We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mar Estang - a big disappointment.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canet-en-Roussillon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Club Mar Estang
Hemel Hempstead
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mar Estang - a big disappointment.”
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We stayed for 10 days in August with 2 teenage children. We definitely would not recommend this site unless you like crowds, noise, paint peeling off the facilities,crowded pitches and access to the beach through a dirty underpass covered in Graffiti.
When we arrived we were met with literally hundreds of people milling around in the entrance. We had to pay 84 euros for an armband to use the facilities. I'd never experienced this before and it seems unfair having already paid for our holiday. The bar is a concrete platform overlooking the crowded entrance and the 'restaurant' is a tacky looking cafeteria ,again with no view. The pool area is ok but there a sense of 'insititution' to it - entrance through a concrete building, no food or drink, no shoes etc.
This site has none of the attractiveness we had experienced previously in French and Spanish sites. Pitches were bare and small.

We went to Camping Montroig in Spain last year which, although a large and busy site. was relaxed, beautiful and sophisticated but our experience this year has put us off this sort of holiday for life!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    263
    174
    92
    111
See reviews for
611
111
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorks
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Have previously stayed at Argeles campsites previously and decided to change to Canet Plage this year. We would definitely stay here again. The campsite is great - we stayed with Canvas (which was really good) but there are stacks of companies to choose from. Pool area is good - salt water pools so just be aware, but once over that fact it was great! Very quite on an evening where we were located so slept really well, and the security was excellent - much better at this 3 star site than at a 4 star one previously. Beach is a 5-10 min walk depending on where you are pitched and the beach is gorgeous and sandy, the sea is mainly very shallow which is great for larking about in! Good choice of beach bars placed along the promenade. Happy hour on the campsite 6pm - 7pm and entertainment each night, although we didn't really see that much of it.. All in all a great holiday - we will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mooles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

From the moment we drove in with all the kids playing on the road to the time we left 12 hours later (we had booked for a week) I did not enjoy a single minute. The campsite is packed with people, no place for kids to play, pools look like they have never been maintained. When I said to the rep: "We hate it here" , he responded "So do we"

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesMoscow_Russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canet-en-Roussillon hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Just returned from 12 nights in a Keycamp mobile home with Air Conditioning (essential). Temperature in mid 30's every day. Eldest daughter (15) loved the 16+ disco and made lots of French and Dutch friends. Beach straight out of the back door which is very convenient, beach is fantastic and very clean - not too busy - sea perfect for lounging about on a lilo. Pool complex is very busy but excellent and we always managed to get a sunbed as loads always coming and going. Disco and adjacent road can be a bit noisy but not excessive. Bar a bit on the small side for the size of the site. Only downside was the fact that my younger daughter (11) had her fashionable flip flops stolen outside pool complex so we tended to take our shoes in with us ! Overall an excellent campsite, with perfect facilities.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BradfordLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marestang, Service Client at Camping Club Mar Estang, responded to this review, 23 October 2009
Dear BradfordLilly,

Thank you very much for your nice comments. We're glad you had a pleasant stay with us. We take into account your remarks to improve our services. Hope to see you again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

We stayed for 1 week on a key camp break from 10 - 18th June. The weather was fab. The campsite is very clean and safe and just beside a beach which was lovely and had sand. The campsite had mainly French and Dutch tourists with just a few English & Irish. It was lovely and quiet at night with no noise that would wake you up. There are 2 swimming pool areas with a total of about 5 swimming pools and 2 fun slides. There were a good mix of ages and it was very ruley. There is a long strip of bars and restaurants within walking distance and a huge Hypermarket close by also. On site there is a pizzeria and small cafe style restaurant. Didn't find the food great from either but there are so many others close to the site that this didn't matter. We had barbeques at our mobile home most nights anyway. There is a little supermarket on site also, a nick nack shop, hair salon, fruit and veg shop and a Boulangerie. The bar is nice and there are activities for a half hour at around 6.30 pm and also around 10pm there is a disco and there were loads of very young children at it dancing and havin a lovely time. No drunken people falling over! Canet itself is fairly small but is probably busier later on in the season. It's a picturesque french village but the long strip by the beach is a bit tacky. Collioure is a definative 'Must Visit' if you have a car. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. If I had a complaint it would be that there wasn't enough child entertainment in the evening, the disco at night was too late for my two.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nenah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canet-en-Roussillon
0.1 km away
Le Grand Hotel les Flamants Roses
Le Grand Hotel les Flamants Rose...
#3 of 21 in Canet-en-Roussillon
580 reviews
2.1 km away
Mar i Cel Hotel
Mar i Cel Hotel
#11 of 21 in Canet-en-Roussillon
285 reviews
2.7 km away
Host & Vinum
Host & Vinum
#1 of 21 in Canet-en-Roussillon
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Le Regina Hotel
Le Regina Hotel
#2 of 21 in Canet-en-Roussillon
244 reviews
7.4 km away
La Lagune Beach Resort and Spa
La Lagune Beach Resort and Spa
#4 of 5 in Saint-Cyprien
255 reviews
10.2 km away
Camping Les Dunes
Camping Les Dunes
#1 of 2 in Torreilles Plage
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Club Mar Estang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Club Mar Estang

Property: Camping Club Mar Estang
Address: route de Saint Cyprien, 66140, Canet-en-Roussillon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Canet-en-Roussillon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Canet-en-Roussillon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Club Mar Estang 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the beach and the nature reserve, our camping benefits from all the attractions of the sunniest region in the south of France...the Roussillon. Thanks to direct access from our campsite you can profit from the most beautiful stretch of fine sand on the coast: the beach of Canet en Roussillon. Camping Mar estang in Canet en Roussillon is open every year from April to September. With a welcome capacity of 600 emplacements, the campsite offers camping emplacements or rental units. At Camping Mar estang, everything is organized to make your life easy and to make your holiday unforgettable. You will find everything you need in the heart of camping Mar estang: shops, leisure- and sports facilities, services and not to forget our wide range of all-inn activities on your campsite. Water lovers can enjoy our water park with 3 pools, from which one is covered and heated, 3 slides with a great view on the Canet en Roussillon beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping Club Mar Estang Hotel Canet-En-Roussillon
Camping Club Mar Estang France/Canet-En-Roussillon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing