viallage is free! You can also get a takeaway sandwich from the car/bar in St Emilie for a bargain 3 Euros!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    92
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
40
161
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Dont get me wrong, this is undoubtedly a good hotel, in an interesting old town. It's clean and well run and it has some character.
I just think a little moderation to the ecstatic reviews on this site might be no bad thing, because there are some drawbacks.
Service was patchy for us. We arrived at supper time, and there was nobody manning reception; everyone seemed to be tied up in the restaurant, so it took quite a while before our room was sorted, and this contributed to our getting pretty late.
Our rooms turned out to be in a new annex along the road. The rooms themselves were great; very spacious, nicely done up, and suited us very well as a youngish family, as they consisted of a suite of two rooms connected by a little lobby. Peaceful, too, since oriented away from the road. But they were very new indeed, to the extent that there was still a strong smell of damp plaster, not helped by all the windows being left closed. The electrics hadn't been entirely finished either - a bit naughty.
There wasn't a great view, indeed I wonder if any of the rooms in the hotel have much of a view, given that the hotel is downhill from the old town, and the view towards the open countryside is really of suburbs.
The road on which the hotel sits is the ring-road, and is fairly busy, and the walk from annexe to hotel is along a rather narrow pavement.
However, in adition to the high quality of the rooms, the service was friendly and competent overall, the food was good, and the old town is a treat. And there isn't really any alternative hotel in this area anyway.
Just manage your expectations slightly - I would not go expecting a complete gem.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkondofSwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We were greeted warmly on our arrival and shown to our large comfortable room which was one of the best rooms we have ever stayed in whilst in France.The evening meal was delicious and exquisitely prepared.Luc, the proprietor, was a charming host and the waiting staff were very pleasant.The ambience was very relaxing.If we are ever back in this area we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruno_arsenal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

The Hotel De France is located in the heart of Mende, just off the ring road. There are numerous restaurants, cafes, cash machines, shops and a Post Office all within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Our “grand confort” room on the first floor was beautifully and expensively furnished with quality bathroom fittings including a huge claw foot bath. There was only a hand held shower over the bath, however, with no hook to hang the showerhead on. The room was air conditioned, the bed (6ft) and pillows were very comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean. Sound-proofing in the hotel was good and the in-room large screen TV had a range of French TV channels plus BBC World. There was ample storage space in the room (although only 5 coat hangers were provided) plus a safe.

There hotel does not have a garden or pool and the only outdoor sitting area was a terrace outside the main hotel door (on chairs more suitable to dining than relaxing). Although the hotel has parking available for guests, space is limited and guests have to pay to park (3 Euros per night for outdoor parking and 7 Euros per night for garaged parking).

For dinner in Mende, I would recommend Le Chaudron restaurant where the fixed price menu was excellent value at 20 Euros per person. We did not have breakfast or dinner at the hotel.

In summary I would recommend this hotel for business people more than tourists. Although I have only given it 3 stars, the addition of a simple hook in the shower would have been enough to move it up to 4 stars.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShetlandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2009

The Hotel de France in Mende is a modern hotel with old, French culture still in its walls. At the time of my stay, the ambitious owner was in the process of renovating the hotel. Many of the rooms had been refurnished while the hallways were still being worked on. Overall, my stay was comfortable, relaxing, and very pleasant.
I was in Mende to attend several business meetings in Chanac. Mende is about 25km from Chanac so it was convenient enough for me. Mende also happens to be the biggest town in the area so I would have much preferred it over Chanac. The hotel is located in the heart of the town, with a parking deck righ around the corner. You are greated with very helpful and friendly staff, however, their english is not their best so it is advised you learn French or have a colleague who does (the later was my situation).
The rooms are large and modern. As I entered the room, the first thing that caught my eye was a 40" Plasma television. I was not expecting something THIS modern in the countryside. It even had cable (too bad the only thing I could watch was BBC news). The bed was a kingsized bed with lots of fresh linens. In the bathroom you will find a very classic bath tub with shower sprayer, sink, toliet and powder room area. The one fault the bathroom had was that there was no hanger to put the shower spray on so you either took a bath or shut the water on and off through the shower sprayer.
The view was of the hills of Mende. The doors opened so you could smell the fresh air but also had automated blinds so when you were done, a flick of a button gave you immediate privacy. The rooms are well built and keep noise out. Generally, the countryside doesn't have much noise to begin with but other guests can be a problem. Not so at the Hotel de France.
In conclusion, if you are in or around Mende and need a place to stay, the Hotel de France is your place. The rooms are amazingly large, beds are comfortable, maintains its character, and I promise you will have the best sleep you have had in years. I know at least I did. Grade: A+

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victorylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mende
0.9 km away
Hotel du Pont Roupt
Hotel du Pont Roupt
#2 of 6 in Mende
121 reviews
1.3 km away
Deltour Hotel Mende City
0.3 km away
Hotel Le Drakkar
Hotel Le Drakkar
#5 of 6 in Mende
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.7 km away
Chateau D'Ayres
Chateau D'Ayres
#1 of 8 in Meyrueis
455 reviews
27.7 km away
Logis Chez Camillou
Logis Chez Camillou
#1 of 2 in Aumont Aubrac
285 reviews
4.5 km away
Hotel - Restaurant  du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: 9 boulevard Lucien Arnault, 48000 Mende, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lozere > Mende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing