We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
55
12
3
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
12
3
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peace and quiet rooms are large read a book other guests beautiful property nice pool tyrrhenian sea bars and restaurants the owner stunning views monastery jasmine term taxi relaxation terrace town
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

If I were a poet, I don't think I could find the ways to describe this beautiful place... in the morning as you slide out of bed from between the white linen sheets and look out of the window across the beautiful gardens to the view of the sea and the old town of Tropea you experience a feeling of peace and relaxation.... as you wander through the cloisters to breakfast on the terrace, the fragrance of the jasmine is intoxicating and everywhere you look in the beautiful gardens there is something special to catch your eye and make you linger for a while. You can sit under the special little tree, read a book, take in the view or simply dream away the hours... you can take a stroll through the gardens and take the path to a little beach or walk around the Port of Tropea to other beaches. You could climb the steps to the old town and wander through the maze of narrow streets and enjoy the exuberance of the Italians on holiday.. try a different restaurant every evening ... everything you could want for a relaxing holiday is here... waiting for you... arriverdverci Villa Tropea ... you have stolen our hearts ...but we will come back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank marynicholls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Extensive and intricate garden - just lovely, lovely. Pool was great, but raining the day we arrived. Staff invisible but helpful. No front desk, I think the idea was to make you feel like you were a guest in a home instead of a hotel. Beautiful rooms and large bathroom shower. American and UK tv channels are nice. Only complaint was the coffee was not great. I save one star for all my Italian reviews and it's for the coffee.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Conni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

The hotel is in an historic building with beautiful furnishings and gardens. There are only a few rooms and the only time we saw other guests was at breakfast. It was amazing to have the pool, library, etc all to ourselves. Breakfast was a pleasant affair — a selection of tasty things nicely laid out. It didn't feel at all like a typical hotel, more like we were house guests of a wealthy friend. Ideal place for a couple, probably less so for a family.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bno20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2015

What a charming place. Stay at home, in an absolutly modern hotel and fell like a 60´s Palace owner. Enjoy the wonderrful view, the garden, the swiming pull or the "lido" at Punta Vaticano. A recommended place for who´s visiting Calabria (Tropea).

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paulo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015

After only two nights here we are very, very unhappy to be leaving as it is SO wonderful. Originally a 16th century monastery it has been lovingly and tastefully converted into a six room boutique hotel with the owners living on the property and ensuring that everything is perfect which it is. It sits high on a hill with magnificent views of the historial town and the Mediterranean. Our room was beautiful, done in white with modern and comfortable furniture, a great bed, and a great bathroom with very good amenities. The lush gardens just go on forever with secluded terraces around every corner, a really nice pool, and lots of shade trees. Breakfast on the terrace in the sun with that view will make you feel like royalty.
Absolutely one of the best places we have ever stayed in....and I've been to 138 countries. We will be back,

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PeterAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews