We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$112
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/05/22
Expedia.com
US$112
View deal
Trip.com
US$96
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/05/22
PricelineUS$112
TravelocityUS$112
Destinia.comUS$99
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
76
95
49
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
76
95
49
9
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2019 via mobile

Have just had a couple of fantastic days at Hotel Imperator. The lady at reception was very friendly and happy to answer all of my touristy questions. The bedroom is very large with a bathroom and a separate toilet with large shuttered windows opening out to give a view onto a tree lined avenue with cafes.
The hotel information provided in the rooms tells us that the hotel building dates from 1864 and was the HQ for the Kommandantur during WW2 until Beziers was liberated on 22nd Aug 1944.....
We love the location....easy access to the tourist sites and just 5 minutes from the very respectable bus station from where you can catch a bus to Valras Plage beach (30 min journey) for 1 euro! I think that the airport bus is just 5 euros!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lindabD2454XG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2019 via mobile

People are turning up to the breakfast buffet wondering how to get a meal.

The coffee was undrinkable, and two out of the three standard French breakfast buffet snacks ran out in the first hour and I was told quite bruskly "no there are no more"

Shame it was such a poor experience, the room itself was okay.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GentlemanNosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 June 2019

The Imperator is an excellent hotel. The central location gives east access to al of Beziers and is right on the street where the various markets are held. Very helpful staff, who keep the reception and lounge area spotless. Lovely large room. Brilliant bedroom window views of the rooftops and countless swallows. Great breakfast and a brilliant old stables which doubles as a free garage for guests. Highly recommended.

Room tip: They all seem good - we only saw ours.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveThomasLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2018

The staff were all very friendly, polite and helpful. The hotel is in a great position in Beziers, convenient for everything. Having said that, the hotel, generally, is tired and in need of some TLC and refurbishment/redecoration. The courtyard, at the back, where you can take breakfast if you wish, really summed it up for me. There are lots of plant pots full up with undeadheaded flowers and half dead plants, which have practically given up the ghost. If you can't look after plants, it's better off to chuck them away. This lack of care seemed to extend to other areas of the hotel and the bedrooms. Having said that, it's not terrible and, if you get a deal, then the position of it and the staff make it acceptable. I see some people have complained about the breakfasts, but, apart from the rather naff tinned fruit salad, we found it about par for the French course - buffet-style, nice bread, sliced ham and cheeses, croissants, jams, tea and coffee making machine and it all seemed to flow well, so no problems there.

Room tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard at the back, as rooms at the front can be noisy.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe F, Propriétaire at Hotel Imperator, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Madam,

It has been quite a surprise reading your comments left on Trip Advisor. First, regarding your advice about TLC you will note that the Imperator is one of the oldest building in Béziers and has always benefited from an excellent reputation. The various owners never stopped renovating over the years (decoration and quality standards) while preserving the historic side which makes all the charm of the hotel and that a very large majority of our customers indeed appreciate.
Regarding your critics about the plants, please note that we grant the biggest attention to our backyard to make it as pleasant as possible and our customers are generally delighted enjoying this small place of greenery. Unfortunately, you are not without knowing that we underwent a long heat wave this summer which inevitably impacted on the nature to our great regret. We invite all the Internet users to have a look at published photos on which our plants are in great shape.

In summary, you spent a lot of time on comments which are totally lacking of relevance and objectivity.
Fortunately, we collect everyday the positive remarks of our guests which encourages us in our quest of satisfaction.

You stayed 6 days and 6 nights without mentioning the slightest problem, without pointing out anything wrong… .why then writing your negative comments behind your keyboard?
Why not changing of hotel since you judge it is “has been” and recommend a TLC ?
Your notices are lacking of objectivity because it is amazing to see you published a good notice on an establishment which Béziers residents stopped frequenting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is ideally positioned on the main square and we had a beautiful view from our room of the floodlit cathedral. The staff were very friendly, and well informed to provide help with trip planning etc. On the down side the free internet was difficult, there was only liquid soap in the bathroom ( I personal prefer a bar) and the decor is gaudy. On the whole the good value for money would bring us back.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank GeorgeT3458
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews