We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$78
PricelineUS$78
Hotels.comUS$78
TravelocityUS$78
Agoda.comUS$78
TripadvisorUS$78
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveller rating
246
168
23
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
246
168
23
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cycling trip could not have been more helpful simone segafredo bike
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 447 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2021

We had a great 4-night stay at the Hotel Ungheria on a cycling trip in the Northern Italian lakes area. Our room was spotless, large and comfortable. Simone and his staff went out of their way to treat us like we were royalty. They could not have been more helpful and attentive. If you are a cyclist, take advantage of the large, locked bike room with tools. Breakfasts were excellent, and while there is no nearby spot for dinner, the hotel is right across the street from the bus stop that will take you to the center of Varese.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank M594LVjohng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 August 2020 via mobile

One night stay during COVID. Excellent hotel, very helpful staff. Really comfortable bed, had a great nights sleep. There is parking on site but it’s first come first served and limited. My room had a shower only. I highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank stevebV1360UT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2020

Spent a night at the Hotel Ungheria on our motorcycle trip in July 2020.
Upon arrival we were greeted with kindness from all staff members.
A safe car/motorcycle parking is available behind the hotel. They have a bar / terrace at the front.
Rooms are super clean and tidy, with ample space and good light. Windows have blinds as well. Despite getting rooms overlooking the street, no noise came through the closed windows at night, which made for a good sleep.
The bed is large and comfortable. The room and bathroom are clean and nice.
Breakfast is abundant. Various salads, eggs, bread, jams, ham and all you want, with the usual fresh Italian coffee. Fresh croissants can be ordered the night before.
The staff is super friendly and accommodating.
Overall, this was a great experience and we thank everyone for their great service and kindness.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geri301
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 October 2019

We loved this hotel. We were on a bike tour that included this hotel. It isn't near the center of town, but the bus stop is right across the street, and you can soon be downtown.
The accommodation was above averge; we had a balcony, and a reasonably sized room. Our bicycles were stored in the basement, and the staff washed our bicycle clothing each night for the next day. The best part of our stay was the nutrition-oriented breakfasts (buffet style), attended to meticulously by the owner, his family and staff (eggs & coffee to order).
The hotel made us a lunch to take on the bike ride that included home-made nutritious bars that they promised they would post the recipe for on their website.
When we returned from our bike ride each day, they provided us a post-bike lunch at around 2pm which was quite a spread to cover us until dinnertime.
They front desk was very helpful in arranging transportation (when needed) and provided counseling about local information. Their customer service was exceptional. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LinLan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 October 2019 via mobile

At the checkin we discovered that due to an issue with booking.com 2 rooms were booked instead of one and the credit card was charged twice. Clearly we issued this at booking.com, but we got no support from the hotel staff at all. This people are unfriendly, unwilling, non-empatheticand not customer oriented at all. They keep repeating that this is not their issue and that we should have booked directly at the hotel. We would have gotten a better price and less trouble. Thanks for nothing Ungheria! Btw. all the vegan options at breakfast consist of Almond and Soja milk. No other vegan options. Very frustrating.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BizVeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffHotelUngheria, Receptionist at Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2019

Dear Guest,
First of all, we thank you for having dedicated part of your time, despite not having had a good experience in our hotel.
Even now we are really regretful for the incomprehension about your reservation. We try to explain clearly the situation. We received 2 prepaid reservations, both on your name and for the same period. But nobody (neither Booking.com nor you) informed us that there was a mistake with those. As you said, we discover it at your arrival. We tried to explain you that by booking (with an intermediary ) you have to contact it first. So, obviously, with direct reservation would be easier to solve any problems.
Regarding the observation about the option for vegan breakfast, fresh fruit, almond and soja milk are the products available every morning. We also bake some other fresh products, like croissants or homemade cake/biscuits, when we know that our guest prefer to follow the vegan nutrition. We are really regretful to find out now, by reading your review, that you have this need.
Finally, we are really sorry that you have not appreciated our efforts to meet your need. On the day of your arrival, we waited to welcome you almost until 1:00 a.m (although our reception close from 24:00 until 5:00). And if we were informed in advance, we could have satisfy more your need of vegan breakfast.

We hope that you could have, in the future, another opportunity to try again our hospitality!
Bestr regards,
Ilaria Zanette – Staff Hotel Ungheria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews