We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$113
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sofratel(Joigny)
Free cancellation until 05/08
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Domaine et golf du Roncemay(Aillant-sur-Tholon)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$163
US$158
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Auxerre(Appoigny)
US$93
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$41
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
601 results
Traveller rating
396
118
51
28
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
396
118
51
28
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaint jacquesyonne riverone nightview of the riverthree starmichelin star restaurantdeluxe roommany yearslamblobsterhuge bedbeautiful roomsuperb dinnerchef jeanswimming poolwine listbread
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 601 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2017

We had a lovely room overlooking the river and and enjoyed the excellent spa facilities, however the fantastic food and wine topped everything and was a highlight of the stay.
We were travelling by car and the parking facility was private and secure.
Staff were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with river view.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csj89, Responsable relations clients at La Cote Saint Jacques & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Philip K,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your fantastic review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that we might have the pleasure of your return though, so that we are able to ensure you have such a memorable and enjoyable experience.
Best Regards,
Jean-Michel Lorain and his Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Stayed for 2 nights at this lovely place, everything was delightful especially the food.Our garden room had a beautiful view of the river, we also enjoyed the pool and spa area.
It made our Ruby Wedding celebration just perfect.

Room Tip: A garden room has a beautiful view
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marjorie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

We spent one night here, fortunately on a cut-price deal. The hotel is very beautiful, and we were fortunate enough to be up-graded to a beautiful and spacious room overlooking the river Yonne, with a balcony . The owners are very much in evidence, and we had to shake hands with the chef - he was the owner! We were shown round the kitchens and the wine cellars, by a most enthusiastic and charming lady, before sitting down to a superb dinner. We had got chatting to four Americans who were touring the area, and they asked us to explain how they should order and cope with the dinner menu at 165 Euros, including four 'plats' which they intended to share amongst their group. They were flabbergasted to learn that that was the menu for one person, and took themselves off down the town! The swimming pool indoors was extremely pleasant, though the gardens looked poor and neglected. But all-in-all it was a lovely stay, with the most competent and caring staff.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a room overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank HUGH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

We recently spent two nights at this lovely hotel on the banks of the Yonne. We arrived early, but this didn't present any problem for the staff. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our very large, comfortable room with a fantastic bathroom and views over the river.

There are several terraces to have a drink, looking out over the river sparkling in the sunshine. We ate only one night (sadly) in the restaurant. This was really wonderful. The service was fantastic (the Maitre d' was charming and helpful)) , nothing was too much trouble, and the food (and wine list) was really memorable. I won't quickly forget the beautiful glass bowl with lots of little cakes inside. Mmmm. I bought a copy of the cookbook, but sadly will never meet these fantastic standards.

Although this is a relatively large hotel and a busy restaurant, we had the feeling that the service was very personal and that guests are very important.

We are currently trying to work out where we can go to fit in another trip to this lovely hotel.

Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stanleyalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending an evening in Joigny at the La Cote Saint Jacques idyllically situated on the banks of the Yonne River. The hotel, owned by three successive families, has a unique feel with its retro style and fabulous contemporary art. The staff are warm, welcoming and courteous. We had an incredible 'dining journey' with Chef Jean-Michel Lorain and his exceptional culinary team, and our server Abby made our evening that much more memorable with her food, wine and people knowledge, and her great warmth. The little town of Joigny is beautiful with its winding streets and half-timbered houses with its authentic and local vibe. The 'school of fish' art installation by Sylvain Subervie on the bank of the river is fantastical and absolutely stunning - one of the most beautiful I have seen. Thank you La Cote Saint Jacques for making our 25th anniversary stay a lovely one.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews