We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sydspissen Hotel(Troms)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Enter Viking Hotel(Tromso)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$142
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Smarthotel Tromso(Tromso)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso(Tromso)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$87
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Enter City Hotel(Tromso)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Thon Hotel Tromso(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Scandic Grand Tromso(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$161
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$134
US$125
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
105
91
21
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
91
21
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorthern lightsmeeting facilitieswhale watchingmiso soupself cateringhot tubhalibutbucket lista nice place to staystayed one nighta wonderful stayhotel roomthree nightsexcellent breakfastremote locationlovely sceneryevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Really pleased with the Sommaroy Artic Hotel. Staff always very accommodating and willing to help. Food tasty. Views spectacular.
We stayed in their apartments which was perfect for our family.
Local Northern Lights tour departs from reception every evening and it’s worth doing...warm hut and warm drinks were very welcome.
Overall a pleasant experience for our family of 4

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank LeinsterFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
24
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

We had the most special time. We had a symbolic ceremony in the beautiful glass house on the hotel grounds with stunning scenery behind. We were made to feel very special throughout our stay. We had lovely truffles and fruit in our room.

We also had a photo shoot at the local reindeer farm, this was just the best experience. The snow was falling and the reindeer were just beautiful.

To finish our stay we went out on a boat with Kettle to see the orcas. We saw 3! Amazing.

Thank you to everyone at the hotel. You made our time very special. We will hold very fond memories of this for ever.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gøran M, other at Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thank you so much for choosing Sommaroy for your wedding! We are so happy for you and you are always welcome back.

Goran M / Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Stayed in one of the fisherman's lodges rather in the hotel so my comments are reflective of those facilities - the bits of the hotel we did see looked nice.

The lodge was nice but basic but had an exceptional view of the sea inlet and we saw the northern lights from the lodge as well.

Walking between the lodges and the hotel (for meals) was a bit risky as the roads were sheer ice for the first day. Yes i know its Norway but they did put some grit down part way through our stay which allowed us to walk with no problems.

Has a lovely gym and indoor sauna. The outdoor sauna looked a little 'rustic'.

We didn't have any guides or info in the lodge so were a little unaware of what the hotel offered unless we specifically asked.

The breakfast was 8.30(?)-10.30am. We (and lots of others) went at 10am only to find little choice and most food had run out (no coffee as well). We asked the waitress who told us there was only 30 mins left and something about food cost. A quick word with the manager and some more food arrived - not really what you expect to have to do. I can understand if you turn up at 1030am but not 30 mins before.

Can highly recommend the northern lights trip and the whale trip as well which were organized by the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gøran M, other at Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Hi and thanks for visiting Sommaroy!

We are sorry for the trouble walking between the sea houses and the hotel. This winter has been really challenging weather, with lots of ice at the road. We will also review our routines and breakfast should have all the selections until closing, we are sorry that we dont delivered at this point.

All our activities are here https://www.sommaroy.no/en/experiences/ and we could always improve our offers, also at the front desk.

All in all - hope you had a great time i Norway.

Goran M / Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

What makes this hotel unique is the location. One hour driving from Tromso and you can find this quite place. We were there just 3 nights, and sure that we will repeat. This place is special and also if the weather is good you can see the northern ligths from the window of your room.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank olgaolguis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

We didn't stay at this hotel but had lunch here. The restaurant is right off the lobby of the hotel. You can eat your food on the deck at the back of the hotel which has picnic table boothes overlooking a scenic lake. Menu was a little small. Food was decent. There didn't seem to be much in the town, but the area was scenic and the hotel looked clean and inviting.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank angeleyes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews