We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveller rating
417
123
55
29
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
123
55
29
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews saint jacques overlooking the river one night an upgrade dining room michelin star restaurant large room three star lamb excellent dinner many years lobster chef jean wine list swimming pool canal boat lovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 632 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Stayed for 2 nights at this lovely place, everything was delightful especially the food.Our garden room had a beautiful view of the river, we also enjoyed the pool and spa area.
It made our Ruby Wedding celebration just perfect.

Room Tip: A garden room has a beautiful view
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marjorie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

We spent one night here, fortunately on a cut-price deal. The hotel is very beautiful, and we were fortunate enough to be up-graded to a beautiful and spacious room overlooking the river Yonne, with a balcony . The owners are very much in evidence, and we had to shake hands with the chef - he was the owner! We were shown round the kitchens and the wine cellars, by a most enthusiastic and charming lady, before sitting down to a superb dinner. We had got chatting to four Americans who were touring the area, and they asked us to explain how they should order and cope with the dinner menu at 165 Euros, including four 'plats' which they intended to share amongst their group. They were flabbergasted to learn that that was the menu for one person, and took themselves off down the town! The swimming pool indoors was extremely pleasant, though the gardens looked poor and neglected. But all-in-all it was a lovely stay, with the most competent and caring staff.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a room overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank HUGH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

We recently spent two nights at this lovely hotel on the banks of the Yonne. We arrived early, but this didn't present any problem for the staff. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our very large, comfortable room with a fantastic bathroom and views over the river.

There are several terraces to have a drink, looking out over the river sparkling in the sunshine. We ate only one night (sadly) in the restaurant. This was really wonderful. The service was fantastic (the Maitre d' was charming and helpful)) , nothing was too much trouble, and the food (and wine list) was really memorable. I won't quickly forget the beautiful glass bowl with lots of little cakes inside. Mmmm. I bought a copy of the cookbook, but sadly will never meet these fantastic standards.

Although this is a relatively large hotel and a busy restaurant, we had the feeling that the service was very personal and that guests are very important.

We are currently trying to work out where we can go to fit in another trip to this lovely hotel.

Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stanleyalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending an evening in Joigny at the La Cote Saint Jacques idyllically situated on the banks of the Yonne River. The hotel, owned by three successive families, has a unique feel with its retro style and fabulous contemporary art. The staff are warm, welcoming and courteous. We had an incredible 'dining journey' with Chef Jean-Michel Lorain and his exceptional culinary team, and our server Abby made our evening that much more memorable with her food, wine and people knowledge, and her great warmth. The little town of Joigny is beautiful with its winding streets and half-timbered houses with its authentic and local vibe. The 'school of fish' art installation by Sylvain Subervie on the bank of the river is fantastical and absolutely stunning - one of the most beautiful I have seen. Thank you La Cote Saint Jacques for making our 25th anniversary stay a lovely one.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

We just stayed for 1 night but what an enjoyable time it was. We stayed in a junior suite over looking the river Yonne .We had a nice terrace and lots of sun.. There is a nice indoor pool that opens up to loungers by the grass as well..walked into the town that had lots of history but seemed like it may have had better days..None the less still worth to walk and explore ..
We also splurged and went for the chef's tasting menu paired with wine. What a gastronomic night it was...The chef was on his game and the wine choices where also perfect...The fish art instalment out front was also memorable and you have to wait and see how it changes when dark falls...Would highly recommend this hotel if only for one night. Met all expectations for a R&C property....

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tylercon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews