We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Chateau; not much of a hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant Chateau Landsberg
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This is not a chateau but a barn to which a couple of towers have been added (one of which appears to be trying to leave as there is some interesting cracking). The restaurant was not open - something the booking website failed to mention and the bar closed early so little opportunity to sit in the lovely garden and enjoy a drink! The room and bathroom were clean and the breakfast adequate but we left with the feeling of having been slightly conned as the reality was somewhat different to the website!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patience55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2011

A nice landing place for a stay in Alsace; we were there to enjoy Alscace's chrismas markets & atmosphere. The hospitality of the owners is real & welcoming. Some of the nice features of the hotel include large rooms (actually, we were having the appartment combining 2 separate rooms), the heated pool & sauna and the fantastic food (gastronomic menu) & the character of the building.
Only minor issues were, the breakfast could be more consistent (although choice was already enough) and the sometimes weak sound protection between rooms.
I'd definitely recommend this place. It is a 3* (or 3* like since the hotel is not officially classified), but a good 3* one.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TGNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We arrived at 1pm the voice on the other end of the intercom told us we could not book in until 3pm, so of we went into Barr for the Wine Festival (the reason we had come here in the first place) dutifully we returned at 5.20pm.
Our greeting was cold and abrupt but with very good English, we where given a lecture on what we could and could not do, we where told that the main entrance would be locked in the Evening, we would have to use a side door that would also be locked but a key was available. Good job we checked this door out before we left for the evening as we found it stiff and in fact we thought that it was broke, however our not so happy hostess showed us how to open this metal clad fortification and implied that we where stupid..

On departure we where told by “Madame Les Miserables” that we would have to wait while she served breakfast.
The room was clean and the bathroom needed more shelving. We did not bother with breakfast or dinner, to many good places in town that appreciate custom. Don’t be put off visiting Barr we had a wonderful time there the Harvest Festival is the best street Carnival I have ever experienced but I would never stay at Landsberg ever again, perhaps Madame may enjoy digging holes in the road more than she does running an Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Powtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2007

I don't know if substantial changes have been made to this hotel since the last reviewer wrote it up, or if the person simply woke up on the wrong side of the chateau, but I would like to wholeheartedly endorse this establishment.

The building itself is charming, the rooms are warm and comfortable, the bathrooms are luxurious, and the restaurant is quite excellent. Our room had a small and comfortable sitting room, with a view through sliding glass doors to lovely flowers and the woods beyond. The bathroom, seemingly newly redone, had a great jacuzzi. The hotel also has a sauna and a heated indoor pool.

The restaurant is excellent, and a good value for the quality., with a gourmet three-course meal for 30 euros. The Gratin aux fruits rouges comes especially recommended. We skipped breakfast, but there are discounted bundled prices that include the room, dinner, and breakfast. The dining room is not particularly noisy, I'm not sure what the other reviewer was talking about.

The hotel is located about 2KM from town, but the hotel can arrange to have you picked up and dropped off at the train station.

One clarification: although the building looks like a castle, it's really a converted house with the towers added later. The central house is "only" 200 years old, which is young to Europeans but still plenty old for Americans.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nosocksguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2004

Every Easter we take a long weekend in the Alsace. We chose this place because it seemed like a very romantic setting. We took the Tower Suite, which was basically 3 rooms stacked on top of each other. There is a jacuzzi bath, which was nice, but the shower was crap. Windows in this suite are quite tiny, which was a drawback. Ikea furnishings - yuck! Breakfeast was quite nice. Dinner is available - food is actually good, but the ambiance is a bit stifling as it is DEAD STILL in that dining room so you feel quite self conscious about saying a single word! What is great is that diagonal from the hotel you have a starting point for a multitude of some great day hikes. NB Barr itself is nothing special either, and not worth a visit.

5  Thank CMChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barr
3.3 km away
5 Terres Hotel & Spa Mgallery by Sofitel
0.5 km away
Hotel-Restaurant du Chateau d'Andlau
7.7 km away
Le Parc Hotel Restaurant & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Hostellerie des Chateaux & Spa
5.3 km away
Hotel Arnold
Hotel Arnold
#2 of 2 in Itterswiller
212 reviews
6.3 km away
Domaine Le Moulin
Domaine Le Moulin
#3 of 7 in Ottrott
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Chateau Landsberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Chateau Landsberg

Address: 133 rue de la Vallee Saint Ulrich, 67140 Barr, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Barr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barr
Price Range: €105 - €171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Chateau Landsberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Landsberg Hotel
Hotel Restaurant Chateau Landsberg Barr, France - Alsace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing