We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Palace Hotel(Viareggio)
Book now, pay at stay
US$290
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Casa Arsella(Viareggio)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Marchionni(Viareggio)
US$142
US$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Sina Astor(Viareggio)
US$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Hotel Tirrenia(Viareggio)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$163
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$264
US$250
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Hotel President(Viareggio)
US$246
US$228
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$462
US$379
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Hotel Vittoria(Viareggio)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$164
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$628
US$598
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
29
57
26
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
57
26
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2017

We recently stayed in this hotel for a couple nights and had a very good experience there. The staff was very friendly and helpful and they spoke very good English. The rooms were comfortable and clean and quiet. We rarely heard sound in the halls or other rooms. The breakfast was adequate and again the service was great. There was no parking at the hotel, however the stadium was right around the corner so we didn't have any problems at all finding a place to park. The location was about a 15 minute walk from the beach. The elevator was very tiny and slow, but in the great scheme of things, it didn't matter. We were just happy they had an elevator! We happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2015

I stayed at the spinelli Hotel a couple of times. It location is very close to the port.
The hotel is simple and the rooms are nothing special but the price and the location are very good. The lady at the front desk is also very helpful

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

Sure, the beds and pillows could be softer. Overall I enjoy it here. Close to the boatyards and close to the main strip of food and shops. The Hotel is very clean, and the wifi works in my room contrary to what others say it just being in the Lobby. I do believe they charge you for every device you want on wifi except your first.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
Thank JaredJennings04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

the beds are like sleeping on the ground....rock hard...likewise the pillows.....the shower is fine for a child but next to useless for a full grown man....the staff is ok but not overly helpful....no lift so if you have heavy luggage you are out of luck...if you are older or have mobility problems this isn't for you....it is close to the marina and the waterfront. other than that not much to recommend it..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bilgerot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My boyfriend and I have just come back from a weeks stay at Hotel Spinelli. We must admit that when we first arrived we were a little disappointed - the hotel is down the back streets and rather small (do not be swayed by the professional photographs!) We checked into our room and quickly saw that it was basic - no luxuries in sight. We thought we were getting 1 queen bed but discovered two singles pushed together. No balcony, a depressing view of a wall and a small bathroom. However, we knew that we were not going to be spending long in the room and it was just a place to sleep and get ready.

The positive side of Hotel Spinelli is that it is very clean (rooms cleaned and towels changed daily) and the staff are lovely. We found all members of staff to be extremely helpful; they advised us on some day trips out - I would highly recommend a visit to Luca - as well as having a good general knoweldge of the area and restaurants to visit.

The beach is a good 20 minute walk away which is a struggle in the heat. We saw a lot of people on bicycles and on the second day hired 2 bikes from the hotel at 24 euros for the week (bargain!) We could not have made a better choice as it cuts down travel time enormously. The train station was also a good 20/30 min walk away and if you are planning a visit into Pisa or Luca (both 15mins on the train) then leaving your bike outside is a good option.

Make sure to buy tickets for the beach at the hotel in advance - it is 20euros for 2 beds and an umbrella. Without a ticket I imagine the price to double. The beach is very clean with good facilities, the only down side would be beach sellers coming up to you ever 10mins trying to get you to buy some fake bags/sun glasses/shoes etc... There really is only so many times you can say no thank you!

The promenade is pleasent and a nice 10min walk from the hotel through the marina. There are many places to eat along here and all fairly priced. There are also shops, bars and ice cream parlours. I would recommend Laltrolato - a 2min walk from the hotel and exceptional food.

We did have a lovely time in Viareggio - it's not as pretty as some parts of Italy such as the Amalfi Coast but it does have it's charms. Hotel Spinelli is a nice, small hotel that suits people who just need a base and are not looking for 5* luxury.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have a balcony and the views are all of the road/buildings oppostie so I honestly don't think it matters which room you choose.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews