We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveller rating
417
123
55
29
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
123
55
29
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews saint jacques overlooking the river one night an upgrade dining room michelin star restaurant large room three star lamb excellent dinner many years lobster chef jean wine list swimming pool canal boat lovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 632 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2017

This was our second stay at Cote St Jacques, both time in the main, original house. This time we were in room 31, with a view of the river, but no balcony. The room itself was large enough, but the bathroom was very small and cramped, with only a single sink and tub with no proper shower. The granite shelf in the bedroom was missing a 3 inch section in the back of the shelf. Overall, the room, while quiet and with a good view, was not up to snuff as a Relais Chateau property and given the expense. the dinner at the restaurant, however, was outstanding, and the afternoon teas were lovely.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room, and bathroom, before settling in.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csj89, Responsable relations clients at La Cote Saint Jacques & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Robin F,
Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to leave your review.

We’re pleased to read that you made a stop in Joigny to dine with us once again.

We are sorry that the room you were in originally was not to your liking; we offer multiple options for staying with us so that our customers can choose what best suits them, we place the utmost importance in quality and hospitality.

We hope that we might have the pleasure of your return though, so that we are able to ensure you have a more memorable and enjoyable experience.
All the best,
Jean-Michel Lorain & his team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

We had a lovely room overlooking the river and and enjoyed the excellent spa facilities, however the fantastic food and wine topped everything and was a highlight of the stay.
We were travelling by car and the parking facility was private and secure.
Staff were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with river view.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csj89, Responsable relations clients at La Cote Saint Jacques & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Philip K,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your fantastic review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that we might have the pleasure of your return though, so that we are able to ensure you have such a memorable and enjoyable experience.
Best Regards,
Jean-Michel Lorain and his Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Stayed for 2 nights at this lovely place, everything was delightful especially the food.Our garden room had a beautiful view of the river, we also enjoyed the pool and spa area.
It made our Ruby Wedding celebration just perfect.

Room Tip: A garden room has a beautiful view
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marjorie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

We spent one night here, fortunately on a cut-price deal. The hotel is very beautiful, and we were fortunate enough to be up-graded to a beautiful and spacious room overlooking the river Yonne, with a balcony . The owners are very much in evidence, and we had to shake hands with the chef - he was the owner! We were shown round the kitchens and the wine cellars, by a most enthusiastic and charming lady, before sitting down to a superb dinner. We had got chatting to four Americans who were touring the area, and they asked us to explain how they should order and cope with the dinner menu at 165 Euros, including four 'plats' which they intended to share amongst their group. They were flabbergasted to learn that that was the menu for one person, and took themselves off down the town! The swimming pool indoors was extremely pleasant, though the gardens looked poor and neglected. But all-in-all it was a lovely stay, with the most competent and caring staff.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a room overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank HUGH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

We recently spent two nights at this lovely hotel on the banks of the Yonne. We arrived early, but this didn't present any problem for the staff. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our very large, comfortable room with a fantastic bathroom and views over the river.

There are several terraces to have a drink, looking out over the river sparkling in the sunshine. We ate only one night (sadly) in the restaurant. This was really wonderful. The service was fantastic (the Maitre d' was charming and helpful)) , nothing was too much trouble, and the food (and wine list) was really memorable. I won't quickly forget the beautiful glass bowl with lots of little cakes inside. Mmmm. I bought a copy of the cookbook, but sadly will never meet these fantastic standards.

Although this is a relatively large hotel and a busy restaurant, we had the feeling that the service was very personal and that guests are very important.

We are currently trying to work out where we can go to fit in another trip to this lovely hotel.

Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stanleyalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews