We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$112
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sofratel(Joigny)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Domaine et golf du Roncemay(Aillant-sur-Tholon)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$161
US$157
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$74
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Auxerre(Appoigny)
US$95
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$46
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (600)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveller rating
395
118
51
28
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
118
51
28
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaint jacquesyonne riverone nightview of the riverthree starmichelin star restaurantdeluxe roommany yearslamblobsterhuge bedbeautiful roomsuperb dinnerchef jeanswimming poolwine listbread
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 600 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017

This hotel is a relais chateau property located on the banks of the yonne river. We were booked in a huge deluxe room. Check in was a breeze and the staff wore a friendly smile.

The deluxe room was huge and cozy and had an excellent terrace with a panoramic view of the Yonne river. The decor and the design looked outdated though, but I am not sure if they have made any changes this year.

The hotel has a spa which I feel was not really clean, but maybe that is because there were quite a number of people who were using it during our visit.

It has an excellent michelin star restaurant which we lavishly enjoyed. The restaurant staff were awesome. Very relaxed and friendly. Breakfast at the hotel was also delicious, their apple juice is to die for and they served the best salted butter I have ever tasted. Downside was, there was a leak on the ceiling while we were taking our breakfast. It rained the previous day which may have caused the leak.

Overall, I am very happy with this hotel and will definitely come back. A bit pricey though and they should update their decor and lnen/sheets.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csj89, Responsable relations clients at La Cote Saint Jacques & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Ralph G,
Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to leave your review.
We’re pleased to hear that you made a stop in Joigny to dine and have a stay with us.
We offer multiple options for staying with us so that our customers can choose what best suits them. We’re glad that we were able to better accommodate you, please ask us for another kind of room for your next stay, some of our rooms look more modern; we place the utmost importance on quality and hospitality.
We are delighted to receive you again and wish you a magnificent day.
Best Regards,
Jean-Michel Lorain and his Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Beautiful room on top floor overlooking the river. - Huge. Design and layout was "unusual" and not always very practical (eg to was hands after using the toilet was a 5 minute walk!). Very noisy aircon. Comfortable and huge bed... Reasonable breakfast although not that special. Nice spa and great swimming pool.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river... eg room 32
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csj89, Responsable relations clients at La Cote Saint Jacques & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear AJCG,
Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to leave your review. We’re pleased to hear that you made a stop in Joigny to stay with us.
We are sorry that the room you were in originally was not to your liking; we offer multiple options for staying with us so that our customers can choose what best suits them.
We’re glad that we were able to better accommodate you; we place the utmost importance in quality and hospitality.

Best Regards,
Jean-Michel Lorain and his Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

This was our second stay at Cote St Jacques, both time in the main, original house. This time we were in room 31, with a view of the river, but no balcony. The room itself was large enough, but the bathroom was very small and cramped, with only a single sink and tub with no proper shower. The granite shelf in the bedroom was missing a 3 inch section in the back of the shelf. Overall, the room, while quiet and with a good view, was not up to snuff as a Relais Chateau property and given the expense. the dinner at the restaurant, however, was outstanding, and the afternoon teas were lovely.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room, and bathroom, before settling in.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csj89, Responsable relations clients at La Cote Saint Jacques & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Robin F,
Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to leave your review.

We’re pleased to read that you made a stop in Joigny to dine with us once again.

We are sorry that the room you were in originally was not to your liking; we offer multiple options for staying with us so that our customers can choose what best suits them, we place the utmost importance in quality and hospitality.

We hope that we might have the pleasure of your return though, so that we are able to ensure you have a more memorable and enjoyable experience.
All the best,
Jean-Michel Lorain & his team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

We had a lovely room overlooking the river and and enjoyed the excellent spa facilities, however the fantastic food and wine topped everything and was a highlight of the stay.
We were travelling by car and the parking facility was private and secure.
Staff were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with river view.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csj89, Responsable relations clients at La Cote Saint Jacques & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Philip K,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your fantastic review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that we might have the pleasure of your return though, so that we are able to ensure you have such a memorable and enjoyable experience.
Best Regards,
Jean-Michel Lorain and his Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Stayed for 2 nights at this lovely place, everything was delightful especially the food.Our garden room had a beautiful view of the river, we also enjoyed the pool and spa area.
It made our Ruby Wedding celebration just perfect.

Room Tip: A garden room has a beautiful view
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marjorie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews