We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and good value hotel at the foot of the Pyrenees.”
Review of Hotel l'Astrolabe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel l'Astrolabe
Reviewed 23 September 2016

A characterful hotel in an interesting town - well priced with pleasant service and a good breakfast. Not luxurious but clean, comfortable and very individual (anything but "corporate") set in a lovely old building close to the river. Easy parking close by and the town and its attractions at the doorstep. Light sleepers might be disturbed by traffic noise - the locals are early risers.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11gdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2016

This hotel was fine for a one night stop. I would give it 3.7 out of 5. Each of the rooms in this old building were themed on a different country and this was done well. old building Our room was quite small with a separate toilet and shower. Despite the excellent location the room was quiet and we had a good night’s sleep. The breakfast was very good. All in all it represented good value, particulary because of the good breakfast. Parking was not difficult.

Room Tip: I would suggest the second floor - potentially quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NomadicTraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Late booking, as usual, from us and this hotel was just where we ended up by accident. Parking can be a bit of an issue. However, the hotel is very centrally located so good for anything you like to do in town. The hotel has themed rooms and I must say they are very tastefully done, nice colors and decorations and a sizeable room, worth a stay.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank spamobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Bike touring in this area, we saw l'Astrolabe and were very happy that we did. Checked in without hesitation as the hotel had charming rooms in a good location for a very reasonable price. We were given the Greek room, but we saw the others, and all were charming for the price, and the breakfast was copious and of good quality, with individual Bonne Maman pots for jam, lovely croissants, Activia yogurt, bread and butter, orange juice and plentiful cafe au lait. Madame was very welcoming and accommodating, and I would have given it five stars if the beds had been more comfortable. Will return this May. And do not miss the Lindt chocolate factory, a walking distance from the hotel--not the commercial Lindt chocolate, but really excellent bonbons, very fresh & with all sorts of yummy fillings.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GlobePedaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015

This was a really neat hotel in a really OLD building. Each room has a different theme. Ours was an African theme. Quite comfortable and enjoyable stay. I would stay here again if in Oloron-Sainte-Marie. The lady at the desk was lovely and extremely helpful with dinner suggestions and such.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank interestedCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oloron-Sainte-Marie
1.3 km away
Alysson Hotel
Alysson Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oloron-Sainte-Marie
199 reviews
2 km away
Couett'hotel Oloron Sainte Marie
Couett'hotel Oloron Sainte Marie
#6 of 8 in Oloron-Sainte-Marie
43 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#5 of 8 in Oloron-Sainte-Marie
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel De La Paix
Hotel De La Paix
#4 of 8 in Oloron-Sainte-Marie
51 reviews
14.1 km away
Hotel de l'Ours
Hotel de l'Ours
#1 of 1 in Arette
93 reviews
10.7 km away
Ferme de Candeloup
Ferme de Candeloup
#1 of 2 in Monein
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Astrolabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Astrolabe

Address: 14 Place Leon Mendiondou, 64400, Oloron-Sainte-Marie, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Bearn-Basque Country > Bearn > Oloron-Sainte-Marie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oloron-Sainte-Marie
Price Range: €56 - €78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel l'Astrolabe 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel l'Astrolabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing