We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
83
103
39
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
103
39
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable beds top floor the hotel staff small room hotel is located perfect location train station beach balcony cheese
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the San Francisco mid-April. We were travelling as a couple and the purpose of our trip was a romantic weekend break. Prior to our visit, we had read that the hotel could be noisy so we emailed ahead of time to request a quiet room. As a result, our room was on the top floor and situated at the side of the building. It was quiet which suited us. The hotel was clean and decorated in a low-key style. The room had everything we needed, including a mini-fridge, a clean bathroom with walk in shower, a safety deposit box, comfortable beds. Breakfast was a good selection of cereals, meats, cheeses, breads and pastries. No fruit though. Coffee was excellent.
There was free wifi which worked reasonably well though the process for obtaining the code was slightly convoluted. The hotel is well located on the sea front so it’s easy to walk on the promenade to see the beach & visit other restaurants, as well as walking to Viareggio train station to get trains to Pisa, Luca and Firenze etc.
The staff were welcoming and pleasant and overall this was a comfortable, low-key, unpretentious base from which to explore Viareggio.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank sheoirse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

The pictures on the site hint at the style of the property, but I wasn't quite expecting as much 'glamour' and Americanism (yes I know its called the San Francisco!). The lift is faux-gold, there was a fake pillar in the room, and mirrors everywhere, including on all of the hotel room doors. The shower spat water out at about 100 different angles, but it was definitely powerful.

Being on 'the strip' there was quite a bit of noise from the street and bars. Also the walls between the rooms are pretty thin, so you know what time everyone is getting in and who's talking to who.

The main selling point of the hotel is definitely the location. Next door to The Grand Hotel, almost opposite the trendy Fanatiko bar, and obviously if you have a West facing room, great sea views. That said the hotel staff were very friendly and keen to offer recommendations and advice.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank saint_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Fine location and close to the beach. (FYI: The closest beach charges 30 euro for an umbrella and two beds, it's a long walk to the free beach).

Breakfast was good and the staff friendly. But... No noise reduction from connecting rooms, hall or outside. When the troubadour gets going outside, it's like a live concert in your room. However, it's sort of charming.

The beds are hard (which was ok), but the pillows gave no support at all. Our room was worn down and not well maintained unfortunately. The shower was almost impossible to get clean in, as it sprayed water anywhere but down. Signs of mould was found in the shower. The ceiling was cracked and the wall paintings came off the wall due to humidity.

There is an air conditioner in the room, but it's either off, too low or full on snowstorm. We would get up in the middle of the night turning it off.

Minibar in the room that you can use for own bottles.

We would not stay at this hotel again as we think we could do better for less - but please note that all of our complaints are due to our room. We might have been out of luck with the room we were given.

If this hotel was renovated, it would be a super place to stay.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Minnie2015M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

With a lot of competition on the main strip you are spoilt for choice in viareggio. We had been recommended this hotel and had a really positive experience with some very friendly and helpful staff. Located at lamppost 25 its location was also on the middle of everything we needed

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

In this hotel we have found clean and spacious rooms, friendly and proffesional staff and an excellent location,close to sea, shops and restaurants. The room had a superb view on the sea. The hotel is strongly recommeded.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Max F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews