We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of weird and hospital like (BRING YOUR OWN TOWEL)”
Review of Terme dei Papi

Terme dei Papi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

This was an odd experience.
As Danish Nationals our understanding of the Italian language isn't perfect so naturally some of the communication was a little of. This of course complicated things a bit but that wasn't all. All through the day we felt a bit confused with the personnel half guiding half correction our actions. But there where no guidelines put forth so how was we surpose to know where the second changing room was located.
The place is build so that you have to go through the entrance hall in your bathing suit to get from the thermal pool to the other treatments.
You can't rent towels so we had to buy them. The price wasn't too far off but now we have to figure out whether or not to prioritize packing two giant orange bath towels when we go home or just accept the loss of 50 €.
A cleaning lady actually tried to make us buy slippers (60 € a pair) telling us it was mandatory. But the staff in shop and the girl behind the counter dismissed that though.
When we where done our skin was soft and our shoulders was relaxed but our minds felt tense after what felt like a spa labyrinth.

1  Thank clarojay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terme dei Papi H, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Terme dei Papi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear Customer, thank you for visiting our Thermal Spa.
We are sorry to know that you have not been satisfied during your experience.
Our reception staff, who speak at least 3 languages (including English), usually receives many praises for its courtesy and professionalism.
Our Thermal Spa is very large (offers about 100 thermal services) but Department Staff is ready to welcome Guests, explaining them how to make treatments.
On our website and social media, we indicate to bring the kit spa with you. In fact, inside the Center, there is only a shop where you can buy bathrobe (€39) and slippers (€6 a pair).
Hoping to have given more information and waiting to have you again as our Customers,
We wish you a pleasant day.
Best Regards,
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bring your own"
in 8 reviews
"hot water"
in 5 reviews
"deep end"
in 3 reviews
"few hours"
in 3 reviews
"shuttle bus"
in 2 reviews
"noodles"
in 2 reviews
"nice morning"
in 2 reviews
"spa services"
in 2 reviews
"an hour and a half"
in 2 reviews
"flip flops"
in 2 reviews
"massage"
in 6 reviews
"slippers"
in 7 reviews
"skin"
in 7 reviews
"pool"
in 31 reviews
"lockers"
in 7 reviews
"euro"
in 9 reviews
"terme"
in 9 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

We went on the weekend for the use of the pool at night. I was shocked to learn on arrival that they don’t rent out dressing gowns, towels or anything? So make sure you take everything you need with you.

1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terme dei Papi H, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Terme dei Papi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear Customer, we are sorry for the incident.
In every our communication (by web site, by social and by phone), we are usually reminded to our Customer to bring swimsuit, slippers and bathrobes. Inside the Thermal Center, in fact, there is only a shop where you can buy the necessary.
Hoping to have you soon as our welcome Customers, we cordially greet you.
Best regards,
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

Terme Dei Papi was a dream! There was a serious language barrier between us and the spa staff (we speak English and very little Italian) so that was difficult but it doesn't even matter because of how AMAZING the natural grotto was and the pool outside. The scenery was beautiful, and I've never felt so relaxed! The shuttle was a little difficult to find, as there is no sign and it is a private bus (so the ticket sales offices don't sell the tickets, you pay when you get to the spa)
***The bus stop is not where the regular busses pull up. If you walk OUT of tiburtina station toward the other bus stops and turn RIGHT, and go past a small reddish bathroom building, it stops at the end of the sidewalk there!!**
But the spa made up for all of it!! One of the highlights of my trip. Recommend leaving at 8:30am and leaving at 6:00 because I could've spent ALL day there! Plus it takes some time to get your package, and be OK'd by the doctor to enter the grotto.

Thank Arielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terme dei Papi H, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Terme dei Papi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Customer, thank you for reviewing and for visiting us.
As you told, the natural Grotto and the outside monumental pool are special thermal treatments with enormous therapeutic and relaxing benefits.
We are happy to know that you have spent a wonderful and relaxing day in our thermal station and we are waiting to have you soon as our welcome customer.
Best regards,
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Lovely big warm pool of thermal mineral water set within a spa complex offering a huge range of treatments. We didn’t have time to try any of these but we wallowed and swam in the pool for ages. It goes from very shallow to quite deep so something for everyone. Excellent changing facilities and ( for extra money) sunbeds outside. Staff helpful and friendly. Busy and popular but quite expensive at 12E.

Thank ScotlandEartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terme dei Papi H, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Terme dei Papi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing our thermal center.
we are glad to know that you spent a nice day with us, swimming and relaxing in our Monumental Thermal Pool.
We will be happy to welcome you again in our Thermal Center to try one of our daily wellness packages, in order to know the other extraordinary thermal treatments.
Thank you for visiting us and we hope to welcome you again.
Sincerely,
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Rome and arrived at the Tirbina bus station to catch the 8 euro (return) shuttle directly to the pool. Left 830 arrived at 1015. Went into the lovely pools (not natural surroundings, this is a spa) and soaked in the heat. Had to leave at 1.15pm for 6om,with a 1.5 hour return journey. Suggest you bring food as food average there and $. It says you need a bathrobe and slippers; we had towels and thongs and that was fine. Water was lovely. Had a great time but I wish the shuttle was at 3, 1om was too early and 6pm too late.

Thank Katrina3198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terme dei Papi H, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Terme dei Papi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing our thermal center.
We are happy to know that you have been satisfied by our Spa and Monumental Thermal Pool. Thank you for your suggestions on the departure times of our shuttle bus.
We will be happy to consider your suggestions.
Thank you for visiting us and we hope to welcome you again.
Sincerely,
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terme dei Papi also viewed

Viterbo, Province of Viterbo
Viterbo, Province of Viterbo
 
Viterbo, Province of Viterbo
Viterbo, Province of Viterbo
 

Been to Terme dei Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing