We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous family hotel, right on the sea.”
Review of Hotel le Goeland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel le Goeland
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Porto-Vecchio
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous family hotel, right on the sea.”
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Very good food, excellent service,very friendly staff

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1sergio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    102
    34
    10
    7
See reviews for
65
189
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2008

We stayed for 4 days at the hotel that we found exellent. The location, the kitchen, the nice staff was very good! We stayed in the new building (from last year) in room 36 and 37 with wonderful view over the bay with the little private harbour just under our terrasse. What we missed was a minibar in the room and a breakfast with more choises. We can really recomend this hotel!

  • Liked — The location by the private beach/port
  • Disliked — The breakfast (but OK)
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank CJMSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2008

Not much to look at from busy road at front, but the rear views are stunning. Has all been refurbished with very attractive, if somewhat small rooms. Works still underway during our visit(April 08.)

Food good but expensive. The staff were pleasant, but its no good spending lots of money on upgrading the hotel, if you have waitresses wearing the same casual clothes and trainers that they were wearing whilst cleaning the hotel in the morning. A little more style is required in this area.

  • Liked — rear views and private beach and harbour
  • Disliked — Close to road, rooms very small and not particularly well equipped for the price
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKTravellers89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oswestry, england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2007

We spent two nights at the Goeland in April and were very impressed. The location with it's own beach and small harbour is lovely and the views are stunning across the bay.
We had a ground floor room that had both a fan and air-conditioning and its own small shaded terrace. I imagine that the first floor with terraces overlooking the sea are great.
Both the rooms and the public areas were very clean and beautifully decorated.
The food in the restaurant was good and very nicely presented and in addition to the somewhat limited blackboard menu there were some additional specials that were carefully explained by the helpfull staff.
Breakfast was good and felt better when eaten out on the terrace looking across the bay.
Busy road alongside the hotel but the noise was not a problem( the Corsicans seem to be driving more sedarely than when we were last there 10 years ago)
Easy walk to the main harbour where there are several bars and restaurants and a more energetic awalk up the hill to the town centre.

  • Liked — lLocation
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank malcolm thornlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2006

A stunning location with breathtaing views from our balcony, this hotel at first sight ticked all the boxes.

Their 'inclusive' rate disappoints badly. The food from the 'table d'hote' appears to be prepared to a tight budget with small low cost portions.

After a disappointing first evening we chose to eat a la carte, where the choice and quality was much improved. We did speculate the 'table d'hote' was engineered to ensure this result.

The breakfast service was surly and it was an effort for staff to bring out food and coffee if you had the temerity to arrive close to the cut off time. Other guests had the same experience.

Rooms are not air conditioned although a good quality fan was provided. In our view, sadly, a 3 star location with 2 star service.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank Whittrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto-Vecchio
0.8 km away
Hotel Costa Salina
Hotel Costa Salina
#1 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Mariosa
Hotel Mariosa
#2 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.9 km away
Les Hauts de Porto Vecchio
Les Hauts de Porto Vecchio
#16 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel Le Roi Theodore
Hotel Le Roi Theodore
#4 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
20.2 km away
Hotel U Capu Biancu
Hotel U Capu Biancu
#3 of 20 in Bonifacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Marina Corsica
Hotel Marina Corsica
#12 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Goeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Goeland

Property: Hotel le Goeland
Address: avenue Georges Pompidou, 20137, Porto-Vecchio, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Porto-Vecchio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Goeland 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just above the sea, few steps from the marina and Porto-Vecchio's citadel, surrounded with pine trees, eucalyptus, oleanders and palm trees, with a private beach and a private marina : Le Goéland Hotel - La Casa Santini with its own restaurant.House of the Sun, house of the sea, a genuine welcome tradition for a like home spirit, enhanced by Jean-Marc and his team... Refinement and simplicity.Already feels like you want to come back... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel le Goeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Goeland Hotel
Hotel Le Goeland Porto-Vecchio, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing