We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
164
147
40
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
147
40
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop terrace la pace special dietary requirements group booking excellent job breakfast was amazing breakfast staff cakes fresh fruit walk in shower memorable stay early september the staff were extremely helpful stay at this hotel again seven nights old fashioned charm hot and cold food
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2018

Not a massive hotel but manages to give you a feeling of 'grandness'.

Chandeliers, statues, ornate features all say we are not to be messed with, no new-fangled modernism here, and all the better for it.

I noted several TA contributors downgraded it a little because of service problems, I have to say it was faultless during our stay, right from the chap who was obviously the senior, right down to the cleaners and servers. All most helpful, and English spoken.

We were upgraded, without us requesting, to a Terrace Room. It was large, excellent furniture and decoration, again all in classic elegant style.

Very nice breakfast, always hot food, plus large selection of cold items, fruit, cereals etc. Very good.

The roof-top terrace bar is lovely, views over the coast. A G&T cost 9 euros, not a lot more than anywhere else and served very nicely with huge tray of nibbles (cheese, roast corn, olives, crisps, some kind of dough- sticks).

Excellent location on the sea-front. Although if you arrive by train it is a fair walk from the station.

There again, buses run right outside. (Nearest stop is outside the Grand Hotel - 200 metres). . The E25 will take you right by the Leaning Tower at Pisa, it then goes on to the airport and beyond. Very handy, and it ran pretty well to schedule.. Another bus goes to Lucca.

If we returned to Viareggio we would stay here.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

Spent 4 nights here whilst seeing the sights in Italy.We arrived late as a party of 45,tired and hungry, (they knew what time we were arriving).We waited an hour between courses,the soup was cold,the plates were cold,the food was like nursing home food,tiny portions of mush tbh.The staff very nice but totally overwhelmed and not enough of them.The house red wine was £10 euros a bottle which I thought was exceptional value for a 4 star hotel.Our room was lovely,nice old fashioned furniture and very comfy beds.The dining room is very pretty with lovely mirrors and chandeliers.Its just a pity the food lets it down.The position of the hotel is on the front of Viareggio and the entrance is at the side.A warning if youre a light sleeper,take ear plugs as the bin men are out and about between 2 and 4 in the morning.An enjoyable stay as a base but I wouldnt stay here again as the food was cold and the noise levels too high for us

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank bettybetty54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

My friend and I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights recently and I just loved it. We had a lovely room, the breakfast was exceptional with a huge choice, even hot dishes. Staff were very pleasant and helpful particularly Jean Luca at reception. I would highly recommend it. The rooftop bar was fabulous.

Room tip: Try to get a room with a sea view and balcony
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank maryacburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Just back from a week at the Palace Hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast at the hotel was probably one of the best I have seen with a huge choice of foods/fruits/cakes/hot and cold food. The catering staff were always very polite and helpful. The location in Viareggio was great as there is a train station in the town if you don't have a car and can get around Tuscany easily. Viareggio has a mixture of medium-high end restaurants along one stretch of the promenade and slightly less expensive restaurants down the other end. Either way, we found enough to eat.

Room tip: Sea view with Balcony is lovely
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peg45London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

honestly, I was impressed with every aspect of this hotel, the atmosphere, the staff, the location, the rooms and especially the breakfast. We had a sea front room with a balcony, and I enjoyed hours watching the insane driving and parking of the locals, highly recommended. The bar on the rooftop terrace was excellent, a great place to unwind after a hectic day of swimming in the Med and eating pizza and ice cream (obvs not at the same time). Beach towels are free when hiring a parasol and loungers, and the private beach area is 30 yards or so across the road. Plenty of bars and eateries around. The train station is about 10 minutes walk away and trips to Pisa and Lucca are recommended. One of the best holiday destinations I have ever visited, and one of the best hotels too

Room tip: sea view with balcony
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoadEnder65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews