We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, and wonderful feeling”
Review of Palace Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palace Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We stayed two days for business. The place (Palace) is a very relaxed place in a wonderful old building. The breakfast was great and it seems that the restaurant is also
appreciated , although we didn't had diner there. the views are wonderful and the room are well maintained.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgio O, Responsabile reception at Palace Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Ari, we are really pleased to hear you are satisfied about your stay at the Palace Grand Hotel in Varese, it's a stimulus to do better for us.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

I spend a night at the Palace Grand Hotel in Varese. The very well maintained historical hotel is very nice and the service is absolutely great. We spend a wonderful time at the very nice bar. Marco at the bar did a great job and the fried vegetables were wonderful - thanks for all

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Mathias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgio O, Responsabile reception at Palace Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Matthias, a special thanks from our staff and in particular from our Barman Marco, always ready and willing to meet your every need and every challenge.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the Palace Grand Hotel in Varese, which we would like you to consider as your second home in Italy.
See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

We had a very nice room overlooking the hills and Varese city. The kids (and the adults) loved the small but cosy pool in the garden of the hotel.

The hotel with it's liberty stile still has the charm and elegancy of the past and we were delighted that a room in such an elegant hotel wasn't too expensive for a family like us! The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and we felt at home despite of the size of the hotel.

If you, like us, haven't got a car you can walk down a small pedestrian path to the street beneath the hotel where you can take the bus to Varese city center. Unfortunately the path wasn't that pleasant to walk on especially not for the kids. It really needs a renovation!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Ninacph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

The physical building is very faded, and very old-fashioned, but this is mostly a good hotel. Staff were mostly very friendly and helpful. Check in was speedy and they gave us a room despite checking in very early. The room was big and comfortable, but unfortunately no a/c which would be very bad in the height of the summer. Wifi decent. Breakfast spread reasonably simply (by way of hot food - bacon, tiny sausages and scrambled egg).

The bar appeared to keep very restricted hours. I've never been in a bar with staff milling about so unwilling to serve me. We had to wait til 5pm for a drink on the quite nice patio.

The whole thing needs a spruce up, and a few millions spending on it to make it first class, which it could be.

The hotel is on a hill, so affords very nice views, in our case across to Lake Varese.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank UK_Lab_5105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgio O, Responsabile reception at Palace Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Gentle Guest we always draw from every negative or positive review that our gentle guests leave us. In this last year our quality and consequently the score of your reviews has also risen greatly thanks to your help.
We can assure you our efforts to improve the quality of our services more and more.
Give us confidence, come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

My wife and I stayed 1 night with a prepaid Booking reservation.
Arriving by rental car after a long drive from Aosta, we parked near the front entrance. The English speaking hotel clerk examined our passports, handed us our room key, providing instructions on dinner and the 7 AM breakfast.
We took the elevator to our spacious room #208, finding a comfortable king with large wardrobe, 2 nightstands, desk and chair, refer, TV(CNN & BBC), and table with stool. The large marble and mirrored bathroom was fully equipped with a large tub with a rain shower. Good secure wifi. Tall double insulated wood windows looked south over the patio/landscaped gardens/trees to the city and its lake below.
A large Carrefour Supermarket and cafe are handily positioned just before the street entrance.
This luxury 1913 Art Nouveau hotel(renovated 2005)offers an extensive buffet breakfast, full bar and gourmet restaurant, expansive ballroom, while outdoors are a small pool, tennis, and soccer courts in the spacious grounds. It reminded us of the many classic CN hotels in Canada.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgio O, Responsabile reception at Palace Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Gene, your more than one review is a real commercial on the Palace Grand Hotel in Varese and we are really happy and satisfied with it. we thank you so much.
We therefore hope to welcome you here again in Varese.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varese
1.2 km away
Art Hotel Varese
Art Hotel Varese
#11 of 23 in Varese
281 reviews
4 km away
Hotel ibis Styles Varese
2.1 km away
Atahotel Varese
Atahotel Varese
#1 of 23 in Varese
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel di Varese
Hotel di Varese
#3 of 23 in Varese
190 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Capolago
Hotel Capolago
#4 of 23 in Varese
404 reviews
3.7 km away
Villa Porro Pirelli
Villa Porro Pirelli
#1 of 1 in Induno Olona
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Grand Hotel

Address: Via Luciano Manara 11, 21100, Varese, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Varese
#2 Luxury Hotel in Varese
#8 Business Hotel in Varese
Price Range: €66 - €106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Grand Varese
Hotel Palace Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing