We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
95
67
26
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
67
26
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two nights minute walk old town fridge taxi port sea
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Even though we turned up earlier than most hotels might appreciate, we were immediately given a room in which to change into something lighter. We were soon shown to a very clean and comfortable double room with balcony overlooking the swimming pool. The bathroom attached was spotless with an very efficiently-functioning shower. However, it soon became apparent that the air-conditioning was leaking condensed water to the tiled floor but Véronique immediately did everything possible to eliminate the problem and within the hour the problem had been resolved. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate and fairly-priced. The swimming pool behind the building was impeccably maintained from early morning and it's obvious that Véronique and her staff take great pride in the place. We did not use the jaccuzzi, for which a fee is payable. The hotel overlooks a spectacular bay, with smooth rock outcrops and small islands within a few hundred metres of the shore. This area is not regarded as suitable for bathing despite its alluring appearance.

There are attractive restaurants within a few hundred metres near the well-visited marina. There is a Casino hypermarket within comfortable walking distance (i.e. on the flat and not uphill) and the bus station for services to Ajaccio and Bonifacio is just beyond the marina. It's perhaps unfair to judge the traffic-congested and crowded historic Old Town on the basis of a Sunday morning visit, but it has to be said that the walk up is a steep one and best done in the morning or evening at this time of year. Once up there, however, the views are spectacular in every direction.

The Hotel Les Roches Blanches lives up to its name with its spectacular situation close to the sea, although it's disappointing that recognised bathing beaches are several kilometres away. However, the well-kept swimming pool is excellent and surprisingly under-used given that the hotel was full. Véronique reacted quickly to ensure that our initial problem was swiftly resolved and our stay of only two nights was a comfortable and pleasant one.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Overall a very nice hotel. Like all things in Corsica it could be classed as a bit pricey compared to other locations, but hey Corsica is relatively expensive in most areas. We had a room with a balcony and a stunning view over the port. While relatively quiet you do get the traffic in the morning coming from the ferry but it did not cause us any issue. Staff were very helpful and friendly but please note, they do not offer lunch or evening meals apart from a couple of sandwiches. However, this is no deal breaker. I suggest heading up to the old town (get the town train) for food as the seafront does not offer a great deal of choice and can be a bit off a rip off. There is a cafe type place just 5 mins from the hotel, food is decent and relatively cheap but is standard fare. If you do like to get out and about then a car is a must and a trip through the hills is well worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MagicBusUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

We made the reservation for 7 days through the official web in the spanish version and two different prices for breakfast were offered:we chose the cheapest one (8€). The last day, during the check out ,the lady of reception informed us that we have chosen rate of children's breakfast (in the spanish version of the web this is not mentioned as we showed to the Lady...) so they charged us 13,50 € for each breakfast. In the web (english version) the rate was 12,5€: when we asked about this to the Lady she said that rates had changed ... unacceptable!! More considering that the breakfast offered was very simple .
We never have seen a similar behaviour.
If there is something wrong in the reservation they must inform fue customer in the check -in. And of course you have to respect the tariffs of the time of booking.
Oficcial complain is in process.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Teresa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

First impressions lovely clean modern hotel with a warm welcome from reception. We stayed for 4 nights and hired a fridge for the stay which was handy. The staff were helpful and polite particularly Veronique. We were lucky enough to have an end room which gave us a view of both the marshlands and the bay so we got to watch the ferries dock. We used the pool at the end of a day on the beach, the area was clean and well kept. You have to pay to use the jacuzzi. If I could change one thing it would be the cereal selection at breakfast it could do with a few more choices, other than that breakfast was typically French.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and hopefully will return myself one day.
One additional thing don't forget to take your key out with you in the evening as if you forget and return after 11 you have to ring to get someone to let you in. Apologies again Veronique you were most gracious about it.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LSmith115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We booked a family room for the 4 of us. The initial impression of Les Roches Blanches is that it is a modern clean hotel. Our room was situated on the first floor and benefited from a massive balcony over looking the harbour. The balconies on the other floors are of a more normal size with the rear rooms overlooking the pool. The front facing balconies tend to be in the shade during the heat of the day which we preferred. The room was not huge but perfectly adequate in size, the room is mainly for sleeping in so why would you want a huge room? There was ample room for the four of us and the balcony is there if you want a bit more space.

There is a swimming pool and a Jacuzzi situated to the rear of the hotel but we did not use either. We tend to use hotels as a base for exploration and not a destination so for us as long as the room is comfortable things like pools are extras that we can usually do without. What is important is that there is a car park, not huge but large enough, a car is virtually essential in Corsica and not having to worry about where to park your car is great.

We found the staff very friendly and helpful especially when my wife was a little under the weather. The hotel is situated on the road to the port so there can be some traffic noise when the ferries dock which seems to be every couple of days. However for us it was great to be able to watch the comings and goings of the ships and boats from our balcony. That said the name of the town should give away that there could well be an increase in traffic throughout the town, if you want absolute peace and quiet Porto Vecchio is probably not for you.

The hotel is around 500M from the bars and restaurants of the port area, a nice easy level walk but far enough away so late night noise should not keep you awake. The walk up the hill to the old town can be a bit of a struggle in the heat of the day but manageable at night, there is a road train if you really struggle. The old town is a lot more interesting than the port area but not really designed for the car.

Finding a perfect hotel is virtually impossible, there is always something that could be better or does not suit you. We like to have a fridge in our rooms which Les Roches Blanches does not have as standard but are usually available for €5 a day. Breakfast was €13 a day per person which seems to be around the standard price of breakfast in hotels in Corsica, we did not have breakfast at the hotel (or the other hotel we stayed at) preferring to discover other options. We were never pressured in to having to take the hotels breakfast offering, they just wanted to know so they knew the numbers they were catering for.

Overall a very pleasant stay and we would go back and stay again

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 97Malcolm_H13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews