We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We hadn't intended staying in Varese, but a car accident left my wife in hospital and me in the hotel for a few nights. The hotel and rooms were spotless, characterful but with modern amenities, the bathroom was very good, beds comfortable, everything worked. I was in an attic room facing the road but the traffic certainly didn't bother me even with the balcony door open. Excellent buffet breakfast with scrambled or boiled eggs if required freshly made, not kept under a heat lamp. The staff were extremely helpful especially as I needed help to arrange getting all our stuff back to England.
As noted in other reviews, looks like excellent cycling country, I hope to go back and try it.

Room Tip: Your choice - the standard rooms are fine or you can pay a bit more for a room at the rear, away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017

We chose this hotel as it is an easy 30-40 minute journey from malpensa airport.
We chose a panoramic room which was huge with a massive balcony with a lake glimpse.
Breakfast was fine with freshly cooked scrambled eggs.
We didn't go into the main town but the area is nothing special and didn't entice us to stay,
That said the welcome was good it was reasonably priced and had a very comfy bed.

Room Tip: Chose room at the back as it does face a busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane13CheshireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

I'm usually a bit skeptical with 'great reviews', but this did not disappoint us. We opted for a panoramic room, as the hotel is on a main road, and this was at the rear with a lake view. We slept with the windows open (even though there is air-con, we prefer to turn it off and enjoy the air) and we slept well. Bed was big and comfortable.

The staff could not have been more helpful with tips and planning (train to Milan only takes an hour, and costs about 6 Euro each way - depends on the service, Express/stopper, but worth doing).
Breakfast is a small but high quality buffet. Scrambled eggs, when you want, are done for you freshly, not the yellow homogenous mass that some hotels will lay on in mounds. Fresh bread, cold meats, local cheeses, fresh fruit and homemade cookies and cake.

I'm hard pressed to find a failure. As a small thing beer in the mini bar would have been nice, although I could get a dring downstairs, and a waste bin in the bedroom as well as the bathroom, but that's scraping the barrel for something.

Varese itself has a nice, small, old town, which is about 20 minutes walk away (as is the rail station). Milan if you want is easy enough by train, so no hassle on the ring road or finding parking.

Room Tip: Panoramic rooms at the back, away from the road side and a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in the two rooms in the attic. The rooms are spacious and clean. While there are two small windows, the room was dark and hot. You can open the window but then, it's noisy by the traffic. The hotel is not located in the town center but you can easily walk to downtown in 15 minutes. Staff is very kind and helpful. Breakfast is excellent especially we loved eggs (boiled, scrambled, fried or omelette - you can order as you like) and fresh fruits and home-made cakes. Two supermarkets and some restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Not recommend the attic in the spring/summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank maruyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We had a panorama room on the third floor which had lovely views and a balcony and was on the quiet side of the hotel (which is on a very busy road).
The staff were brilliant, always happy to help. Bike storage in the garage was easy.
The breakfast was in another level, it has the look of a normal hotel buffet but every component was wonderful. Freshly made cakes and bread, fresh mozzarella and ricotta, good quality meat, locally made jam and honey. Coffee was made to order as were freshly scrambled and boiled eggs. Just the perfect start to a day of cycling.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank LiveaFullLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varese hotels
3.1 km away
Palace Grand Hotel
Palace Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Varese
464 reviews
1 km away
Hotel ibis Styles Varese
2.6 km away
Art Hotel Varese
Art Hotel Varese
#10 of 23 in Varese
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Atahotel Varese
Atahotel Varese
#1 of 23 in Varese
456 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Capolago
Hotel Capolago
#5 of 23 in Varese
400 reviews
4.7 km away
Hotel Ristorante Vecchia Riva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946

Address: Viale Luigi Borri 98, 21100, Varese, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Price Range: €57 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco and Bike Hotel 1 km from the city center, railway stations and a few hundred meters from University and Hospital poles.We are also a few kilometres far from the lake, 25 km from Milan Malpensa airport and 40 km from the Milan Fair, easily accessible from the highway A8.Always sensitive to environmental issues, the hotel decided to be certified by the European Eco-label.Non-smoking rooms equipped with all comforts, air conditioning, internet Wi-Fi, orthopedic and hypoallergenic mattresses, ecological Hotel amenities sets. Terraces overlooking the lake.We offer Residence apartments for all needs.From 7.00 am you will find a rich breakfast, personally supervised by Mrs. Natalina in preparing a delicious buffet with fresh fruit salad and a wide choice of sweet and savoury delights.A "Welcome Card" will be reserved for all the guests to take advantages and discounts at museums, services, shopping centres, sports centers and transports of our territory.Guests will enjoy the city and electric bikes, with many suggestions for their trips and excursions for an environmentally sustainable tourism. They will also find cycling routes for all levels and preparation.A private shuttle service from/to Malpensa airport can be requested at an additional cost. All the best for your stay in Varese with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing