We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
69
72
37
28
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
72
37
28
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We arrived at 1pm the voice on the other end of the intercom told us we could not book in until 3pm, so of we went into Barr for the Wine Festival (the reason we had come here in the first place) dutifully we returned at 5.20pm.
Our greeting was cold and abrupt but with very good English, we where given a lecture on what we could and could not do, we where told that the main entrance would be locked in the Evening, we would have to use a side door that would also be locked but a key was available. Good job we checked this door out before we left for the evening as we found it stiff and in fact we thought that it was broke, however our not so happy hostess showed us how to open this metal clad fortification and implied that we where stupid..

On departure we where told by “Madame Les Miserables” that we would have to wait while she served breakfast.
The room was clean and the bathroom needed more shelving. We did not bother with breakfast or dinner, to many good places in town that appreciate custom. Don’t be put off visiting Barr we had a wonderful time there the Harvest Festival is the best street Carnival I have ever experienced but I would never stay at Landsberg ever again, perhaps Madame may enjoy digging holes in the road more than she does running an Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Powtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2007

I don't know if substantial changes have been made to this hotel since the last reviewer wrote it up, or if the person simply woke up on the wrong side of the chateau, but I would like to wholeheartedly endorse this establishment.

The building itself is charming, the rooms are warm and comfortable, the bathrooms are luxurious, and the restaurant is quite excellent. Our room had a small and comfortable sitting room, with a view through sliding glass doors to lovely flowers and the woods beyond. The bathroom, seemingly newly redone, had a great jacuzzi. The hotel also has a sauna and a heated indoor pool.

The restaurant is excellent, and a good value for the quality., with a gourmet three-course meal for 30 euros. The Gratin aux fruits rouges comes especially recommended. We skipped breakfast, but there are discounted bundled prices that include the room, dinner, and breakfast. The dining room is not particularly noisy, I'm not sure what the other reviewer was talking about.

The hotel is located about 2KM from town, but the hotel can arrange to have you picked up and dropped off at the train station.

One clarification: although the building looks like a castle, it's really a converted house with the towers added later. The central house is "only" 200 years old, which is young to Europeans but still plenty old for Americans.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nosocksguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2004

Every Easter we take a long weekend in the Alsace. We chose this place because it seemed like a very romantic setting. We took the Tower Suite, which was basically 3 rooms stacked on top of each other. There is a jacuzzi bath, which was nice, but the shower was crap. Windows in this suite are quite tiny, which was a drawback. Ikea furnishings - yuck! Breakfeast was quite nice. Dinner is available - food is actually good, but the ambiance is a bit stifling as it is DEAD STILL in that dining room so you feel quite self conscious about saying a single word! What is great is that diagonal from the hotel you have a starting point for a multitude of some great day hikes. NB Barr itself is nothing special either, and not worth a visit.

5  Thank CMChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL_CHATEAU_LANDS, Gérant at Hotel Restaurant Chateau Landsberg, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews