We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
193
189
46
12
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
189
46
12
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location street noise inside the city walls pay lot included breakfast room was spacious quaint hotel would stay here again ancient city visit volterra desk staff good sized rooms highly recommend this hotel well run hotel free parking hill town close to the hotel
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed in Volterra and Hotel La Locanda in July and we were so impressed with the service and hospitality! Unfortunately I forgot his name but the young man at the front desk was exceptional!

The room was spacious and the bathroom was a great size. It was a little hard for my husband to figure out the shower but all in all we don’t really have any complaints. We would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bayla06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaVolterra, Receptionist at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Dear Bayla06, what a nice review! It was a pleasure having you here as our guests, and we are incredibly happy that you appreciated so much the hospitality from the front desk. Thank you so much on a personal note for your kind words! We are also really glad that you appreciated the size of the room and the bathroom. If you decide to visit Volterra once more in the future we would be delighted to have you here again as our guests. Thank you! Best wishes – Matteo B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Right inside city gate, hence easy to park nearby and check-in/out, this small, well-run hotel in a restored palazzo is clean, comfortable with good-sized rooms. The staff is very very helpful and eager to please. Nice, well-rounded breakfast. Great location for exploring this incredible, ancient city.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Grey1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaVolterra, Receptionist at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Grey1000, thank you for this great review on La Locanda! We are glad that you appreciated your stay in our hotel, from the helpfulness of the staff to the position and breakfast, and we will work even harder in the future to further improve our offer. We would love to have you here again as our guest in the future. Thank you again! Best regards – Matteo B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Cosy hotel, very clean and lovely staff. Well located and close to parking. Possibly the best hotel in the area. Will definitely consider again for future trips to Volterra. Surrounded with great restaurants. What's more to ask for?it's great.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mlt_trvlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaVolterra, Receptionist at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear mlt_trvlz, thank you so much for such a wonderful feedback! We are incredibly glad that you appreciated so much the Hotel, from the cleanliness to the staff and the central location, and we really hope that you will decide to stay with us again in the future if you ever return to our wonderful city. Thank you again! All the best – Matteo B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

We enjoyed our two night stay at Hotel La Locanda, a small hotel located in the heart of Volterra! Our room and bathroom were large with lots of storage areas. The hotel is tucked away on a main walking area and you hear the hustle and bustle of this medieval town as it wakes in the morning - for us, this added to the ambiance. The room and bathroom were very clean and well kept. The staff was friendly and helpful with questions. We especially enjoyed the breakfast spread, an assortment of meats, cheeses, sweets and cappuccino. The hotel is located close to shops, historical places and restaurants, I would highly recommend this hotel and plan to stay there if we are lucky enough to go back to Volterra!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaVolterra, Receptionist at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Lisa, wow! What a great review! Thank you so much from all the staff at La Locanda for your wonderful words. We were incredibly happy to have you here, and we really hope that you will decide to be our guest again in the future. All the best – Matteo B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at La Locanda. We were warmly received and oriented by Matteo at the front desk. Our suite was spacious, clean, and comfortable, with plenty of amenities. Personable service by Tamia at their very nice, included breakfast. Location is convenient at one end of the main street.

Thanks to Oksana who was particularly nice and helpful by email with some changes in my reservation.

I did drive through town (limited traffic zone but permitted with a hotel reservation) to get to the hotel. This was stressful because I was driving a rented car with manual transmission. Would have been better to drive (outside of the limited zone) to the parking lot just outside the Fiorentina Gate, 20 yards from the hotel entrance, to drop off luggage.

Volterra was a highlight of our 2 weeks in Italy. Authentic, relaxed, full of history, beauty, and nice people.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank DavidEmmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocandaVolterra, Receptionist at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear David, thank you so much for such a wonderful review! It was incredibly nice having you here as our guest and being a part of the beautiful experience you had in Volterra and in Italy. All the staff thanks you dearly for your very kind and much appreciated words! We also took note of your suggestion and we will better highlight the possibility to directly arrive to the metered parking lot just 20 meters from La Locanda, outside the city gates, instead of crossing the city to drop the luggages right in front of the hotel. Hoping to see you again in the future here in Volterra, we wish you and Emily all the best. With warm regards – Matteo B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews