We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIdn't suit us”
Review of Hotel Hermitage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hermitage
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poggio a Caiano
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We chose the hotel because we didn't want to be in the centre of florence and wanted to be able to visit other places like Pisa and Luca. We were a family of four and had two rooms next to each other. Ther was really nowhere in the hotel for us to sit together in an evening and chat and play cards. we could not all sit in one rool- there wasn't the space.
Breakfast was Ok, but had a rather limited selection of food, compared to teh other places in Italy that we stayed ont his trip.
The staff were professional, but rather distant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann_thescan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. i chose it because of the good reviews. cleanliness is very important for us. i was extremely disappointed in this hotel. we paid a discounted price of 71 euros for a double room but the room wasn't worth 71 euros at all. the room was very dirty. there was even a piece of apple on the floor. hair everywhere and it was very full of dust. i had to wipe of the dust from the tables and wipe the light and lamp switches. the bathroom was a nightmare! the toilet is sooooooooo old, it's not even white anymore. it was color yellow! the exhaust fan in the bathroom is unbelievably loud. this hotel definitely needs to be renovated and the house keeping should clean properly. i just don't know if we were given an old room. there's a part in the hotel with newer doors and i don't know if those rooms are renovated and maybe most got those rooms that's why most reviews are positive. but i have to say that my friend who also stayed there said that the taxi driver she had said that this is a good choice of hotel.
positive things about the hotel are friendly and helpful staff, free parking, nice swimming pool.
unfortunately though, those positive points are not enough for us to want to go back to that hotel. :-(

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reisender101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We recently spent 3 nights at the Hermitage hotel, using it as a base to visit Florence. We were very impressed and would definitely recommend it. We had 2 very comfortable adjoining rooms for 2 adults and 2 children, which cost €90 per night including breakfast. There is a lovely pool, and it is possible to eat locally and have some authentic Tuscan food (just ask the hotel for recommendations). There is a regular bus to Florence, and the stop is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. It cost € 2 per adult (one-way) , and runs frequently throughout the day. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and we had a very memorable short-stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEAPGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

This is a perfect italian hotel. Understated in the decor of bedrooms, but amply made up for in quality and service and providing value for money that cannot be found in Florence or Prato.

The majority of staff are welcoming, interested and attentive. The restaurant is excelllent. Other reviewers suggest a 'nearby restaurant', we neither found it nor needed it. The hotel's dinner was excellent quality and value.- a glass of excellent wine here is a third of the cost in Prato.

The location is perfect for those who might wish to wander on foot. Moments of walking take you into lovely countryside with an abundance of wildlife, while the town of Poggio has everything you could need.

I hope to find a reason to go back. If you need a good value for money high quality alternative to Florence, or respite before or after business in Prato, look no further.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YVGUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

This hotel is about 45 minutes west of Florence in a very nice residential neighborhood high in the hills. There are olive groves down the road from the hotel. You can actually see the Duomo in Florence in the distance.

The parking was free in a graveled and fenced lot out front. The lobby was spacious with plenty of seating and a flat screen television. The room was very clean and nicely decorated reminding us of a Marriott or Hampton Inn. It had a large bathroom and a lot of closet space.

Breakfast was in a very nice restaurant area wth ample seating and included in the price of the room. The buffet had plenty of croissants, rolls, cereals, yogurt, cheese and lunchmeats, with juices and coffee/tea.

It was nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of the big city. We really enjoyed touring around the area and checking out the church with its Lourdes grotto and olive trees.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clifflef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poggio a Caiano
2.1 km away
Hotel Villa San Michele
Hotel Villa San Michele
#2 of 5 in Carmignano
167 reviews
7.1 km away
Art Hotel Museo
Art Hotel Museo
#2 of 17 in Prato
382 reviews
3.9 km away
Tenuta di Artimino
Tenuta di Artimino
#2 of 2 in Artimino
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Villa Saulina
Villa Saulina
#2 of 3 in Lastra a Signa
357 reviews
6.3 km away
Charme Hotel
Charme Hotel
#9 of 17 in Prato
112 reviews
5.6 km away
Stilhotel
Stilhotel
#1 of 4 in Signa
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage

Address: Via Ginepraia, 112, 59016 Poggio a Caiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Prato > Poggio a Caiano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poggio a Caiano
Price Range: €70 - €98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hermitage 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located in Poggio a Caiano, in a quiet residential area, on a panoramic hill, close to the beautiful Villa Medicea "Ambra", which was erected in 1479 A.D. by order of Lorenzo The Magnificent Ideal both for business and leisure travellers, the hotel lies just 18 Kms from the artistic treasures of Florence; 6 Kms from Prato and 3 Kms from its industrial district Macrolotto; 16 Kms from Pistoia and its tree nursery district; 12 Kms from Quarrata (renowned for the production of furniture).Moreover, it lies within short driving distance from Carmignano, the medieval village of Artimino and some of the best wineries and olive oil producers in the Montalbano region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hermitage Prato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing