We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
189
228
103
18
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
228
103
18
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake varese old world common areas seen better days free shuttle hill overlooking big park impressive building classical hotel old building stunning views business and pleasure grand old lady loved our stay small pool bygone era extensive buffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

I spend a night at the Palace Grand Hotel in Varese. The very well maintained historical hotel is very nice and the service is absolutely great. We spend a wonderful time at the very nice bar. Marco at the bar did a great job and the fried vegetables were wonderful - thanks for all

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Mathias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgio O, Responsabile reception at Palace Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Matthias, a special thanks from our staff and in particular from our Barman Marco, always ready and willing to meet your every need and every challenge.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the Palace Grand Hotel in Varese, which we would like you to consider as your second home in Italy.
See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

We had a very nice room overlooking the hills and Varese city. The kids (and the adults) loved the small but cosy pool in the garden of the hotel.

The hotel with it's liberty stile still has the charm and elegancy of the past and we were delighted that a room in such an elegant hotel wasn't too expensive for a family like us! The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and we felt at home despite of the size of the hotel.

If you, like us, haven't got a car you can walk down a small pedestrian path to the street beneath the hotel where you can take the bus to Varese city center. Unfortunately the path wasn't that pleasant to walk on especially not for the kids. It really needs a renovation!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Ninacph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

The physical building is very faded, and very old-fashioned, but this is mostly a good hotel. Staff were mostly very friendly and helpful. Check in was speedy and they gave us a room despite checking in very early. The room was big and comfortable, but unfortunately no a/c which would be very bad in the height of the summer. Wifi decent. Breakfast spread reasonably simply (by way of hot food - bacon, tiny sausages and scrambled egg).

The bar appeared to keep very restricted hours. I've never been in a bar with staff milling about so unwilling to serve me. We had to wait til 5pm for a drink on the quite nice patio.

The whole thing needs a spruce up, and a few millions spending on it to make it first class, which it could be.

The hotel is on a hill, so affords very nice views, in our case across to Lake Varese.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank UK_Lab_5105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgio O, Responsabile reception at Palace Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Gentle Guest we always draw from every negative or positive review that our gentle guests leave us. In this last year our quality and consequently the score of your reviews has also risen greatly thanks to your help.
We can assure you our efforts to improve the quality of our services more and more.
Give us confidence, come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

My wife and I stayed 1 night with a prepaid Booking reservation.
Arriving by rental car after a long drive from Aosta, we parked near the front entrance. The English speaking hotel clerk examined our passports, handed us our room key, providing instructions on dinner and the 7 AM breakfast.
We took the elevator to our spacious room #208, finding a comfortable king with large wardrobe, 2 nightstands, desk and chair, refer, TV(CNN & BBC), and table with stool. The large marble and mirrored bathroom was fully equipped with a large tub with a rain shower. Good secure wifi. Tall double insulated wood windows looked south over the patio/landscaped gardens/trees to the city and its lake below.
A large Carrefour Supermarket and cafe are handily positioned just before the street entrance.
This luxury 1913 Art Nouveau hotel(renovated 2005)offers an extensive buffet breakfast, full bar and gourmet restaurant, expansive ballroom, while outdoors are a small pool, tennis, and soccer courts in the spacious grounds. It reminded us of the many classic CN hotels in Canada.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgio O, Responsabile reception at Palace Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Gene, your more than one review is a real commercial on the Palace Grand Hotel in Varese and we are really happy and satisfied with it. we thank you so much.
We therefore hope to welcome you here again in Varese.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Last summer, on our first visit to this truly grand hotel we fell in love with it, so we were eager to return. This July we stayed three nights again in a beautiful, comfortable fifth floor room with a lake view, the same room as last year as it happens! We were delighted to find there is a Krups coffee machine in the room now - last year there was only one in the corridor. Lovely improvement! The shower room is beautiful and spacious too.

The varied and tasty breakfast is served in the dining room with a view. We had dinner on the first and last nights of of our stay and they could not have been more different experiences, sadly. On the first night the whole experience was perfect, all the delicious food was served with perfect timings and a good bottle of wine. On the last night of our stay chaos reigned. Most of the diners were unhappy, everyone in our area of the dining room had to wait a ridiculous amount of time to be served. I really was disappointed when our waiter brought our wine into the dining room, opened the bottle on the other side of the room, brought it to the table and then walked off and just left it there! What food we ate was good, but the mood was spoiled by the male waiting staff. Eventually, after waiting 40 minutes for a cheese platter we cancelled the order and went, via reception, to our room.

This bad experience in the dining room will not spoil our impression of the hotel, hopefully this was a one-off. We loved the room, and the food, and the peace and quiet so far above the busy city centre of Varese. We didn't use the pool and the seating areas, but we loved to walk through the grounds on our way down to street level.

We hope to return as this is a perfect place for my husband to chill out in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakegirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgio O, Responsabile reception at Palace Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Madam, thank you very much for coming back to the Palace Grand Hotel in Varese and for having left your beautiful and positive review. We apologize for that evening at the restaurant, unfortunately the guests came all together to dine and the service resented it. It's all our fault, we have not predicted this possibility. We would love to welcome you again and show you our professionalism in meeting your every need.
We hope to welcome you soon.
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews