We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
89
98
20
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
98
20
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are clean main promenade good size night stay first floor railway station pisa airport across the road beach florence bike
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Viareggio is an Italian seaside town and if you want to be close to the beach you won't find a hotel in a better location because the beach is just across the road/promenade. Also the hotel is about 5/10 minutes walk along the promenade from the harbour and about 15 minutes walk from the train station. It is really easy to catch a train to Pisa & Lucca (about 20 minutes away) and Florence (about 1.5 hours away). I recommend buying train tickets the day before you want to travel so you don't have to queue for tickets when the train is just arriving! The hotel is very clean, and the breakfasts good. Breakfast can be eaten either inside or, if the weather is good, at one of the outside courtyard tables. There are a few books you can borrow to read and we liked reading on the first floor 'patio' area which is very quiet. The small bar area is comfortable, light and pleasant and the staff are very friendly and helpful. One of the best bits about Viareggio is the promenade which seems to go on forever, with lots of good restaurants and a number of 'designer type' shops. The only minor thing we didn't like in the hotel was the taste of the 'ready made' coffee at breakfast but this was easily solved by asking for a cappuccino, which is made fresh if you ask for it. If you want to go onto the beach you will need to be aware that the separated beaches are all 'private' so you have to pay a small sum to use couple of chairs and a beach umbrella. The hotel can help with discount at one of them but there are some other quite upmarket beaches which offer a swimming pool and other facilities if you don't want to swim in the sea. One final tip, be aware if you ordering fish/lobster in the local restaurants that the fish come complete with head, tail and bones and the lobster will still be in its shell so you will need to use the loads of 'implements' to get at the meat - we watched one lady using 'pliers' to break the shell and skewers to drag out the meat which took ages and I don't think the amount of meat was worth the effort.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Excellent location, to the beach 50 meters, near shops, cafes, bars, bus station, to the railway station 10-15 minutes walk. A good partner beach with an excellent restaurant. Polite staff, always ready to help. Breakfast varied. The rooms are clean and quiet, everything works. From my room I had a great view of the sea. With pleasure again stay in this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms with view of the sea
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Veronika869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We definitely recommend it..! Excellent room (a simple one on the ground floor), amazing breakfast, best location, memorable service. We spent a night without a booking before and we got a high quality service no matters if we got a special offer for lower price! All the crew was ready to help us at any time with a smile on their face!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank YiotouB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

A great choice of hotel and a good price. Easy access to everything about a 15 minute walk to the train station for Lucca etc. Our room was at the back with views of the hills so no noise. There is a sitting out or sunbathing area here as well. the staff at breakfast were exceptionally nice even though they struggled with English sometime but just loved having a go. The breakfast was outstanding, plenty of food for all tastes. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank glowworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a week with my mother and brother. We stayed here about 40 years ago and very little has changed. We had a twin room, air conditioning, decent sized bathroom with shower ( a little bit on the small size) toilet, bidet and basin. Our room looked on to the courtyard used for breakfast and on several mornings were woken by the sound of workers talking whilst either getting the tables ready or cleaning.
Breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs and bacon, choice of 3 different cereals, eggs for boiling in a little machine, bread for toasting,various fruit juices, cold meats and cheese, yoghurt, croissants and brioche and a selection of around 5 different cakes. Hot water for tea making or the waitress would make any type of coffee.
The owner was on the desk most days and was very helpful. There are 2 lounges both with tv's and one at the front of the hotel gas a bar.
Situated opposite the beach and promenade and approximately 30 minutes walk to the railway station.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank smokeyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews