We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing authentic Italian Food”

Taverna l'Assassino
Ranked #72 of 516 Restaurants in Viareggio
Price range: US$20 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 14 October 2018

I LOVE this little restaurant. Been there many times during my visits to Viareggio and never got disappointed. All freshly made, lots of choice and here you taste the real Tuscany.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Feravdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

Not many places play music in Italy so this is a real gem. Has a cellar feel about it, good service, friendly staff, good food.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We had had a terrible lunch earlier in the day and were a bit down about the experience.

But from the minute we stepped into l'Assassino we felt at home.

Amazing table with a fantastic nautical theme and atmosphere, our waiter couldn't be more helpful. He let me speak my dodgy Italian and even taught me a few new words and the local pronunciation.

He was helpful in suggesting gluten free options and even told us not to order too much because of portion sizes- he could have sold us more but instead help us find exactly what we wanted.

Our meals were tailored to our dietary needs and my Dad who is lactose intolerant was given some dark chocolates for dessert without even asking!

Great champagne and wine menu and friendly staff. Who spoke AMAZING English (way better than my Italian for sure)

We'll be going back for lunch again soon ❤️

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank hannahh500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

The food is very good and the wines' proposal is wonderful.
The quality is very very high and the staff are very capable to suggest you the right combination of food and wine, based on your wishes.
The "Passata di ceci" is very delicious and the cheeses dish is superb.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank albinaepaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We went in first night as we arrived late, it was around midnight and still served food.
Price was fine and food was nice as well.
Was happy with my visit.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank javier j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna l'Assassino also viewed

Viareggio, Province of Lucca
 
Viareggio, Province of Lucca
 
Viareggio, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Taverna l'Assassino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing