We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sina Astor(Viareggio)
US$321
US$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Marchionni(Viareggio)
US$142
US$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel President(Viareggio)
US$246
US$225
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tirrenia(Viareggio)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$264
US$250
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Vittoria(Viareggio)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel London(Viareggio)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$203
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$193
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$271/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$628
US$598
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
155
139
37
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
139
37
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracela pacebreakfast was amazingspecial dietary requirementsgroup bookingbreakfast stafffresh fruitcakeswalk in showermemorable stayearly septemberstay at this hotel againseven nightsone night staypublic roomswithout exceptionhigh ceilings
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We came to this Hotel through Citalia , having just left Florence for 3 nights in a small room so not quite sure what to expect. 2 weeks before we were due to leave my wife fracture a bone in her foot, so with one foot in a boot and one crutch we approached the reception to book in, immediately the guy behind the desk took a look at my wife and said I am going to upgrade you as you need more room, wow what a room, Ok there was no Balcony it was 4 feet from the lift, the new bathroom could have had a single bed in it and our room could have had another double in there. We were so pleased and really enjoyed our stay considering my wife could only manage about 20 minutes walking we found loads of good restaurants nearby and she had no problem walking to the Beech. So a big thank you to all the helpful staff and the wonderful breakfasts. The roof top cocktail lounge area if fantastic and the service is brilliant.

Room Tip: Best rooms are front and side of Hotel if you want a balcony costs extra
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goodbeerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 9 nights in late August, early September. He had visited 13 years previously and had very happy memories of the hotel. I wasn't disappointed and loved both The Palace and Viareggio. Our room, complete with a sea view balcony, was large, very clean and with plenty of storage space. Breakfast is extensive and staff are fabulous; special mention to Julia on the roof terrace, the superb breakfast ladies and of course, the gorgeous reception team.
The beach is easy to arrange with reception and we thoroughly recommend the lunch of local beer, wine and food served at La Pace on the beach side. There are endless choices of restaurant to eat in the evening.
On a stormy Saturday we went to Lucca by train. The shopping is far better and more varied than Viareggio and we had a fabulous lunch in the amphitheatre. That night we all gathered on the roof terrace of the Palace and watched the storm over Viareggio. It was spectacular.
Hopefully we will return next year, by train as we always do.....try it....a few nights in Paris and Viareggio via Switzerland and Milan. You don't enjoy lunch looking at the Swiss scenery when you're 50,000 feet+ above the ground.
Palace Hotel we ❤️ you.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JoJo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Room with a sea view, 2 minutes from the beach, very comfortable, breakfast was excellent, the roof terrace an excellent place to sunbathe, enjoy the view and make use of the bar. Great location within easy reach of all the shops and resuraunts.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony and sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank harry_the_spider49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We stayed 4 nights - I am going to be honest, the hotel has seen better days. Decor very tired. Our room was not great - we asked for a quite room which we got. However, the standard of the room was poor. Air con very noisy; bathroom tiles were a disgrace covered in mildew - will add some photos. It was clean otherwise Imwould have complained. The shower was good and the bed was comfortable.
The net curtains in room had stains on them - surely this could have been cleaned off? It looked terrible. Picture attached.
The staff are helpful.
The breakfast staff are brilliant as is the breakfast.
Roof terrace is good.
We booked directly with hotel as it was cheaper than booking.com - we emailed the hotel a couple of times before we arrived but got no repsonse from then. Pretty poor.
There are nicer hotels in Viareggio ( we have stayed in them ) this one really is not worth the money. We expected better for the amount they charge. Sorry but I think its important to be honest in these reviews.

Room Tip: The standard rooms seem poor value for money.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ScottishSuz1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

This was my second stay in Viareggio as it's an excellent place if you want a beach, a small but busy town and key transport links to some of Italy's best cities and sights. The railway station is a 15 minute walk from which you can easily access Pisa, Florence, Milan, Genoa, Cinque Terre etc. Pisa airport is about a 30 minute train ride.
During my previous visit I stayed at the Grand Hotel Royal, but wanted a change. The Palace Hotel is different in that it is less formal, smaller and has a lovely roof terrace bar to enjoy a drink while watching the sunset instead of a swimming pool.
We were upgraded on arrival to a sea facing room with a small balcony with two chairs so you can watch the busy seafront of an evening.
The room had plenty of wardrobe space, two firm beds, tv, bureau, two chairs and a fridge which was topped up with free bottles of water daily which is much more useful than a mini bar.
The bathroom had been refurbished and was lovely with a rainforest shower head, a massive well-lit mirror, shaving points and a hairdryer and a set of scales so you can see how much weight you have put on eating your way around Italy.
Despite facing the road the room had effective double glazing and a roll down shutter and we slept very well.
Breakfast was served from 7.30am to 10.30am and was very, very good with scrambled and boiled eggs and some bacon and sausages, and a large array of fruit, yoghurt, breads, cakes, cheeses, tomatoes, honey, juice, waters and a variety of milk from cows to soya. You ordered tea and coffee from the staff so the coffee was decent Italian coffee and not vending machine coffee. The tea was a variety of Twinings tea bags for those who like a good English cup of tea.
We took a half-board deal at the hotel as Sterling was weak against the Euro and it proved to be excellent value and the food and service excellent. There were four courses, a salad buffet, pasta course, main and dessert. There were meat, fish and vegetarian options for each course. As with any Italian hotel you can order wine and have it corked for the following evening.
We were delighted with the quality of the food.
There is a beach and swimming pool opposite to use. We had a deal where we received a parasol and two deck chairs. Collect a ticket from the hotel reception with two towels and present it at the beach. We ate at the cafe at the beach and shared a pizza, a litre of water, half a bottle of red wine and two bottles of craft Italian beer for 20 Euros which was a bargain. The cafe was busy and pleasant.
We really liked the Palace hotel, yes it's a little tired in places but the staff are really friendly, knowledgable and helpful and their English is perfect.
If you are looking for quality, value for money and a relaxed atmosphere this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Front room with a balcony
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pressgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews