We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
41
102
56
31
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
102
56
31
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la defense comfortable bed train station paris underground
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2016

The Qualys hotel is a fine hotel, with very friendly staff, clean rooms and hallways, a large garage (with a rather difficult entry when coming from the small driveway in front of the main hotel entrance).
The room we got on the 5th floor was nice and had a view towards Paris, not spectacular, but at least better than having a view on some concrete wall. Unfortunately, there is quite some noise (even on the 5th floor) coming from the street, especially early in the morning and on Saturday, when there is a market on the square in front of the hotel.
Breakfast is fairly standard.

Two minor disadvantages of the room : no safe and no mini-bar.

It was mentioned before: it is unbelievable for a hotel that claims to be worth 4 stars that guests have to pay for internet access, no matter what price. But 5€ per hour (if I read it correctly) is extremely expensive.

Worth mentioning : there is a metro/train station (RER) at less than 100m, and taking the train to the center of Paris takes you less than half an hour !

Room Tip: On Saturdaymorning (early) there is a market in front of the hotel. I guess a room at the other side of the hotel will be less noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DirkvdO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane F, Owner at Qualys-Hotel Nanterre La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Dear Dirk, thank you for your message. We really enjoy receiving such complete comments which help us to know what is our stregnth and what can be improved. We do offer safe and mini-bar in our executive rooms. Wifi is free at the hotel unless booking was done through specific channels and online agencies which only offer price for the room without any service (breakfast, parking, wifi…). For the best offer we recommend to contact our reception desk. We hope to seeing you soon, kind regards, Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Smiling and welcoming people, the quality of the services provided by the reception is outstanding.

It's more on a level of a 5 stars concierge.

In the floors, the cleaning resources are also really welcoming and smiling....rare for Paris.....

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Qualys-Hotel
Thank 948yvese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane F, Propriétaire at Qualys-Hotel Nanterre La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2016

Dear Yves, thank you for the comment. We work hard and train our teams to welcome warmfuly our guests in a clean and friendly environement. We have just implemented an e-coonciergerie also you can raise from now any kind of demand from your laptop or smartphone. We hope to see you soon. Kind regards, Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016

We arrived after midnight and had to wait 30 minutes before someone opened the door. There was nobody at the reception and the phone was not answered. The receptionist was completely sweaty upon arrival.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Qualys-Hotel
Thank alaind502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane F, Propriétaire at Qualys-Hotel Nanterre La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Dear Alain, we are really sorry for the inconveninence occured. The day you arrived we suffered an electrical shut down at the basement level in the middle of the night. The main issue was that because of the shut down the phone did not work, and for that reason the night audit left his position to go and re-plug the electricty. When he came back at his position he had suffered a high level of stress and was "sweaty". We hope you understand the matter. Kind regards, Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

pro
- confortable and clean
but
- you have to pay for internet (5euros/day) and you can oly use it in one device
- food quality good, but expensive
- no coffee machine in the room
- no bottle of water

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Qualys-Hotel
Thank hafedhz2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane F, Propriétaire at Qualys-Hotel Nanterre La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2016

Dear Hafeh, thank you for your comment and for the area of improvement that you are pointing. We focus on offering clean rooms in a comfy and welcoming place. Depending on the offers few services (such as wifi) can be complementary or not. Also it is always recommended to contact directly the hotel to enjoy the best rates. The restaurant offers a la carte menu or 3 courses menu at 30 euros. At Qualys Hotel Nanterre we do our best to offer and serve fresh food daily cooked by our chef Arnaud. We hope to welcome you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Stayed here as part of a coach trip. I'd done this trip with the holiday company before and had thought we'd stay at the same hotel, which is the nearby 4* Holiday Inn, however, for some reason, the company decided to change hotels so we ended up staying here which is nowhere near as good as the Holiday Inn, and is most certainly not 4* standard. I fail to see how it has received this rating as it is 3* standard in my opinion. The hotel itself is ok, but if you want to stay at a 4* hotel, don't bother staying here - stay at the Holiday Inn instead. Room is small but adequate and includes a flat screen TV, and a decent number of sockets. Decor is a little garish (purple, and a funny feature wall with sillouhettes of peoples heads!) - it could do with modernising. Bathroom is small but adequate and includes a toilet, sink, large mirror, and bath with shower. Shower gel and shampoo is provided, but you'll need to bring your own facecloth as that is not provided. Towels are provided, as are tissues, toilet paper and a hairdryer. A seat is provided in the room aswell, and a small but sufficient size wardrobe. My room, room 510, was on the same side as the main enterance and looked out over the main road. There was a busy market there on the Saturday of my stay, and I was awoken by noisy lorries and was unable to get back to sleep as stalls were set up. Sound proof windows are needed. Saying that, at least this hotel has good walls and I couldn't hear any noise from neighbouring rooms. Wifi is available but you have to pay for it. I found it expensive to be honest and decided to pay £4 a day for a package from my mobile phone provider instead, which included calls and texts as well as data. Tea and coffee facilities were not provided in the room, but this is typical of European hotels. Bed was comfortable and I slept well when I wasn't disturbed by noise from the market outside on Saturday morning. The hotel has a bar and restaurant. The bar is nice enough, however it is very badly staffed. One person manned both the bar and reception and you had to go out to reception every time you wanted a drink at the bar which was annoying. They've lost business this way as they have missed many drinks orders by people not bothering to go out to reception to fetch the member of staff, who was often busy with a customer anyway so was unable to come and serve us. Breakfast wasn't brilliant, although I've had worse. There were no jams, just a choice of butter, nutella or honey to spread on your toast/croissant etc. A small bread selection, cereals, coffee/tea machine, 1 type of cheese and 1 type of ham, juices and water, yoghurt and a small cereal selection. Also, scrambled eggs, eggs for boiling (you had to do this yourself) and some small sausages were provided, as well as a small selection of pastries (croissants and pain au raisins if I remember correctly - something along that line). It was OK, and as I said, I've had worse, but I've had better in France and other European countries. Certainly not a 4* breakfast. This hotel is OK, but don't expect a 4* if you do decide to come here. For a 4* hotel, it's extremely disappointing, however it would be fine if it had a 3* rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't on the same side as the main enterance as there is a market there on Saturdays and Wednesdays.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank meinirann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéphane F, Propriétaire at Qualys-Hotel Nanterre La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Dear Ann, Thank you for your comment and long review on Qualys Hotel Nanterre.
The hotel is located 100 meters away from RER A station (Nanterre Ville) which will connect you to Paris city center within 10 minutes. It is altough very close from the Impressionnists Island that I hope you had time to visit.
The « funny feature wall with sillouhettes of peoples heads » is a decorative wall with silhouettes of famous people such as Queen Elisabeth, General de Gaulle, Louis XIV…
The wifi service can be complementary depending on the room and price category.
The breakfast buffet offers a large selection of hot and cold beverages, fruit juices, viennoiseries, toasts, corn flakes, fresh and dry fruits, selection of cheese and ham, yoghurts, scrambled eggs with baccon and saussages and a large selection of jam. Our staff is always ready to assist if something is missing or runs out of stock… Depending on the requirements of our customers (company, coach trip…) we can adapt our offer, and as an example we offer « Parisian Breakfast » (coffee, orange juice and croissant) to guests who prefer to have a light breakfast.
The hotel is certified 4* according to the Minister of Toursim and we’ve succesfully passed the new 2012 norms. We don’t pretend to offer « 4* luxe » services and do our best to serve and please our guests. The bar & restaurant is opened during the week, although the bar is opened and managed by the reception during the week-end. Kind regards, Stéphane (management)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews