We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
222
121
26
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
121
26
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large bathroom half board scallops garden area walk into town surrounding vineyards lovely hotel shower over bath hotel grounds air conditioning toilet area just returned from a night stay small hotel quiet location mountains norwegian france
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017

The elegant yet low key small hotel in a restored stone mansion is set among the surrounding vineyards. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable with super nice beds, a large bathroom with the best shower in memory, and thick towels. Windows open to a view of vineyards and mountains. Elevator.
Pleasant and helpful staff many of whom speak very good English.
It is easy to relax in the pleasant shady terraces around the pool.
Breakfast is very nice and dinner is exceptional but quite expensive. The daily menu option makes it more affordable than a la carte. Dinners are a work of art both on the palate and the presentation.
A good headquarters for day trips to the Cote Vermeille area.

Room Tip: one with a view of the mountains is quiet
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zuzka E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Thank you so much for your visit and your posting. All those détails are very important to us, and we are very glad that your stay was wonderful and relaxing.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Best regards,
Magalie Tonjum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Just returned from a 4 night stay, half board, at the Auberge. It was a return visit for my husband and I having stayed there 4 years ago with our two teenagers. It was simply fab-u-lous! From our spotless, very comfortable room with georgeous views of the mountains, to the various beautifully presented dining rooms, to the relaxing outdoor poolside areas, our check lists for a satisfying holiday were all ticked. The food choices were very good and varied, the presentation beautiful and the flavours were up there with the best of them, it has to be said. Each night of dining was a real treat. Our hosts were lovely, friendly and very helpful. Thanks for our lovely stay. Ciara and Stephen.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank ciara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you Ciara and Stephen for your visit and your posting.
It was a treat for us as well to see you coming back. Your fidelity is our best reward.
We are extremely happy that you had a good time with us, for both the hotel and the restaurant. Half-bord is indeed a really good option to relax and discover the Chef's cuisine.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Kind regards,
Magalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We had a little trouble locating this hotel as it is off the beaten track, once you are there it takes roughly 15 minutes to walk into town.
The hotel offers free onsite parking.
Our room was large and clean and with a large bathroom and a very large comfortable bed. We had a double aspect room with one view out over the pool and the other out over vineyards. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
Breakfast was a well set up buffet with lots of choice and due to the weather being nice we sat outside to eat.
My only negative is the fact that there is nothing on offer during the day at this hotel, we could not get food, not even a snack yet you are not allowed to bring your own food into your room or in the hotel grounds, we just didn't get it.
Lovely food served in the evenings, not cheap but very good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikendebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear client, we are very happy that you appreciated both our rooms, breakfast and dinner service. There may have been a slight misunderstanding about bringing your own food; whilst we do not allow for our guests to bring their own food into the restaurant premises both inside and around the pool area, you may of course bring your own food to your room at any moment should you wish so. Kind regards, Petter Tonjum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at auberge de roua for a week and found it to be an oasis of calm, in an other wise busy place. Just situated on the edge of Argeles and very close to the A9 which could be heard but soon you forgot the sounds of the road because of the lovely gardens and pool area. We had a superior mountain room which had the usual accessories, however no tea or coffee facilities in room. We had a fridge/mini bar and air conditioning, the bathroom and shower facilities were good bearing in mind this is a converted catalan farmhouse/mansion. Bed was really comfortable and slept really well most nights. Room also had a safe for belongings and valuables
Breakfast was good with plenty on offer, we didn't eat there in the evening but the restaurant was usually full which speaks for itself.
The staff were really friendly and helpful and we would definely stay there again if in the area.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bootneck309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you very much, we would be very pleased to welcoming you again.
Sincerely,
Magalie Tonjum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Having just returned from a 5 night stay in Hotel Auberge Du Roua I would like to post a favourable review. Argeles-sur-Mer has plenty to attract the most discerning of travellers with everything that this resort has to offer. With the other Cote Vermeille destinations just minutes away this lovely hotel makes an ideal base for day trips to those resorts. Half an hour away lies the Spanish border and Barcelona beckons not that much further on. Collioure is especially nice with picture postcard views and interesting little shops and alleyways. The hotel staff were 5 star throughout and were most helpful in making sure your every desire was no trouble for them to fulfil.  The bedroom was extremely comfortable and well appointed with an especially nice bathroom and showering facility. The hotel offers a varied menu for evening dining in idyllic souroundings next to the swimming pool and garden area.  If I had to pick a negative comment it would be the 'off the beaten track' situation the hotel finds itself on the periphery of Argeles..... however I have to say this is something that can be accepted given the other commendable attributes the hotel has to offer.  My wife and I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel to especially older couples and families with infant children. 

Room Tip: Face the mountains room
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Thank you so much for your detailed and favourable review.
It is great pleasure to read from you, and I can only agree with your views.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again,
Best regards,
Magalie Tonjum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews