We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel & Residence Coccodrillo
Nearby Hotels
Lido Hotel(Varazze)
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zurigo(Varazze)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Ariston Hotel(Varazze)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rio(Varazze)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Spot(Varazze)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ines(Varazze)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
114
121
42
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
121
42
18
14
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2017

Stayed here for a couple nights and would definitely use again if visiting Varazze. The hotel may be a little dated, but it is clean and everything is kept to a good standard. Can't really criticise it at all.

Our room was one of the cheapest, and therefore smallest with a compact bathroom, but it had just be refurbished and was perfectly functional for our needs.

Some have said the rooms are dark, but this is only because of the typical Italian shutters in place to keep them cool, you can open these if you want, but I wouldn't bother. The air con is good too.

Above all, the staff were lovely, very polite and accommodating and spoke English well.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We stayed a few night at the hotel just near the station. Our room was OK - perhaps a little small and an odd shape - probably the result of an old building but the bed, furnishings, bathroom etc were all excellent. The pool out front was good and largely empty (this was late season) . The walk to the old town was a few minutes -use the underpass. The staff were very helpful in what seemed to be a family hotel. We had breakfast which was also very good with lots of choice and as much as you could eat. The other clients were a mix of holiday makers and business types...mostly italian i think. The noise didnt worry us or wake us. However though we got a good rate from booking.com - the rate was getting towards expensive for what it was - but still a good place to stay.

Room Tip: maybe the rooms at the back are quieter
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Inforep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

We were very well looked after here on our visit in October 2015. Our room was more than adequate, the food was tasty and plentiful and the vegetarian of the party was catered for. The staff were all very polite, friendly and helpful. The whole of Varazzi was quiet as the main season had ended the week before so I really cannot comment on how it is during the busy season. Unfortunately it wasn't quite warm enough to take advantage of the pool. There was no view as such but we did have a lovely spacious balcony. The hotel is in a short walking distance to the beaches, sea, shops and restaurants

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015

A great stop while traveling the Italian Riviera . The train is close by so it's easy to get to with luggage . The lobby has a nice breakfast and coffee bar . Parking is easy and the staff is very friendly .

Stayed: October 2015
Thank BlueMoonhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Without first checking out accommodation I rather rashly booked two seats on a BA flight to GENOA using some just about to expire AVIOS points. My intention was to stay in or close to PORTOFINO but, when it came to hotel accommodation there was little to choose from bar the mega buck hotels of the jet set! This is what led me to
VARAZZE and the COCCODRILLO after reading some positive reviews.

Upon our late morning arrival my husband and I (no longer super fit young things), were confronted by more than several steps to the hotel entrance with no one around to assist us. After check in we were then given the key to our basis but clean 'superior room', which was very dark even during the day unless the shutters were open. The air-con was very efficient although we only needed to use it on a few ocassions as this is obviously the very end of
the summer season in VARAZZE. This became more evident as the days went by as staff were being laid off. In fact on one morning the maid failed to service our room.

Please be aware that to reach the town from the hotel it is necessary to traverse a very dodgey railway underpass
and then to negotiate a road where the pedestrian lights rarely turn green and where the Italians use the road as a ' grand pris' race track!!

For us the highlight of our stay were the restaurant staff and the food. We opted for half board as we know that Italy can be expensive. The breakfasts were sumptuous and the three course evening meal faultless, but there is no atmosphere in the 'art deco' dining room, which is so dated - in fact the whole place is crying out for a face lift'.

Would we come here again? Definately not! For us the resort does not seem to cater for the international traveller, neither does the hotel BUT, to be fare everyone worked hard to try and make our stay enjoyable. Que sera, sera!!

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Essexgirl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews